We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coweys corner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coweys Corner

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coweys Corner
Save
You added Coweys Corner to your Saves list
42 Robarts Road (off Cowey Road) | Essenwood, Berea 4000, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Berea B&B and Inns
Randburg, South Africa
1 review
“coweys corner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

lovely rooms and friendly staff. great location as well close to local shops and eateries. Nicky makes a brilliant omelette. will definitely return when in the area again. made my visit to Durban memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
5
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I went for business and found that Coweys Corner is an excellent place to stay. Staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms are clean, Breakfast was great and on time.. I will certainly go back again...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brakpan, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Hi Richard,

On behalf of my family, I would like to express our voice of appreciation and thank you for such a place you have and 5 star level of treatment we received. We very much enjoyed our stay at your place. It was more than what all of us had expected. The food was just top of the range, prepared the way we wanted it to be. The service was excellent, and Nicki is just the best, she is just simple to work with and excellent at what she does. She made us feel at home, we felt like not leaving.

We enjoyed our stay in Durban and we will never forget you, we will definitely recommend your place to all our friends wishing to visit that side.

Regards,
Nqobizitha Mabhena

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Myself and my friend came down for a funeral on very short notice. Ethel did a wonderful job of making us feel welcome and ensuring we had everything we needed. The rooms were clean and neat with comfortable linen. The aircons worked very well and were very welcome in the Durban humidity.

The full English breakfast every morning was beautifully cooked.

The only problem was the outside room's door lock was broken and could not be locked.

Bruce and Jono

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMasefield, Owner at Coweys Corner, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for the kind words. apologies for the lock, a locksmith did repair the over 100 year lock the next day. All the best and hope to see you again sometime soon.
Regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Look no further than Cowey's Corner when next you stay in Durban. Service is top drawer and everything is clean, tidy and well maintained. What I liked most was the relaxed, quiet atmosphere. Host Richard made us feel completely at home. I highly recommend this fine establishment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parys
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have been at Coweys Corner a couple of times and I will always come back to them ! It is just like being at home. Peace and quietness... The bedrooms and very clean and neat (the beds sleeps really awesome). It is close to everything that you might need and that is in walking distance. Service for breakfast the next morning was excellent and so was the breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMasefield, Owner at Coweys Corner, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Wow thanks everyone. Thats our 20th review 19 fantastic. Makes my day. Thankls again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Recently stayed at Coweys Corner. Very clean, beautiful... Looks and feels much better than the online photos! Great service! Thando was very courteous, helpful, efficient! Marvellous breakfast! I loved the attention to detail, the little things that made the stay extra special! Easter eggs next to the bed, books to read, cappuccino... Enjoyed 2 beautiful, warm, rainy evenings sitting outside on the veranda. Richard went an extra mile to make our stay more comfortable. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coweys Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coweys Corner

Address: 42 Robarts Road (off Cowey Road) | Essenwood, Berea 4000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Berea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berea
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coweys Corner is a beautifully restored spacious guest house. Ideally situated in Durban’s popular suburb of Berea. All rooms are en-suite with DSTV and wireless internet through-out the house. Full English breakfast included and we are situated close to a number of food and grocery outlets, and our a large kitchen may be used for self catering. You can make an advance request for provision of dinners. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coweys Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.