We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wendy's Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wendy's Country Lodge to your Saves list
Wendy's Country Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   3 Riverview Drive, Riverview | P O Box 47, Mtubatuba, 3935, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Bilbao
1 review
“Fantastic stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent experience. Good ambience for having a wine, or two, at the bar in the evening while chatting with Jenny and Gavin; excellent food. We felt at home.
Very enjoyable game drives with Louwrina; we learnt a lot.

Thanks to Jenny, Gavin and Louwrina for their kindness.
We'll get back some day.

Aitor & Maribel
Bilbao

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
55
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
La Lande-de-Fronsac, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I travel to Mtubatuba regulary for work, and always stay at Wendy's. I was there last week actually, it's just like a second home to me! The rooms are extremely cosy, the food delicious (the soups are divine!), the cooks and waiters professional and friendly, the garden idyllic (try having a little glass of red wine sitting on the bench outside in the luxurious garden!). Wendy and her team really make you feel welcome and special. I had a bad bronchitis the previous time I was there in March, Wendy took such good care of me, as if I was her own child. Precious times at Wendy's. You should try!

Room Tip: I always stay in room 2, not too big, cosy, a small shower though so rugbymen might need to avoid th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived at Wendy's Country Lodge after travelling down from Drakensberg Mountains on the 4th day of our holiday in South Africa. We were totally unprepared for what greeted us. The gardens are stunning and a real credit to Wendy, the lodge was full of antiques and african crafts which gave a real insight to times gone by. The accommodation was great, we had a lovely room with a verandah just by the pool. The rooms are really a good size with a lovely big bathroom, we loved the stain glassed doors. We decided to eat at the lodge each night and started the first night with a drink at Tony's bar where we were introduced to other guests. Both Wendy and Tony were really friendly and made us feel very welcome.
The food was excellent, 4 course set meals which were served by very happy staff. Most of our stay we were looked after by Louwrina, what a lovely person. She arranged our trips, first a hippo & croc cruise from St Lucia Estuary which was great. The second trip was a safari to the Imflozi Safari Park. Louwrina was our driver and guide and was really knowledgeable on all that went on at the park and surrounding area. How she spotted some of the animals was amazing it was the best day we had and we even managed to see a lion this time. All in all this place is a real piece of paradise, the most relaxing and homely place we have ever stayed in. It is highly recommended and we will definetly be booking again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A delightful location. Set in a wonderful garden located close to the Big 5 game reserve of Imfolozi and the coastal resort of St Lucia and the wetlands heritage park. Ideal for exploring this wonderful part of S Africa. Wendy and Tony are excellent hosts and will look after your every need - whether it is a comfortable room , good food, tales of yesteryear or help with your next adventure. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunspeet
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Wendys. Excellent accommodation, beautiful surrounding tropical gardens. Wendy and Tony were the ideal hosts - everything was just so personal and homely - in addition the meals were fabulous and beautifully presented. We really enjoyed our stay and definitely will book again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was my second visit to Wendy's Country Lodge. The B&B is owned by Wendy and Tony and two better hosts you could not find.

The accommodation has everything that you need after a day in the parks. The waters hot, the bed is comfortable and the meals (both evening dinner and breakfast) are delicious. After your needs are taken care of on to to the wishes.

You will find all the staff friendly and accommodating and willing to go the extra mile - on hearing we were off to Cape Vidal Wendy suggested we paddled in the warm Indian Ocean and gave us a towel so we could dry our feet. The tropical garden surrounding the B&B is beautiful and has a lovely pool for a cooling dip. The public spaces are all very sociable and on both occasions we have been there found our fellow guests very agreeable.

Perhaps the best thing about Wendy's however would be Wendy, Tony and Marina. Their knowledge and love of their home and surroundings gives the guest vital information (which park to go to, where others have seen animals etc) and this shines through. I will be back for a third visit.

On Sunday night the B&B does not do food, Wendy and Tony suggested to us that we go to the Country Club. The Country Club is the Umfolozi Country Club and the restaurant is called Rivermill. The food there is good and worth the trip.

Room Tip: Room 4 gives out on to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Wendy's Country Lodge is an amazing place located in a very safe, secured and strategic neighborhood. If I am to visit St. Lucia again I am definitely staying at this place.

Wendy has made sure that her property has a perfect blend of nature and comfort at Wendy's lodge. Its a perfect spot to relax amidst nature while having breakfast, roaming around in her property and that makes it that perfect time to free yourself from everyday city life.

Wendy has an excellent staff that is committed and very eager to help. Hospitality staff is well trained and extremely polite. Breakfast and food menu is simple but delicious. Cottages are small and nice, they are well equipped with air conditioners, chocolates and fruits.

Being in the middle of all plants and trees, there are mosquitoes and one needs to be careful from them. If you want to have a great stay at this place, just a tip - take Wendy some kiwis and she will be more than delighted to even get you some discounts ;)

Overall, Wendy and her lodge both are very welcoming and great host for family, business or leisure trips.

Room Tip: Cottages are good. I think the rooms in the same building as the reception area are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wendy's Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wendy's Country Lodge

Address: 3 Riverview Drive, Riverview | P O Box 47, Mtubatuba, 3935, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 501 Specialty Lodging in KwaZulu-Natal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wendy's Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a welcoming tropical paradise with a heated pool. This antique lodge has beautiful decorated rooms with air conditioning, ceiling fans and tea trays. A hearty breakfast is served in the mornings and an excellent 3 course dinner. Gateway to the Isimangaliso Wetland Park and Hluhluwe/Imfolozi Game Reserve. The lodge offers safaris into the Hluhluwe/Imfolozi Game Reserve. Tours into the St Lucia Wetland Park can be arranged from the Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wendy's Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wendy's Country Lodge South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wendy's Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.