We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wendy's Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wendy's Country Lodge to your Saves list
Wendy's Country Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   3 Riverview Drive, Riverview | P O Box 47, Mtubatuba, 3935, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Oasis of Calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I have been visiting since Wendy And Tony opened over a decade ago. It is an oasis of calm and beauty. Delightful hosts, great breakfasts and dinners all set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. An ideal spot to enjoy Zululand - the local game reserve rivals Kruger with the big five in situ and a much more beautiful setting; the St Lucia wetlands are only 30mins away where crocodiles and hippo roam and are a great spot for viewing leopard. And don't forget Mtubatuba town itself - a market town for locals and farmers full of African tradition. Go and spoil yourself.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
55
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Located on a quiet estate within easy reach of a new Pick and Pay super market and a trditional African market. Several petrol stations close by. We have visited many times and on each ocassionaal have found yet more improvements to the accommodation. The extensive gardens are a stunning example of a sub-tropical paradise.
Wendy and Tony, your hosts, strive to the utmost to ensure that your comfort is their goal.
The dining facility which they provide is first class . The local knowlege which your hosts posses is invaluable to those visiting from outside the area.

Room Tip: Little or no night time noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

This was our return trip to Wendy's as my parents had such a lovely time on there last visit to St. Lucia she decided to take the whole family to stay over New Years Eve.
On arrival we were greeted by Johan who takes the safari trips into Hlwuluwe-Imfolzi, and he showed us to our rooms and helped book us on the hippo and croc cruise in St. Lucia for that afternoon. Everything was very well organised and relaxed, we could come and go as we liked and help ourselves to drinks from the honesty bar. The rooms were really lovely, bright, cool and roomy. It had a fan, aircon, 4 poster bed, free standing roll-top bath as well as a shower, beach towels and bathroom towels changed daily. Each of the rooms had been decorated with little touches like the wooden hippo doorstops and antiques in bathroom. It felt like a place you could live in not just visit.
On New Years Eve we had dinner at the country club and had a good meal but I think the set meals at Wendys were much better! Wendy provided 4 course meals most nights, which we always great and the breakfasts really set you up for the day with fruit, muesli and yogurt plus a cooked breakfast.
Wendy and her staff were beyond helpful, lending us her own picnic basket when we went to Cape Vidal so we had some plates and cutlery, but wouldn't even let us do the washing up to say thanks.
Johan took us for our game drive to Imfolozi section of the game reserve which is only 30 minutes from the lodge. I have been to south africa many times and have been in kruger 6 times, a lot of the time you are driving around looking for animals and sometimes only see the odd zebra. Imfolozi was brilliant, in one morning we saw 4 of the big five, 3 of them together. We were stopped by a car going in the opposite direction who had spotted two lionesses sitting on hill and we stopped to take a look. While we were checking out the lions a big elephant wandered over the top of the hill towards the lions and between them a rhino ran towards the river, not something you see everyday. We stayed watching the lions for about 10minutes as they wandered towards us and eventually got scared off by the cars. In the end we saw, buffalo, giraffe, hyena, lions, elephant, lots of rhino, monkeys and warthogs in our morning in the park.
In total we stayed 4 nights and in the end we did't want to leave Wendys, with this kind of hospitality we definitely will be back and will recommend to all our friends.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, if there is a smoker in your group room 4 has its own balcony which leads t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

In one word: Overwhelming! A great place to stay, with two people who run the place with their heart. The rooms are fabulous, a wonderful garden surrounding the place, and an unique service during the meals. (which are of a high quality as well). I can recommend this guesthouse to everyone who is visiting this St. Lucia and the Wetlands area, business and holiday travelers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

At Wendy's every possible detail has been planned with care. This starts with the beautifully scented tropical courtyard. The rooms are a home from home with everything in place down to the fresh coffee and cafetiere. En suite had roll-top bath with bath salts.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

This was our third stay at Wendy's Country Lodge and the service and hospitality just get better and better. Wendy and Tony are such fantastic hosts who welcome you into their little piece of paradise. The rooms are lovely and big with tea/coffee making facilties and a fridge with en suite bathroom/showers. The gardens are lush with such wonderful plants which attracts a lot of birds. There is a pool which is always clean and lots of comfy loungers and chairs to sit around to relax and watch the birds or read - which is what we did. The food is terrific as we stayed 2 nights we ate at the country club recommended by Wendy and ate one night at Wendy's restaurant. We had a mix of huge prawns and steak, superb food. There is an honesty bar where you help yourself to drinks and make a note of it on the sheet however in the evenings it is lovely to meet other guests around the bar and to chat with the hosts. We took the opportunity of a game drive offered by Johan who is one of the staff members and very pleased we did! What a fantastic game drive highly recommended with breakfast in the bush. We will be back to Wendy's again as it is truly paradise in the Mtubatuba area and very easy to find off the N2.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique looking out at the lovely garden and all have tea/coffee making facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Wendy's is exactly what a B&B should be! Located in a beautiful lush garden, with nice and big rooms. You can even have dinner there. The owners are really friendly people and they make you feel like you're almost at home. The pool looked very nice, however a little bit too cold due to the weather. We did a snorkeling trip up to Cape Vidal which they arranged for us and we loved it! Unfortunately something was wrong with the TV, but who needs a TV on holiday anyway :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wendy's Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wendy's Country Lodge

Address: 3 Riverview Drive, Riverview | P O Box 47, Mtubatuba, 3935, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 501 Specialty Lodging in KwaZulu-Natal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wendy's Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a welcoming tropical paradise with a heated pool. This antique lodge has beautiful decorated rooms with air conditioning, ceiling fans and tea trays. A hearty breakfast is served in the mornings and an excellent 3 course dinner. Gateway to the Isimangaliso Wetland Park and Hluhluwe/Imfolozi Game Reserve. The lodge offers safaris into the Hluhluwe/Imfolozi Game Reserve. Tours into the St Lucia Wetland Park can be arranged from the Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wendy's Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wendy's Country Lodge South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wendy's Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.