We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bob's knowledge makes the tour great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Battlefields - Private Day Tours

African Battlefields - Private Day Tours
South Africa
+27 83 448 6898
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 232 things to do in KwaZulu-Natal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There are various sites and museums that offer a glimpse into the Battlefields and Military History of 19th century British colonial era in the Republic of South Africa from the early pioneers of 1838 to the Anglo Zulu War and Anglo Boer Battlefields, but what ever site you visit experience it with a professional Battlefields company. We do not glorify war but pay tribute and celebrate the courage of the many British and Commonwealth soldiers, the sacrifice of the Boer forces and the warriors of the mighty Zulu empire who gave battle on the frontier of Queen Victoria's British Colonial Africa, we travel into the Battlefields of the South African Wars of the 19th century of the British, the Boers and the Zulu's.
UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Bob's knowledge makes the tour great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a great three days with Bob, his knowledge and professionalism were exemplary.
We came away from the tour having enjoyed ourselves whilst learning and appreciating the true history of the sites.
Bob could not have been more helpful, from our initial contact, to being picked up, driven carefully
across SA, to giving us a customised information pack. He could not have been more helpful.

He is highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbin_sa1879, Owner at African Battlefields - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
J and D from the UK had a choice of Battlefields Tours with either a self drive or an escorted tour with a professional Battlefields guide; they opted for the escorted tour which allows clients to relax while ensuring that they don’t miss out on some important facts that may not be apparent while on a self drive. Our services offer clients flexibility with transfers and selected tour options which includes a personalized information pack. J and D have visited many Battlefields in various parts of the world and for us to have clients with a passion for military history is always a pleasure.
We look forward to your next visit to South Africa and the Battlefields of the British, Boers and the Zulu, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“South African Battlefields with Bob Wood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We gave a Bob a tall order - age range 8-75, with young children not too interested in battles... We had a great 3 days. Bob was very knowledgeable and ever patient, even the tenth go around some of the history. Kept everyone interested and engaged, even the children. Blood River and the site of Isandlwana both very memorable, both from history and just the sites - latter in particular worthy of more time. Telana Museum in Dundee could have kept us happy all day .....Hotel in Dundee was fine though a bit cold - bring your winter woollies in August.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbin_sa1879, Owner at African Battlefields - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
An exceptional family of 7 with grandparents, parents and children including a very enquiring 8 year old, the family as a unit enjoyed walking around the Battlefields and did so at every opportunity, in the evening after dinner we had more discussions on the sites visited.
The battlefields themselves tend to be of a mature nature with very little in the way of entertainment for youngsters however the interpretation centre and museum at Talana has something for almost everyone, although we spent a couple of hours on site the family could have stayed there all day and more.
Many thanks David, Emma and family for allowing me to be a part of your tour in South Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“South African Battlefields with Bob Wood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We deeply appreciate our tour of Anglo-Zulu, Anglo-Boer, and Boer-Zulu battlefields with Bob Wood, who was an exemplary guide in terms of his breadth and depth of knowledge, his detailed accounts of battles bringing alive the iconic sites, and his consideration of his clients' needs during the trip. He prepared a customized packet of information for us and included stellar museums and local insight as well. We have long wanted to experience in person this significant part of South Africa's history and were delighted to have found an excellent guide who exceeded our expectations. Just bring your comfortable clothes and shoes, binoculars and camera - Bob will take it from there! Highly recommended! Thanks again!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbin_sa1879, Owner at African Battlefields - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
It’s always good to have knowledgeable visitors to see some of South Africa's History, after a 15 hr flight from the States both Dick and Cheryl where eager to start their tour, from the outset I realised that they had done their homework on the British colonial era of 19th century Africa. Although the Battlefields tour was custom designed for Dick and Cheryl to include a Safari in the Kruger Park we always try to add that little extra into the tours which they really appreciated.
To show our appreciation of their visit we supplied them with a keep sake memento of their visit to the South African Battlefields of the British, the Boers and the Zulu’s.
Thank you Dick and Cheryl, hope to see you back in South Africa in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bob Wood's Anglo- Boer and Anglo-Zulu Battlefield Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Bob gave us a really great four day tour. He is enthusiastic, knowlegable and extremely helpful. The accommodation and food were to a good standard but it is the battlefiefd trips themselve s where he excells

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbin_sa1879, Owner at African Battlefields - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
What a pleasure it was to finally meet Malcolm J and his colleague Adrian W both of whom came from my home county in the UK, both guest where very well traveled and well read, their knowledge of the Anglo-Boer-Zulu Battlefields in South Africa where second to none.
We designed the battlefields tour around their interest and the information pack that we presented to them with the maps added that extra reality to the Battlefields visited.
Thanks again Malcolm and Adrian, hope to see you on your next trip to South Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No reading or film can match the experience of being there with a lively, knowledgable guiderrator”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We requested "a tour of the Anglo-Boer battlefields" with perhaps a Zulu site thrown in. Bob Wood gave us a walk through the whole history, in a well balanced mix of museums and on-site lectures, spiced with humour. His bound presentation notes on both the Zulu and Boer campaigns form a welcome addition to our library in Gower, South Wales. It was great being driven and guided personally, with every need imaginable attended by him and included in the cost of our 6 day tour. Don't forget your hat and good walking shoes!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbin_sa1879, Owner at African Battlefields - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
A request for a 6 day tour of the Anglo-Boer-Zulu Battlefields of South Africa from Scurlage in the UK, what was really good is that they are originally from Africa with lots of knowledge on Southern Africa in particular. What a superb husband and wife team to have on a tour, very good to work with as they had studied the battlefields but never had the opportunity to visit them, we presented them a Battlefields info pack with maps of the sites that we would be visiting and included as much as possible into the tour, our guests are very important to us and looking after them was a great pleasure.
Thanks Scurlage and take care, I know you’ll be back in Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Battlefields - Private Day Tours also viewed

 
iSimangaliso Wetland Park, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to African Battlefields - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Battlefields - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.