We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking landscape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drakensberg Mountains

Drakensberg Mountains
South Africa
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$167*
and up
Mountain Splendor -The Kingdom of Lesotho
Ranked #1 of 155 Attractions in KwaZulu-Natal
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Activities: Rock climbing, Walking, Birdwatching, Hiking, Snowboarding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The major portion of the 200-kilometer-long mountain range named the "Barrier of Spears" lies in the kingdom of KwaZulu-Natal.
toulouse
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Breathtaking landscape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We went hiking a whole day there and I can only recommend it. The trail to Rhino Peak is really worth it, but one should be wearing trousers because of the tall grass. We had to pay a small entrance fee to enter the National Park. We had an amazing time among Baboons and Antelopes in this UNESCO World Heritage site.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    7
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Amazing views!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

A stunning place, the highest mountain in the region I think. The road up should only be in a 4x4 vehicle as the roads are VERY rough and rocky although currently are being smoothed over and widened, possibly tarred - not sure if that is a good idea? It is wilderness at its best with superb viewing from the top, albeit just half a degree above freezing in June. The subtle colours were wonderful. Remember to take your passports if you want to go in to the pub at the top as it is just over the Lesotho border .

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolves
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful,Rugged,Breathtaking........Fantastic!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

One of the most amazing places I have ever visited,Make sure you visit as many parts of this lovely place as you can,LOVED IT !!!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhongli, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“hiking in the nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The area is great for hiking - not many tourist and untouched nature. We spent the nights in small cozy huts far from civilization - perfect for a relaxing time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A place like no other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The whole Drakensberg region must be my favourite place in South Africa. It is not yet too commercial, so you can still get a bit of that rustic one with nature feeling. From the Royal National Natal Park to Giant's Castle and all the wonderful places along the Berg, this area is a must-experience for all. I will definitely be back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drakensberg Mountains also viewed

 
Underberg, KwaZulu-Natal
Drakensberg Region, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Drakensberg Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drakensberg Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.