We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, horrible, horrible!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Pot & Kettle

The Pot & Kettle
168 Old Main Road | Botha's Hill, 3660, South Africa
+27 31 777 1312
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #373 of 934 Restaurants in KwaZulu-Natal
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Vegetarian, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Horrible, horrible, horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went there with a large group, and got stuck in a dark corner, despite having a reservation. The staff were rude and dismissive and I would go so far as to say that they quite racist. Don't know what happened to this amazing restaurant. Needless to say that I'm never going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service so pathetic we that we left”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We got there to hear one waiter tell the other" The people are here now and you just gave there table away". We then were placed in a dark area. We ordered a bottle of champagne which took more than half an hour to get to the table. The waitress was also unfriendly so we ended up leaving

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Don't feed the monkeys!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I could sit on the outside dining portion of this place for hours enjoying the scenery, the food, and the service. All three were outstanding and worth the drive from Durban. My wife loved the warning to "not feed the monkeys!" They were evident but not a problem and made the place even more enjoyable. Don't miss this South African treasure.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin D, Owner at The Pot & Kettle, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we hope that you have returned and had an equally good experience again. yes the monkeys can be a pest !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I took two clients to the Pot and Kettle on a very wet and overcast day. Everyone ordered the pie of the day because the smells from the kitchen were divine! The meal was absolutely first rate, and portions large. No complaints about the service at all, and I thought the prices fair. I will say that if it were a sunny day we would have sat outside to take in the views, the dining area was pretty small.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing views and nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The pot and kettle is a definate must if you are in the valley of 1000 hills. It has stunning views across the valley and the food is good too. There are some good craft shops next door.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pot & Kettle also viewed

 
Westbrook Beach, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Pot & Kettle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pot & Kettle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.