We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DRAKENSVILLE AT THE FOOTHILLS OF THE MAJESTIC DRAKENSBERG MOUNTAINS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drakensville ATKV Holiday Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in KwaZulu-Natal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drakensville ATKV Holiday Resort
Save
You added Drakensville ATKV Holiday Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“DRAKENSVILLE AT THE FOOTHILLS OF THE MAJESTIC DRAKENSBERG MOUNTAINS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

With one of the most amazing backdrops in the world, this resort is situated at the foothills of the Drakensberg Mountains - a 200-kilometre-long mountainous wonderland and world heritage site, with a wealth of biological diversity and medicine for the soul.

We took a group of children from school to the resort and I was pleasantly surprised with service provided. The accommodation was comfortable and clean. The food at the restaurant was delicious and the menu seems to change daily. The activities were varied and fun. The hosts went the extra mile to make it a memorable visit for the children.

The heated swimming pool was an added bonus due to the cold and rainy weather experienced during our visit.

Activities available for the children were abseiling, archery, paintball, trampoline, swimming, water slide fun, zipline, hiking, etc.

A lovely resort for a family or couples. They cater for weddings and other functions and the prices are indeed reasonable. This is perhaps the real attraction - value for money!

I would recommend this resort to anybody, no matter what you wish to experience in nature.

My opinion - good old down to earth South African hospitality with the sky and mountains standing tall and proud to rejuvenate your soul.

Room Tip: Depending on your taste - camping spots with your own tent or caravan - or self-catering rooms/chale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice place to go with a group or with your family. The camping and caravan site is excellent and the chalets are very comfortable. This resort has three big pools and one of them is heated, just perfect for winter vacation. There is a good restaurant in the premises and a grocery store where you can buy any thing you want. There are plenty activities for the kids in a very safe environment. Good hiking trails and breathtaking sights. If you can, take with a mountain bike and enjoy riding through the farms.

Room Tip: Choose a chalet closest to the heated swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was a little bit worried about camping in the middle of nowhere but my fears soon faided when my family and I (8 of us) arrived for a week in our Caravan. The resort is located within a beautiful setting surrounded by mountains. So many activities to keep you busy or just relaxing in the beautiful surroundings. A definite recommendation. Washrooms were top class, cleanest I have seen at a caravan park for a long time. Hot swimming pool and super tube fantastic - mini golf and other activities great too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Situated in the foothills of the majestic Northern Drakensberg mountain range with breathtaking views .A lovely resort with well kept gardens and lot of trees. We stayed in a newly renovated 4 bed self catering chalet. The chalet has 2 bedrooms,a separate toilet,shower and open plan kitchen / living room. The main bedroom has a double bed and the other room 2 single beds. The kitchen is well stocked with every thing you might need. Enjoy the vastness of nature as well as a wide variety of outdoor activities .There is a heated indoor and outdoor swimming pool, with a paddling pool for children, water slide,touch-farm, squash court, put put mini golf,well stocked shop,hiking trails,bird watching and a Wedding and Function Venue with a beautiful stone chapel looking onto the mountains. Drakensville resort gives you value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Its a great value for money. Rooms are clean and well supplied, fridges, stoves etc. You pay per unit. there is no restrictions on the amount of people that stay there. There is a beautiful indoor heated pool. The resort also has alot of other facalities. its location is ideal, there is lots to do in the surrounding places. We enjoyed the stay. Remember it is self catering, so dont forget to carry food, the resteraunts are not always open.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed in a studio apartment for R450 per night for 4 nights. The apartment was spacious with a good kitchen, clean bathroom, own patio with views and wonderful resort facilities to enjoy. Every night after a day's sightseeing we would go and swim in the enormous heated indoor swimming pool. There is also a heated outdoor pool and an unheated swimming pool as well as a range of other activities to enjoy. The on-site restaurant has a good value buffet dinner with plenty of choice. The property is very quiet with 24hr security. There is also an on-site store selling the basics and a laundramat. We found the property by chance after deciding not to stay at the overpriced and very poor value Amphitheatre Backpackers down the road.

Room Tip: Studio apartments allow you to make your own meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drakensville ATKV Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensville ATKV Holiday Resort

Address: South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 501 Specialty Lodging in KwaZulu-Natal
Hotel Class:3 star — Drakensville ATKV Holiday Resort 3*
Also Known As:
Drakensville ATKV Holiday Resort South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drakensville ATKV Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.