We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Lot 14 Pengaan Farm | Oribi Gorge, 4243, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Breathtaking setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We popped in at the Gorge for lunch and were very warmly welcomed! We were astounded by the views of the gorge and the setting of the 5villas. The fish ordered for lunch was mediocre but the brownie ordered for desert was divine.
We were allowed to visit one of the villas which we found to be beautifully designed. Exquisite views of the gorge were visible from the room, the tub and the balcony. An indoor and outdoor shower facility, as well as the vanity area looked very attractively laid out.
The drive to the hotel is through green sugar cane plantations and you may see zebra and wildebeest close to the hotel. The only problem is the gravel road dotted with potholes-some pretty large- through which you need to zig zag. Be sure to drive during the day as a safety measure!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
134
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

One of the best places to visit ever! we had a fanatstic time during our visit. The suites are clean, luxurious definitely 5 star! We also enjoyed the "no set meal times". All the staff were very friendly and professional. The food was great and not to mention the breathtaking views!! we definitely will be back again as we only spent 3 nights.
Thank you so much! Patience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Firstly, congrats Mike and Katerine on the review on Top Billing! It brought back wonderful Memories for Meldon and Myself. Sorry about the late review...
I enjoyed a stay with my husband during December last year, as a 1 year anniversary surprise.We left the city wired and stressed and entered a paradise of a peaceful retreat. Be prepared if you are leaving for the gorge the road in is hectic and I wouldn't advise a night drive, Mike was great as he called us to make sure we made an early start and gave us directions as well. We were welcomed and taken to the honeymoon suite which I highly recommend as it is the last rondaval and completely private.

The rondaval itself is beautifully designed, the wall of glass overlooking the gorge is breathtaking, you can admire the view from the bed, the wingback chairs or whilst sipping champagne in the bubble bath(we tried all three :) ) another amazing experience was the outdoor shower, how could we resist? Being a vegetarian I was concerned about my meals, and did not have much expectations, but I was extremely impressed by the personal chefs, who took it on as a challenge and prepared the most wonderful suppers, we will never forget! We had the option of dining in the restaurant or the fantastic staff assisted by setting up a table setting in our room with candlelights. I have to mention the wonderful spa treatments that relaxed us so much it was an effort to keep our eyes open, but we had to try out the jacuzzi overlooking the gorge.

Another highlight was, Mike arranging for us to do the zip line over lake Eland. He drove us out there and was kind enough to stop and let us take pictures whilst at the viewing points.
The Zip lining itself was a thrilling experience not for the faint hearted or anyone with the slightest fear of heights, I remember crossing over the Gorge and coming to a stop a couple of meters away from the exchange huts and looking down and around me it was an amazing sight. I had to turn around and hand over hand slide backward pulling myself along,fortunately I don't have a fear of heights, but like I said it depends on your tolerance level, luckily the staff are quite competent.

All in all it was a never to be forgotten stay, and one I will definitely would love to revisit. Thanks again to Mike and Katherine and the staff who were so accommodating.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is the most private, definitely recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The perfect place to get away from it all. We loved the fact that there were only 5 units which made the whole experience more unique and we felt we were given individual attention during our stay. We also enjoyed the "no set meal times" the chef would just come down and cook for you when you were ready to eat. It made us feel as though we had our own chef on standby. The attention to detail with everything made our stay extra special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally beautiful and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Gorge is on the top of our own ranking of destinations in KwaZulu. We spent 4 days at The Gorge and visited several "small and very luxurious hotels" in southern and western KwaZulu.
The site and the views are spectalular. The interior of the 5 huts are built in a unique and contemporary style with your own in- and outside facilities. The atmosphere is very private, without disturbing your intimity.
Staff and owners give you the feeling to be special guests. You can choose activities in the spectacular surrounding (for example: vulture spotting, zip line rides, gorge walking), relax in the
spa, enjoy a drink at the pool or having a superb dinner. The food is fresh and delicious and top prepared (we missed that in other high recommended restaurants).
At least: We are people who avoid to visit a place twice, but we will visit The Gorge again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a location - fantastic. Rooms (detached bungalows) are very large, comfortable and private. Service was outstanding, extremely attentive but not over the top. A place to 'chill' if you wish (or it is only 45 minutes from the coast! My wife and I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My now Husband and i were blessed with a honeymoon at the Gorge and all i can say is that we both were blown away with EVERYTHING!! Mike and Seyatie (hope i spelt that right) are fantastic! The service is so unique and the food is a huge cut above the rest! We both highly recomend the Gorge as an unforgetable honeymoon stay or just a romantic getaway! Thank you for making it so speacial!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa

Address: Lot 14 Pengaan Farm | Oribi Gorge, 4243, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 501 Specialty Lodging in KwaZulu-Natal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GORGE PRIVATE GAME LODGE & SPA Hotel/ Boutique Hotel Accommodation in Oribi Gorge, South Coast, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. SITUATION: The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa is nestled in the pristine area of Kwazulu-Natal’s South Coast, a mere 21 km inland from Port Shepstone. Referred to as the "photographer's and nature lover's paradise," it has been carefully positioned to afford guests access to 5000ha of Oribi Flats prime land in the Oribi Gorge Nature Reserve. UNSURPASSED LUXURY: The opulent, eco-friendly design of the spacious villas boasts double volume glass, offering guests panoramic views of the magnificent Oribi Gorge canyon. Elevated 4 metres off the ground, each villa flows seamlessly from state-of-the-art comfort and luxury into the unique indigenous coastal forest with its abundance of butterfly and birdlife. ROOM FACILITIES: TV, DVD, DSTV, air-conditioner – hot & cold, digital safe, hairdryer, fully stocked mini-bar, tea/coffee making facilities, room service, laundry service on request. DINING DEFINED: Guests can savour a selection of estate wines in the open-plan restaurant while interacting with the chefs as they creatively prepare first class, fine dining cuisine with its distinct "African Fusion." THE ULTIMATE SPA EXPERIENCE: Experience a moment of complete indulgence, pampering and luxury at our lavish day spa which offers a range of therapies incorporating the exclusive products of Dermalogica, Africology and LCN. Professional therapists and breathtaking views enable guests to immerse themselves in peace and tranquility. EXPLORE & EXPERIENCE: With our owner run establishment’s emphasis on attention to detail, personalised service and a sense of "timelessness," our guests are pampered in all areas of their stay at their own leisure. Nature lovers will enjoy our informative guided trails through the indigenous coastal forests with its rich bio-diversity of plant, animal, insect and 250 recorded bird species. Most of Southern Africa’s plains animals can be seen on our daily game drives. ON-SITE ACTIVITIES: birding, game viewing, hiking trails, guided trails, visit to our bat cave, visit to our historic bushman paintings, swimming, fresh water fishing. ARRANGED ACTIVITIES: Mountain biking, horse riding, golf, abseiling, white water rafting, kayaking deep-sea diving off the world-renowned Aliwal Shoal, educational Game drives (+/- 2hrs) @ R200.00 per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.