We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view. Bad service and food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal to your Saves list
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mario Milani Drive | Three Rivers, Vereeniging 1930, South Africa (Formerly Riviera on Vaal Hotel & Country Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vereeniging
Vereeniging, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning view. Bad service and food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I live in Three Rivers and only come to this hotel to enjoy thestunning view on the Terrace. Most of the time you have to beg a waiter to attend to you and the service is very slow. There are also not enough umbrellas. I long time stopped having lunch or dinner here as the buffet is aweful and extremely expensive. I have on mumerous occasions asked if they would serve" a la carte" over weekends but the answer is a plain no.
I did have a la carte on a few occasions during the week. However the quality of the food is not consistent. One day it will be good, the next day totally disappointing.
I see the hotel is under new management and I hope they take note and will improve the service and start with an "a la carte" restaurant over weekends. A lot more locals would support them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BON-RivieraOnVaal, Acting General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear visitor, thank you for your return visits to the Riviera and your interest shown in providing us with most valuable feedback. The team of the now newly branded BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, has as a core value, the wish to appeal to and attract our local community residents, to share and enjoy in the beauty of this jewel and prime setting of Vereeniging. We love the Riviera too. Our menus are being revised, our breakfast has already, and others will be changing soon. Please feel free to continue to share your thoughts and we trust that you will delight in the results more and more with each visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
20
32
Solo
0
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

For the rate per night, my stay at this hotel was bitterly disappointing. Staff are friendly however in no way efficient or clued up on the service element of things. The rooms are old and smelt awful and the food at Matthews restaurant was a huge disappointment - it was more like mass produced food as opposed to a quality dining experience. Room service took forever and I cannot say i would ever book here again or recommend this hotel to any friends or family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BON-RivieraOnVaal, Acting General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
I thank you for your review and regret that we disappointed you at the time of your stay. Your time taken to assist us in improving is most valued. We are nurturing a team which aims to eradicate the expectations of our guests not being met and we trust that some day you may be able to attest to our success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I am relaxed, refreshed and revitalized. The hotel is somewhat surprising as a few blocks away is industrial, but this pearl is not to be missed. Launching our boat was a pleasure, the view from our room spectacular and the sunrise unforgettable. Sitting by the pool sipping cocktails while my husband played golf was an absolute pleasure!
You will definitely not regret going to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BON-RivieraOnVaal, Acting General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
I, and our enthusiastic team, are delighted to hear of your enjoyment of BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal. We are excited about the rejuvenation of our hotel and look forward an opportunity to welcome you back soon, so that you may once again enjoy the charms and beauty of our special setting. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Beautiful location and stunning hotel.

Rooms are not representative of the pictures on the site.

Restaurant served very poor quality food and was severely under staffed.

Room service was appalling and no breakfast was delivered to us even though we had given a order through.

Pitty that such a great looking hotel is not up to the standards it should be.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BON-RivieraOnVaal, Acting General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your time taken to review your stay and assist us to improve our product and service. Our hotel is transforming, and it is with deep regret that your experience was disappointing. I trust that should we have the pleasure of your return visit that you may experience a service improvement in keeping with your expectation and our beautiful location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Without a doubt, Riviera on Vaal occupies prime real estate on the Vaal river and offers spectacular views of the river no matter which room one stays in. Nothing beats the serenity that descends upon you when you wake up to a gorgeous sunrise over the Vaal river. Add to it the fact that it is just under an hour's drive from Sandton and one start's seeing the potential of this property of being a favoured family getaway for all.

But I guess that's where the positives end... at least that is where the positives ended for me and my family. I say it because of the following:

a) While the room was clean and offered great views overlooking the river, we found the little niceties one would associate with a "4 star" property missing from our room. The bathroom for one was tiny and the fixtures were old and worn. The decor and furnishings of the room weren't plush at all and were more befitting a 3 star property rather a a R2000 per night 4 star room.

b) For want of a better word, I would say the dinner buffet at Matthews was a "rip-off". For R 180 per person, one would expect a lavish spread but what was offered was quite the contrary. Both my wife and I had to send back the stir fried noodles that we ordered because the chef kept adding too much soya sauce. In fact, in spite having paid R 500 (inclusive of drinks) for the dinner on 18th, both my wife and I left the restaurant hungry and actually ended up ordering room service. We were actually surprised that the dinner buffet wasn't part of the room rate given that the hotel doesn't offer a la carte food options. I think it is kind of unfair to expect hotel guests to cough up R 180 per person for a dinner buffet spread especially when you are out in the stix and have no other alternatives to eat (unless you intend on driving to the Three Rivers area for a bite)

c) While the staff was quite helpful, they were only so when we managed to get hold of them. Our cocktails at Matthew's took ages to come (okay, it about 45 minutes) and we found the pool side service to be excruciatingly slow.

All in all, having spent close to R 5000 for a 2 night stay at the property, we didn't find the experience to be "value for money" and came back home feeling a little disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms have a river view.. We stayed in 316 which had a great view and was quiet enough for our 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BON-RivieraOnVaal, Acting General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your valued review. BON Hotel Riviera On Vaal has recently been given a new lease on life as of mid April. A special destination it is, where we aim for the outcome of all our guests' stays to be 'Good feeling'. I do sincerely regret your unsatisfactory experience and assure you that all your perceptions are heeded. I believe that better value is already available, and as we transform the essentials of service too, BON Hotel Riviera On Vaal will make itself worthy of a return visit. I trust that we may someday soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stopped, for the first time, at Riviera - had driven by for months. It was a gorgeous afternoon and we were eager to check out the setting of the outdoor terrace; we had seen pictures but also read the mixed reviews on TripAdvisor. It was lovely! Even on a Saturday afternoon, it wasn't overly crowded. We picked a great table under a large umbrella overlooking the pool area and gorgeous views of the river. Andisa, who was the star of the day quickly attended to us to take our drinks order, and told us about the facilities of the hotel and the boat on the river. Another young server delivered our drinks and food, but Andisa continued to check back to make sure we were enjoying ourselves, had everything we needed, etc., etc. She was a gem! We'll definitely be back on another stunning day. The buffet looked good - so might try that as well. A first of several trips to the Riviera I think!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BON-RivieraOnVaal, Acting General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your adventurous stop and stay. We are most appreciative of your lovely and most encouraging feedback, and have shared this with Andisa. We look forward to welcoming you back and have you share in more of the charm on offer at BON Hotel Riviera On Vaal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

On the 22nd of February 2014 I booked a table for 25 guests to have lunch on the Terrace. Upon our arrival it started raining so we have been moved inside. We had a choice of ordering from the menu or the buffet, and was sort of forced to go with the buffet option at R160 pp due to the size of our party, which was not a problem for us. Most guests arrived around 14:30 only, and after dishing up starters, the staff started packing away the food from the buffet area. After inquiring about it we have been told that Buffet closes at 15:00. After complaining the manager then took additional orders for food, but it was so rushed as if they just wanted to get rid of us. This was for a birthday party and overall just a bad experience for us all. None of us will ever return to this venue. 1 person did indeed order from the menu and when asked for a doggy bag we got frowned upon and the food was brought to us in a piece of foil. Unacceptable for a 4 star venue!

Room Tip: we did not sleep over
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraonvaal, Operations Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
I do regret our oversight in respect of your guests who had arrived later than the initial group, and who had not yet finished eating. In an attempt to rectify this we took orders for those guests who had been overlooked. We were concerned about these guests being kept waiting, as well as the majority of the group who had already had their main meal. We apologise for this action being experienced as unwelcoming or rushed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal

Address: Mario Milani Drive | Three Rivers, Vereeniging 1930, South Africa (Formerly Riviera on Vaal Hotel & Country Club)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Vereeniging
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vereeniging
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 45-minute drive from Johannesburg, our luxurious hotel caters to the corporate and conference markets, as well as families and leisure travellers who are looking for a resort that has it all. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal is one of few child-friendly Vaal River resorts that have struck a perfect balance in offering family enjoyment whilst also fulfilling the business travel market needs. Steeped in history this 91-room hotel, a converted farmhouse from the 1800s, is situated on a bend of the scenic Vaal River. Ideal for company conferences and events, the hotel offers 4 multi-purpose venues and a range of exciting team building activities, with flexibility to suit your needs. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal has a reputation as one of the best wedding venues in Gauteng; choose from a variety of wedding packages to ensure a memorable day. If you are looking for a relaxing breakaway, why not pamper yourself at the Zorgvliet Spa or play a round of golf at the Country Club. Should that sound too energetic, pop down to the water's edge and float along the Vaal River on one of our boat cruises. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal also offers a variety of water sports, a gym, picnics spots and kids' entertainment programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera On Vaal Hotel And Country Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.