We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service was awesome,I recommend all to visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal to your Saves list
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mario Milani Drive | Three Rivers, Vereeniging 1930, South Africa (Formerly Riviera on Vaal Hotel & Country Club)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vereeniging
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The service was awesome,I recommend all to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I love the riviera and most of all for the fact that it is child friendly.

I will definitely come back for the spa offer.
The prices are pretty reasonable and I love that.
This venue will definitely be my wedding reception.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    46
    25
    14
    10
See reviews for
27
42
1
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We decided to take a mini break from JHB for the long weekend. Riveria is close and rooms are clean, service is efficient and friendly. There is loads to do and plenty of activities for the kids. 18 hole golf course, 9 hole pitch and putt, putt putt, tennis, squash and kids play rooms. Spa on site also great!! Well recomended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We spent a family weekend at the riviera, check in was speedy as usual, rooms are good value for money, clean and comfortable. Used the Spa which as great. The Unfortunately the restaurant staff spoiled all that was created .When taking a lounger around the pool, in the afternoon, we had to collect our own cushions, open the umbrella and then wait to be served. The waiters, who are virtually non existent, got the drinks order wrong and the food took in excess of 45 minutes (for two toasted sandwiches). The Sunday ,we experienced the same poor service and after an hour , we took our boys to the MacDonald's for lunch as they could no longer wait.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Either as a couple or a family, we always visit the Riviera. This visit allows us to recharge our batteries as well as realising what the best things in life are. The tranquil view of the vaal river, being waitred on and relaxing is the best getaway anyone could ask for. Us as a family have spent weekends at the Riviera away from the hustle and bustle and spending quality time together. As a couple we have spent our anniversary as well as Valentines day. Riveira is honestly our favourite getaway. I will always reccomend it.

Room Tip: Make sure your bed faces the river, so you can sit back relax and watch the water flow by
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We went there once with my boys and even since i have being sharing the entire experience with my girlfriend that the closest bahamas and hawaii you can visit the Riviera on vaal and there's no sea soil but the boat ride in the evening and the soft music playing and looking down on that dark green sea brings the amazon feeling on the romantic night and keep up the good work and the service you provide and another thing thier services is universal doesn't look at the colour of your skin even people that are visiting there too share the same mentality

Room Tip: luxury rooms was the one i slept at and if given a chance to go up i would
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great place to stay over in the southern Gauteng area. I have used it for a business trip but it will be perfect for weekend away as well! Good service and recreational facilities. Gold course in good condition and river pretty when in flood!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had a girls breakaway with all the girls at work and stayed at Riviera on Vaal.
It was absolutely gorgeous! Nice rooms, great food and friendly staff!

I would definitely stay there again.

Nelma Beck

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal

Address: Mario Milani Drive | Three Rivers, Vereeniging 1930, South Africa (Formerly Riviera on Vaal Hotel & Country Club)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Vereeniging
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vereeniging
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 45-minute drive from Johannesburg, our luxurious hotel caters to the corporate and conference markets, as well as families and leisure travellers who are looking for a resort that has it all. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal is one of few child-friendly Vaal River resorts that have struck a perfect balance in offering family enjoyment whilst also fulfilling the business travel market needs. Steeped in history this 91-room hotel, a converted farmhouse from the 1800s, is situated on a bend of the scenic Vaal River. Ideal for company conferences and events, the hotel offers 4 multi-purpose venues and a range of exciting team building activities, with flexibility to suit your needs. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal has a reputation as one of the best wedding venues in Gauteng; choose from a variety of wedding packages to ensure a memorable day. If you are looking for a relaxing breakaway, why not pamper yourself at the Zorgvliet Spa or play a round of golf at the Country Club. Should that sound too energetic, pop down to the water's edge and float along the Vaal River on one of our boat cruises. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal also offers a variety of water sports, a gym, picnics spots and kids' entertainment programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera On Vaal Hotel And Country Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.