We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend, exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal to your Saves list
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mario Milani Drive | Three Rivers, Vereeniging 1930, South Africa (Formerly Riviera on Vaal Hotel & Country Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vereeniging
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great weekend, exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011 via mobile

My husband had booked us a stay here for the weekend as we needed to be in Vereeniging for a kart race. I must confess to not even being able to pronounce the name of the town, so approached the weekend with some trepidation! What a pleasant surprise...

All the staff at the hotel were super friendly and attentive, and couldn't be more helpful in every way. The kids club opened early for our children, the bag man wheeled the kids round on a trolley keeping them amused while we checked in, and the helpful reservations lady created a family room for us from an executive suite as all the rest were booked up.

Food was good, service always excellent in the restaurant, you really felt like they were on top of their game. Well trained staff that would be a credit to a 5 star hotel anywhere.

We topped it off with a cruise down the Vaal, with smiling children gleefully towed behind the boat. Happy children = happy parents. Well done Riviera on Vaal, we shall be happy to come back another time.

Top tip...book early to get into the spa, it's busy on weekends.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
20
32
Solo
0
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Lovely, spacious room with TV and view over the river. Separate area with TV and comfort chairs. Fridge and kettle. Clean bathroom, shower maybe a bit uncomfortable. Dinner and Breakfast out of this world.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We were looking for a quiet break from Johannesburg for 1 night and didn't want to travel too far. We thought a 5 star hotel on the Vaal sounded like the best option. The service was very good and rooms decent and comfortable with a great view of the river.
The problem was the wedding that happened around the pool area in the afternoon that started blasting the worst imaginable music from early afternoon even though the wedding was only late afternoon. There was no escaping the noise and I would recommend checking if there is a wedding on before booking. The next morning Seef estate agents had a conference which involved hammering banners into the lawn at 8am on Sunday. I thought they could have done this the night before. The delegates were also standing outside our window chatting from 8am.
We didn’t get a quiet break but apart from that the hotel and food was decent and it didn’t break the bank.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

The staff are willing to make your stay as welcoming and comfortable as possible. They even have a discreet sign in your room asking if you preference for a choice of 4 different types of pillows (feather pillows, contour pillows etc). Didn't have much of an opportunity to enjoy the facilities, as we spent most of our time in the conference room. Food was very good. Views from the rooms were stunning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

I have know idea how this 5* hotel got it's rating, shocking service and facilities for teens not available due to lack of maintenance. Food was more in line of 3* and unimaginative, very bland and unappetising. My son was very disappointed that the only thing to do was swim or play golf. Staff were friendly but ineffective. Old and run down hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal

Address: Mario Milani Drive | Three Rivers, Vereeniging 1930, South Africa (Formerly Riviera on Vaal Hotel & Country Club)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Vereeniging
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vereeniging
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 45-minute drive from Johannesburg, our luxurious hotel caters to the corporate and conference markets, as well as families and leisure travellers who are looking for a resort that has it all. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal is one of few child-friendly Vaal River resorts that have struck a perfect balance in offering family enjoyment whilst also fulfilling the business travel market needs. Steeped in history this 91-room hotel, a converted farmhouse from the 1800s, is situated on a bend of the scenic Vaal River. Ideal for company conferences and events, the hotel offers 4 multi-purpose venues and a range of exciting team building activities, with flexibility to suit your needs. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal has a reputation as one of the best wedding venues in Gauteng; choose from a variety of wedding packages to ensure a memorable day. If you are looking for a relaxing breakaway, why not pamper yourself at the Zorgvliet Spa or play a round of golf at the Country Club. Should that sound too energetic, pop down to the water's edge and float along the Vaal River on one of our boat cruises. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal also offers a variety of water sports, a gym, picnics spots and kids' entertainment programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera On Vaal Hotel And Country Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.