We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - may be too relaxed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hualapai Mountain Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kingman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hualapai Mountain Resort
Save Saved
You added Hualapai Mountain Resort to your Saves list
4525 Hualapai Mtn Road, Kingman, AZ 86401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kingman
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Place - may be too relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful high spec room, beautifully decorated, with a sitting out area, in a lovely spot. Friendly staff. Nearby forest/mountain trails. Delicious food at restaurant.
But...... they did not have our booking, we had brought the print out of it with us, plus emailed confirmation and, happily the room we booked - the only king- was available. It had not been cleaned but they set to preparing the room straight away and all was spotless by the time we were back from our afternoon walk.
We had expected there to be breakfast but none was available so we made the best of things - we always carry 'emergency' supplies of fruit and snacks for just such eventualities.
If you are planning to stay, and it is lovely don't just double check but triple check, (especially if you need breakfast), your arrangements.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owings, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked one night at Hualapai Mountain Resort, on our way from Vegas to the Grand Canyon. We did not want to drive 5 hours straight through. Before booking, I consulted tripadvisor to look at the reviews. What a relaxing, rustic lodge with a comfortable chairs on the porch. It has been renovated with Elk decor in the room. The people are friendly. Upon our arrival, we spotted Elk on the far end of the parking lot. It was suggested that we make dinner reservations, (Sat) as weekends are busy. The prime rib dinner and smoked baked potato was the best we have ever had! It took 40 minutes to get our meal, but it was well worth it. And to top it off, there was a large picture window with 5 elk right outside. What a memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Charming lodge style room, spacious bath, up-close with elk. We couldn't ask for more! There is entertainment on the patio and lots of friendly folks enjoying the food and music. They are also pet friendly. We plan on a return trip when it's cold enough to use the remote controlled stove!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We held our wedding here Aug.2012. The owner, Ron, was so accomodating for three months of planning and remained so throughout the day. He came through above and beyond what would have been expected. His wife and their staff are equally focused on the client. They are professional, friendly and all about you being comfortable. The reception was perfect with a fabulous feast of mexican food that all our family raved over!! Then the rooms. Again, beautiful, cozy, and just all around worth every penny.We took up every room and the rental home for our guests even though many of them lived in Kingman...'why go home when we could stay here?'. We cant say enough about this place except, You MUST go there!!!!! Mike & Teri Nelson

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Three price levels. I would choose the suite again but the 'regular'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was a real risk to book and not know about it apart form reading reviews online about it. But what a surprise we got when we arrived, it was beautiful, around 7,000 feet above sea level in the mountains, just 12 miles south of Kingman AZ. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms or cabins as we liked to call them are clean and nicely furnished. The theme is rustic but with modern up to date wooden furniture and fittings. The rooms start at $79 a night and for $10 your dog can stay too, rooms have a t.v., coffee maker and radio system plus heating for the winter time.

The restaurant was recommended by two locals before we got there and boy it was good, we had the half ham steak for breakfast with hash browns and two eggs plus toast, muffin or biscuits & gravy. Well the ham steak was an inch thick and filled me for the rest of the day, so we waited until dinner time to eat, beautiful restaurant area with magnificent picture window to see the elk as they roam past. We had the prime rib, we opted for the doe cut instead of the buck cut and glad we did that was big enough, cooked to perfection with corn and mashed potatoes.

The bar is friendly with many locals popping in and to my delight served both blue moon and alaskan amber beers on tap. And not over priced either.

For a great place to stay and get away this is it.

Room Tip: We had the $99 room which has a queen bed and a full size futon as well, if you want more go for a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We asked around and was told it was a good place. They were wrong. It was a great place. The food was very good and tasty. Try the Prospector but better be hungry. The stuffed Salmon was worth the trip. The service could have been a little quicker but it was a new waite staff and they were trying hard. It was also very busy so it was ok.
It was a Friday and they had a guy singing and playing his guitar. That along was worth the ride up the mountain. So while the wait for the food was a little long the entertainment made the time fly. We will go there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

For those motoring west, or east on Route 66 or I-40, through Kingman, Arizona the Hualapai Mountain Resort is an overlooked little gem well worth the detour. Good food, friendly staff, and views of deer and elk in the pine shaded parking lot make this a veritable oasis in a sea of desert.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hualapai Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualapai Mountain Resort

Address: 4525 Hualapai Mtn Road, Kingman, AZ 86401
Location: United States > Arizona > Kingman
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingman
Number of rooms: 189
Also Known As:
Hualapai Mountain Hotel Kingman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hualapai Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.