We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - poor service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dambar & Steak House

Dambar & Steak House
1960 E Andy Devine Ave, Kingman, AZ 86401-7102
(520) 753-3523
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 96 Restaurants in Kingman
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Dambar is on the corner of Historic Route 66 and represents the best of the west in fine American cooking. Mouthwatering steak, great burgers and cheddar garlic biscuits are just a few choices available from the Dambar menu. Don't forget about the Damred beer and the Kingman Kooler specialty cocktail to quench your thirst.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good food - poor service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The food was good but the service was rushed even though it was not busy. We were brought the bill before we had finished eating the mainnwithout being offered dessert and the starter plates were never cleared. The bill was also incorrect and we had to point it out and get it redone.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    146
    71
    24
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermitage, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not Impressed Despite a Recommendation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

After a long drive on Route 66, my husband and I had this restaurant recommended to us by the motel in which we were staying. It was a big disappointment to us.

Getting seated, receiving our drinks, and ordering did not take too long, but it took what we felt was an unreasonable amount of time to get our food. The restaurant was not that busy, and the servers seemed to be more focused on prep work than tending to patrons.

Once we received our food, the quality was not that great. The salad was the best, despite the fact that I received a different dressing on mine than was requested. Bread served to us was not hot. The baked potatoes were small - not worth the $3 paid for one. My husband said that the quality of his steak was not worth the price associated, either.

Finally, we had to wait a good while to get our bill and even longer for the server to return to pick up payment so we could leave. Based on the number of people working and the number of people in the restaurant and what we ordered, being there for an hour and a half was too long. The food was not worth the money paid, and we were disappointed in the service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good service, great steak makes for a happy Pappy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were here for dinner and they were very busy. It's a big place and we were seated immediately. The server was efficient, polite and fast, and the food was excellent steak house fare. This place has earned the Pappy Bob Meal of Approval, that's for sure. Stop here if you are in Kingman.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Can't really say it was spectacular, but everything was excellent and as promised. Staff very friendly, food was very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Steaks don't need any sauce”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Had the sirloin and my friend had the ribeye. Both were cooked to our liking and well seasoned. No need to add steak sauce. We were there for lunch so it was quiet and friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dambar & Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Dambar & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dambar & Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.