We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and Unique but a bit over-stated in TripAdvisor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Trovatore Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added El Trovatore Motel to your Saves list
El Trovatore Motel
1440 East Andy Devine Avenue, Kingman, AZ 86401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT $54.50/night
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kingman
Winston-Salem,NC
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Interesting and Unique but a bit over-stated in TripAdvisor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

May be a Route 66 gem - and for an older establishment, it is unique and average....stayed in Elvis room. But, the shower needed work- mold in places and needed some repair - Instant coffee and no hairdryer or coffeepot - REALLY????
Clean- OK - but the place feels old b/c it is and that is the charm.
My biggest complaint, there was no blanket on the bed, only sheets and a bedspread - all I could think about was the minions of past guests using the bedspread as a blanket and that really grossed me out.
Hotels owners were also a gem - very friendly and sweet- helpful amd informative. However- please put blankets on the beds.
Will I stay here again no- would I recommend to friends - mmmm- no

Room Tip: Do not expect the "Ritz" and you will be OK -
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    25
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
57
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Sam and his wife are wonderful hosts. They tell you about the town and attractions and give you a map of the town. As an older motel, it is still going through some upgrades and renovations, but the rooms are very clean and comfortable, they turn on the heat/air and tv to old classic shows. They take you back to a simple, caring and charming time when people, not the dollar mattered.

Room Tip: pick a themed room from clint eastwood to marlon brando. The original suite with kitchen area was ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The rooms are good, not great, the wifi was not working terribly well in the room, but it was a great place to stay because of the exterior rehab and Sam the owner's great riffs on Kingman and the surrounding area. We stayed two nights, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again if coming through the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a facinating motel and its refurbishment has been a labour of love for the couple who run it.
The host is keen to tell you all about the history of Kingman and the motel and is very interesting and informed.
The rooms have all the original features and character.
There is no restaurant but there are many in the area. Breakfast is provided at a local diner a short distance away and is very good.
The murals and neons are very interesting and popular with tourists.

Room Tip: We were able to choose which room we wanted - they dont have numbers but are named after film stars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel for a night after 12 days of staying at various hotels in various states. Not only was the check in a fun experience with Sammy but it was the best night sleep of all! The owners go out of their way to welcome you including small touches lime putting the TV station to a channel she thought my husband would like since we were towing a motorcycle. The rooms had everything you needed and the AC worked very well. Because it is an older hotel the shower floor is a bit worn but the water pressure made up for it. If you like strong
water pressure it was great. All in all we are so glad we stayed there. Thank you Sammy and Monica and congratulations on maintaining a comfortable yet very affordable hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

After all of the wonderful reviews, my husband and I expected a great experience. We were disappointed. The location along Route 66 was desired, and the history of the motel is interesting.

Our room, unlike others reviewed, was small with stained carpet. When we first opened the door, the first impression was it looked nice, but that lasted for just a few seconds. The bed looked nice, appeared to be clean, and it was comfortable. The TV was an older model, but it worked.

The same cannot be said for the WiFi; neither my husband nor I could use it. The only outlets in the room to charge phones or laptops or use for any reason was in the surge protector behind the mini frig; the mini frig looked as if someone had used it for batting practice it was so dented.

Again, unlike other reviews of other rooms, the Paul Newman room had a bathroom that was so below par that I was afraid to shower, but I did. The tub had a sheet of drywall board on it; it was unusable. The shower area, on the other side of the toilet and small sink, was sunken a bit below floor level; it was dark and grungy. There was no counter space, no outlets, no hair dryer, and the mirror was hung too high to be of use to me.

The worse part of our stay was when I was using the mirror in the bed area to dress, and I felt something on my foot. I looked down, and a large roach was there. Shortly after, we found a large, dead roach in the bathroom near the toilet. My husband and I got out of there as quickly as possible, and we will not be back to see if other rooms seem to have been so much better than the one we stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This motel is very quaint and historic. It was very clean and lacked no necessity. The owners are very friendly and knowledgable about Route 66, which I enjoyed hearing about. The bathrooms are a little rustic; the shower had no light and was pretty dark. But it was clean and had plenty of hot water! If you're looking for luxury and brand new, probably not the place for you. But if you enjoy historical and vintage places, it's worth a night's stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Trovatore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Trovatore Motel

Address: 1440 East Andy Devine Avenue, Kingman, AZ 86401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Kingman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kingman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are on Route 66 in downtown Kingman, AZ. We have Legendary Hollywood Icon Themed Rooms/Marilyn Monroe,Elvis Presley,John Wayne and many more. There are many murals including a 206' 3D map of Route 66 and famous 100' glowing neon tower. Come and join us for the ulimate Route 66 experience! Classic cars/neon/Specialty rooms/King size and doubles/Kitchenette/Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Trovatore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Trovatore Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.