We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Trovatore Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Trovatore Motel to your Saves list
El Trovatore Motel
1440 East Andy Devine Avenue, Kingman, AZ 86401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT $54.50/night
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kingman
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We loved the quirky nature of this motel. We had the John Wayne room and it was lovely, clean and well appointed with the original 1930 s bathroom, briliant, The owners were so friendly and well informed. Would not hesitate to stay here again. xx

Room Tip: The character rooms were a real treat, Elvis, John Wayne, Marilyn etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    31
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
17
68
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Wasn't sure what to expect here but was happy with the result. The rooms were clean and well appointed for such an old establishment, and the owners could not be more friendly and helpful. The themed rooms are a nice touch - not often a chap gets to honestly admit to spending a night in Audrey Hepburn....!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The owners are so nice and friendly and really care about Kingman and Route 66 history! And they want to share it with you. The motel is a work in progress. There are things that need updating, but it's still a clean enough place--old grungy not gross dirty. I hope that the updates can be done without losing the charm of the architecture. The bathrooms are really neat! I have severe allergies and the AC and the carpet got me bad, but I am still glad we stayed here. I see a lot of potential in this property and would love to see it when more fixes have been made.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

What a great place to stay. This is an old Route 66 hotel that the owners have have put a lot of work into restoring and they've done an excellent job. Our room was clean and quiet.

Our air conditioning unit went out and the owners called the maintenance man at 9 pm to come in and replace the unit. Wow... That's customer service.

If you are looking for the Route 66 experience, a great place to stay, the opportunity to meet a mix of guests and interact with the delightful owners and their cute little dog this would be the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston,illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My wife and I just came back from Kingman Arizona. We took the Amtrak from Kansas City. The train was two hours late. We arrived in Kingman at 1:45 in the morning, and the owner of El Trovatore told us to just call and he would come get us. We threw our stuff in the back of his pickup and away we went.We stayed in the Clark Gable room. My wife and I were gone on vacation for ten days. We stayed at major hotel/motel chains, and my wife said the best sleep on the trip was at the El Trovatore. I agree. It's an old Route 66 motel with a map of Route 66 painted from one end to the other on the outside walls of the motel. The bathroom had old black and white tiles. We drove back to Kingman on our tenth day to stay in the motel until the train left for Kansas City at 1:30 in the morning. Again, the owner woke up and drove us to the train station. We were already asleep when the NBC crew arrived to stay to do a feature on the Motel. And rightfully so. We could sit outside our room on plastic chairs and watch the sun come up or go down. The clientel was a mix of people. It was perfect. We had TV/a refridge/a microwave/a dog that did tricks for treats and really nice owners for $46.00 a night. If you go to Kingman, don't miss staying here.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which room you get. The lady is so particular, any room is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena, New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The owners are so friendly and proud of their restoration, as they should be. The full moon behind their restored neon sign was a beautiful site. We stayed in the Paul Newman room. Loved the original sink and shower. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were crisp and clean. The owners know much history about Route 66, so make time for a conversation. Delightful motel with very reasonable rates.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukehina, null, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

So glad we booked two nights here. The room was big and comfy, clean and quirky. We loved it. The king size bed was just right (as per goldilocks - not too hard or too soft!) loved our Marilyn Munroe room. Plenty of space for our bags and good air conditioning.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Trovatore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Trovatore Motel

Address: 1440 East Andy Devine Avenue, Kingman, AZ 86401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Kingman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kingman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are on Route 66 in downtown Kingman, AZ. We have Legendary Hollywood Icon Themed Rooms/Marilyn Monroe,Elvis Presley,John Wayne and many more. There are many murals including a 206' 3D map of Route 66 and famous 100' glowing neon tower. Come and join us for the ulimate Route 66 experience! Classic cars/neon/Specialty rooms/King size and doubles/Kitchenette/Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your El Trovatore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Trovatore Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.