We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Your Kicks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Trovatore Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Trovatore Motel to your Saves list
El Trovatore Motel
1440 East Andy Devine Avenue, Kingman, AZ 86401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT $54.50/night
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kingman
PDX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Get Your Kicks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The El Trovatore was an unexpected find. We were travelling Route 66 and were playing the "let's not book a place until we get there" game. This had worked other places, but Kingman was throwing us for a loop. Apparently, there are some bad hoteliers in that town. Luckily, Tripadvisor reviewers had good things to say about Sam and this fun theme motel. The old movie buff in me loved the idea of staying in the Audrey, John, or Marilyn room. The room was clean, the sheets seemed new and bathroom was charmingly original 1930s (LOVED the tiled shower). A definite yes in our books.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a westerly view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    30
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
17
68
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Travelling Canuck/Yank
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

El Trovatore is a fun, quirky spot to stop. Owners Sam and Monica go way out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay. They have rescued this old time motel on Route 66 and are refurbishing it to its "classic motel" status. We stayed in the Marilyn Monroe suite... Good kitschy fun. VERY comfortable bed. Much more "American" than staying at one of the chain lodgings.

Room Tip: Let Sam and Monica pick for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A very comfortable room at an excellent price. You not only get a room for the evening, but a history lesson as well! :) We stumbled in here off of Route 66, and Sam was very enthusiastic about sharing the knowledge that he knew about the property and the surrounding area of 66. Monica welcomed us by going down to the room and turning on lights and the TV. It was almost like walking in at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Sam and Monica are perfect hosts. They have created a classic Rte 66 motel revival.
They are refurbishing an old 30's classic motel. Working their way through the rooms. The best way to do it, without knocking it all down, is to make each room something special. And that's what they've done. It's a very comfortable place, with hosts that make you feel at home. Very. Comfortable beds beds. Microwave, fridge and instant coffee.Breakfast is extra, and served at a nearby restaurant. A great arrangement.
When we arrived in our room, TCM was playing old B&W movies, it felt so right, we didn't turn it off all evening.
So do yourself a favour and book a night or two in this interesting motel, and enjoy all the things that Kingman has to offer, you'll be surprised, but don't be surprised when you don't get the Hilton.

Room Tip: Any refurbished room. Sam thinks the Audrey Hepburn room is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

we stopped off in Kingman after spending the day travelling Route 66 from California - Kingman itself is a charming little town with surprisingly lots to see - the motel is in a perfect location close to restaurants and close to the old town - our room was big and spacious for the 4 of us and exuded charm

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Built in 1939 and located on the original Route 66 (now Andy Devine Avenue in memory of this Hollywood actor), the El Trovatore Motel is a highly recommended stay for anyone following Route 66 through the Southwestern United States. It is one of the few pre-World War 11 motels still available to travelers and also contains several "Route 66 Landmarks" that will be of interest to all travelers. One is the tall, now repaired "El Trovatore Tower" neon sign located at the rear of the property that brings back memories of the "early days of Route 66." The second landmark is a colorful and interesting "Route 66 Mural Map" that, according to motel owners Sam and Monica Frisher, is "The World's Largest Route 66 Map." The third landmark is the Frishers themselves and Taco, their dog. Sam is the local authority on Route 66 with lots of information and stories to share with guests, Monica is the "owner extraordinaire" who does everything possible to make sure all guests have an delightful stay at "her motel," and Taco is their friendly little dog who does entertaining tricks for motel guests.

The El Trovatore Motel is in the process of being refurbished and attempting to blend its "Route 66 Charm" with updated amenities. Currently, the motel has 20-30 rooms available for guests. Each room is named for a famous Hollywood star (Marilyn Monroe, John Wayne, Katherine Hepburn...) and included photographs and other interesting items related to the Hollywood star it is named in honor of.

After Monica showed us a number of the "Hollywood-Themed Rooms," my wife and I selected the Marilyn Monroe Room. The room was clean, comfortable, centrally located, and provided us with an interesting stay in spite of being older and still in need of additional updates. For travelers seeking a "Route 66 Experience" and willing to stay in an older room, rooms at the El Trovatore Motel will provide them a great experience. At about $45.00 per night for two people (including all taxes), the rooms are reasonably priced and a good value for one's travel dollar; a full breakfast at a local diner is available for an additional $10.00 per person.

My wife and I found the El Travotore Motel to be one of our better motel/hotel bargains during our recent trip across Arizona and New Mexico. We are looking forward to a future stay at this motel and a chance to view additional renovations during our next visit to Kingman.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband had read that this motel was getting a facelift, and we thought we'd try it. Wow! Sam and Monica, our hosts, were as visionary and energetic as any two people could be, and the progress they have made to date in restoring this gem has been fantastic. The Route 66 mural painted on the outside of the rooms (the length of the motel) is worth the price of the room, alone! Each room is decorated in the style of a famous Hollywood icon. My husband chose the Marilyn Monroe room (so he could wake up with her, perhaps?), and we enjoyed all of the Marilyn accessories, from pictures to glammy Kleenex box holder.
The room was clean and comfy, but not totally restored. If you're looking for a Hilton with amenities, this isn't the place. But if you're looking for charm, character, and more hospitality than you've experienced in awhile, do stop in. Monica worked hard to ensure that we had everything we needed and Sam will discuss his current and future plans for restoration and expansion with you, if you are so inclined. (And Taco, their dog, will entertain, as well!)
We love traveling Route 66 and finding treasures like El Trovatore. We highly recommend this motel, and would love to read future posts so that we can stay abreast of its continuing renaissance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Trovatore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Trovatore Motel

Address: 1440 East Andy Devine Avenue, Kingman, AZ 86401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Kingman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kingman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are on Route 66 in downtown Kingman, AZ. We have Legendary Hollywood Icon Themed Rooms/Marilyn Monroe,Elvis Presley,John Wayne and many more. There are many murals including a 206' 3D map of Route 66 and famous 100' glowing neon tower. Come and join us for the ulimate Route 66 experience! Classic cars/neon/Specialty rooms/King size and doubles/Kitchenette/Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Trovatore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Trovatore Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.