We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Rod Cafe

Hot Rod Cafe
2215 Hualapai Mountain Rd, Ste A, Kingman, AZ 86401-8324
928-718-1500
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 96 Restaurants in Kingman
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Keighley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Good home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

What a hoot this place is. The sort of place local regulars go, and I can see why. The portions are plentiful and the food is delicious. I love the biker/retro Route 66 vibe about the place. The service was attentive and friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint David, Arizona, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can't wait to get back......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Been coming to Kingman for years, wish I would have found this one sooner. The décor is perfect for Gearheads and Race Fans alike. The names on the menu are very amusing. I had the Chrysler New Yorker: Toasted roll, roast beef, pastrami, provolone all warmed up with spicy mustard. Comfort food at its best. The French fries/Onion rings were fried to perfection. My friend had the Pastrami and Swiss on Rye. He said it was excellent.
Wish I had left room for dessert, the menu was very tempting.
The staff was very friendly and attentive even though she was also very busy.
The temp outside was low 40's and blowing light rain. Two groups of riders came in and it was obvious they were local. If it is good enough for them to ride in that weather to come in, I can only imagine what the rest of the menu is like.
We will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Do not go here.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Not only was the restaurant filthy, but the food itself was poor quality. The taste wasn't terrible but there was anything that stood out to me about it. It was way overpriced and the staff was grouchy and extremely lazy/inattentive. I asked for ketchup and I never even got it. My previous experiences here we're never amazing but never this bad, this one just set me over the top. I recommend any other eateries before this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Wi
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
“A Must for Gearheads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Lookin on tripadvisor for a place to eat between Vegas & Lake Havasu... We picked Ma & Pa's place. What a hit ... This is a trip back to da 60s.. pix of hot rods , bikes , nascar stuff , trucks , just an old time diner.... Tons o Fun , Friendly people , Great food , Large portions , Fair prices ( really fair if you use a restaurant.com coupon ) I really liked the fries / onion ring combo that was ordered with the sub. They have patio seating with an outstanding view . Liked dis place sooooo much that I even got a t shirt. If you are near Kingman or just runnin Route 66 . YA Gotta Stop Here !!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Happened to stumble on this place during a recent visit. The food was plentiful, the service great, views fantastic when using the patio and décor inside, vintage 60's and 70's. Had both a late lunch and breakfast on different days. Service and food was very consistent and staff was friendly. Enjoyed looking at the photos of various muscle cars and vintage trucks. Brought back many memories. Definitely will return again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Rod Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hot Rod Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Rod Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.