We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Blast From the Past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hill Top Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hill Top Motel to your Saves list
Hill Top Motel
1901 E Andy Devine Ave, Kingman, AZ 86401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Kingman
california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Fun Blast From the Past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Ok....so you all know this is no fancy hotel right? BUT it IS a great place to stay! If you are headed down good ole Route 66 and want an authentic old motel expierience Hill Top is a wonderful place to stay. Walking into the room I felt like a kid again on our yearly trip to Arizona in the 1960's and 70's! My hisband and son loved it. The owner is full of Route 66 information. (He also makes beautiful stained glass..) If you are headed from California to the Grand Canyon via Route 66 this is a great place to stop for a jumping off point the next morning. And if you care about history, by staying here I felt we were doing our own little part in helping to preserve a historic landmark :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loriebCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This 1960's style motel is located midway between Interstate interchanges, a ways out of old town Kingman towards the box stores, along side a new Wallgreens. It is priced midway between the el cheapo roadside places that offer $30 to $40 rooms (single) and the cookie cutter corporate places at twice this price. The decor is 1970-80's, the era when the last upgrades were probably done. The bed in our room was good, but not great, as were the other very basic furnishings and the shower/bathroom. A hair dryer, shampoo and soap were supplied. The in-wall furnace was more than adequate for the room during the cold January night we stayed here. We did not use the pool AC, small microwave or refrigerator. The location was pretty quiet with the occasional rumble of a passing train more soothing than disruptive.
The overall condition of the motel is clean and maintained, but the rooms look more tired than retro. Perhaps this is as true of many Route 66 travellers and for this reason it may not be that big of a concern. One bonus to staying here is that the owner is connected with three of the local museums and will, on request, provide free passes. Another is the presence of an in-house laundry.

Room Tip: Don't miss out on the free museum passes & in-house laundromat
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce_Raynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed one night during our journey on Route 66, probably attracted by the vintage neon sign, promising an authentic experience of the old spirit. And we were not disappointed. Except for the credit card machine and the wifi, all was nicely vintage. A bit run down and used furniture, but all was clean and so we received what we were expecting. For the price we paid, this is what we could get. Rooms are rather dark, only a few lights and the dark brown decoration does not make it exactly a masterpiece of design. The shower room is old but functional - we just wondered why the shower head is only at chest height. But that's a small detail. The staff is very friendly and they gave us some useful hints about what to do in Kingman and surroundings. The motel is close to the centre of town, so conveniently located. The proximity to the main street is not really a problem as at night there is almost no trafic anymore.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aki_le_blond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

As part of my Arizona route 66 experience day I stayed one night at this motel. On arrival I soon realised that it was still very much existing in the past, but that is what I was expecting and wanted to see. The reception is really just an extension of the owners living accommodation. The owners were nice friendly and helpful people. The bedroom was a relic of the past, but fairly spacious and clean. Reasonable nights sleep. The motel is located about a mile from the railway station and the powerhouse museum. It sure isn't fancy accommodation but was as expected, good value and an experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CB2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel was a bit of a shock. We came here after staying at The Bellagio in Las Vegas. Our first stop on our honeymoon road trip. At first I was horrified at the room but at the end of the day, it was small with dark brown decor but the room was clean and comfortable and cheap. It's a bit out dated and the shower Leaked but we had everything we needed so I can't really complain too much.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyGuyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is an old route 66 hotel. It was super clean and comfortable. There was a refrigerator and microwave. We had a very quiet comfortable evening. Very easy to find and convenient to the highway. The price was great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janimal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Frio, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The first impression of the motel is a cluttered and disorganized office. Cheap and good location, but I would keep looking. Time has passed this place by. It was built in the fifties. No flat screen TV here. Just an old one from the 90's. You can do better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Friocharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingman hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 26 in Kingman
3.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
2.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#17 of 26 in Kingman
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
2.2 mi away
Knights Inn Kingman
Knights Inn Kingman
#12 of 26 in Kingman
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Kingman
Ramada Kingman
#6 of 26 in Kingman
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 26 in Kingman
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Trovatore Motel
El Trovatore Motel
#7 of 26 in Kingman
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Top Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Top Motel

Address: 1901 E Andy Devine Ave, Kingman, AZ 86401
Location: United States > Arizona > Kingman
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Kingman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hill Top Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Top Hotel Kingman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing