We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“journey in time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hill Top Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hill Top Motel to your Saves list
Hill Top Motel
1901 E Andy Devine Ave, Kingman, AZ 86401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Kingman
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“journey in time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed one night during our journey on Route 66, probably attracted by the vintage neon sign, promising an authentic experience of the old spirit. And we were not disappointed. Except for the credit card machine and the wifi, all was nicely vintage. A bit run down and used furniture, but all was clean and so we received what we were expecting. For the price we paid, this is what we could get. Rooms are rather dark, only a few lights and the dark brown decoration does not make it exactly a masterpiece of design. The shower room is old but functional - we just wondered why the shower head is only at chest height. But that's a small detail. The staff is very friendly and they gave us some useful hints about what to do in Kingman and surroundings. The motel is close to the centre of town, so conveniently located. The proximity to the main street is not really a problem as at night there is almost no trafic anymore.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
12
28
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

As part of my Arizona route 66 experience day I stayed one night at this motel. On arrival I soon realised that it was still very much existing in the past, but that is what I was expecting and wanted to see. The reception is really just an extension of the owners living accommodation. The owners were nice friendly and helpful people. The bedroom was a relic of the past, but fairly spacious and clean. Reasonable nights sleep. The motel is located about a mile from the railway station and the powerhouse museum. It sure isn't fancy accommodation but was as expected, good value and an experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a bit of a shock. We came here after staying at The Bellagio in Las Vegas. Our first stop on our honeymoon road trip. At first I was horrified at the room but at the end of the day, it was small with dark brown decor but the room was clean and comfortable and cheap. It's a bit out dated and the shower Leaked but we had everything we needed so I can't really complain too much.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is an old route 66 hotel. It was super clean and comfortable. There was a refrigerator and microwave. We had a very quiet comfortable evening. Very easy to find and convenient to the highway. The price was great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Frio, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The first impression of the motel is a cluttered and disorganized office. Cheap and good location, but I would keep looking. Time has passed this place by. It was built in the fifties. No flat screen TV here. Just an old one from the 90's. You can do better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Hilltop a number of times over the years. It's not a four-star, $150 a night place but it's authentic Route 66, affordable and comfortable. It could use some upgrades but I know the owner is working on a number of different things.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here one night as we drove Route 66. The rooms were clean and there was a fridge in the room. The shower wasn't the best and didn't have great pressure but for one night this was not an issue. Staff were helpful and the motel was in a great location. Fast wifi but uncomfortable beds. Overall, a great place to stop whilst travelling on route 66. Well priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hill Top Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Top Motel

Address: 1901 E Andy Devine Ave, Kingman, AZ 86401
Location: United States > Arizona > Kingman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Kingman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hill Top Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Top Hotel Kingman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill Top Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.