We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calico's

Calico's
418 W Beale, Kingman, AZ 86401
(928) 753-5005
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 91 Restaurants in Kingman
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I stopped here after fueling our car and were pleasantly surprised with the choice and quality of the food offerings. My wife's special Cobb Salad was well composed with lettuce, slices eggs, etc. and the quantity was just right for a luncheon. I had a French Dip that had tasty slices of prime rib and the french fries were of good size and done well. There is a salad bar available along with the requisite Route 66 memorabilia for sale, If you aren't familiar with Route 66, this may provide you with basal information.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    42
    14
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Canyon, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Won't be back!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We ordered a pork chops dinner to split. The menu stated center cut. We asked the waitress before we ordered how the pork chops are. She said very good. Well, they were not center cut, very thin , greasy and very tough. Lots of fat and difficult to cut. I left most on the plate. The waitress just said sorry. We added a soup and salad bar. The soup did not taste homemade as they represented. The salad items were fine, the blue cheese dressing very good

Point is don't misrepresent item description on menu and replace with barely chewable tough substitute.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolan Springs, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great salad buffet and dinner selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Nice restaurant close to the Freeway. Quick service, delicious food. Nice cocktails too. We do a lot of business meetings there. They have a separate room for special occasions.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville,WA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Sorry, we won't be back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was our second visit to this restaurant in 7 months and our last The food is average, the help is superior ( great servers!), but what did us in was the ladies' bathroom Having used the commode, I noticed something attached to the seat, so carefully lifted it up, only to find the underpart of the seat absolutely the filthiest I have ever seen. That did it. NEVER will we stop here again. The floors throughout the restaurant were clean, but the place is really tired .Too bad, because the servers are so nice and helpful and prices are reasonable, and location is good.,but cleaning only surfaces readily seen by customers doesn't do it. What does the kitchen looks like?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“reasonable choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We have no idea whether there are better restaurants in Kingman. I picked this because it had fish on the menu. My husband loved his salad and soup option,stating that it was superior. My trout was only fair. The service was excellent and the prices very reasonable, especially for the soup and salad (less than $8.00). The bar is very limited.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calico's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calico's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.