We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ville Verde

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ville Verde
Chopin Street, Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Well known in the area as the top restaurant
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Our reception experience was not warm and friendly. Three members of staff negotiated with one couple that walked in without a booking. We and others who made reservations waited to be ushered to our tables. The food was excellent, although our table of four waited 40 minutes for our main course.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ville Verde”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have eaten at Villa Verde several times, with groups and as couples, we have always had a good all round performance, we have always had good food with plenty of choise. The only problem is if you sit on the deck you are next to a busy car park so the atmosphere is poor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“An average experiencce”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The place felt a bit crowded - tables are fairly close to one another. The food is OK - wide menu selection . Good waitron service - can get a bit noisy .

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very Good and not a Chain Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I suppose it helps to know the staff and the menu. Service is generally very good and family friendly. had the Portuguese steak (medium rare) which was awesome. The seafood is also generally good. The 6+1 and Padre Rednose wines are excellent. Sitting out on the deck is advisable and the better vibe is in the smoking section.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't go here if you in a hurry!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

40 minutes for a few steaks, this is a beyond slow particularly when you're there for business. Once we had our meals the waitor abandoned us and we had to hunt him down for the bill.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ville Verde also viewed

Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng
Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng
 
Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng
 

Been to Ville Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ville Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.