We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vilakazi Street

Vilakazi Street
Soweto, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 15 Attractions in Soweto
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Attraction details
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

A lot of history on this street. There is a lot of activity and its a happy place. Some of the locals try to take advantage of the tourists and beg for money but they don't harass you and leave you alone after a short while.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    29
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very historical street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We had a guide by the name of Poloko. He did the memorial tour with us and we also did a walking tour of vilakazi Street precinct (this includes the Mandela House and Tutu residence). We finished off our tour at Sakhumzi Restaurant for a late lunch.

The Mandela house is great and has been restored. The Tutu residence cannot be accessed as the family still lives there.

Sakhumzi restaurant is good. There are a few other restaurants on the same street. You are bound to see some bikers showing off if you go on a weekend.

Our guide was very knowledgeable and very easy going. I really recommend his services greatly. His contact details are:
+27(0) 72-299-9815 or poloko.sahost@webmail.co.za

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soweto, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Chilling in Soweto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Vilakazi street is vibrant and lively.A good place to spent an afternoon or an evening.One cannot underestimate Vilakazi street it is an all season place.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Historical and memorable, don't miss it if you're in Joburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you love the history of this big guy, this is a good place to start with. If you come from a well gated community, you might feel uncomfortable when you arrive in this area; you might be little bit feels unsafe. You can see some stores are well equipped with steel iron fences/doors and so many local people asking for money and try to perform some songs then ask for money.

But, don't feel that way. After lot's of things that Nelson Mandela has done for this country, I think this side of reality came to me as some freedom that this country have. Overall, its not as bad as it looks like. As long as you know where your wallet/purse is, I think you will be fine.

Vilakazi st. where the house of Mr. Mandella is the main attraction. You can see the historical items in the house and they also held the tour to the house as part of the attraction. I would suggest you join the tour to get better idea about this small and humble house.

If you drive your rental car to go there, there is possiblity the GPS will not bring you to the place. But, you can put the address 8xxx Vilakazi street which will bring you to the nearest proximity (just couple blocks from the famous Vilakazi street). After that you can ask some locals and they will give you direction to go there.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My SA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I loved it, was there for an afternoon treat. The walk down vilakazi street takes you back and informative too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vilakazi Street also viewed

Soweto, Greater Johannesburg
Soweto, Greater Johannesburg
 
Soweto, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Vilakazi Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vilakazi Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.