We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Soweto Hotel on Freedom Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Soweto Hotel on Freedom Square to your Saves list
The Soweto Hotel on Freedom Square
Cnr. Union & Main Road | Walter Sisulu Square, Kliptown, Soweto 1812, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Soweto
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This hotel is brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I had a wonderful 3 days at this hotel. The staff are exceptional and will go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Rooms are nice though not at the same 4 star level that would be found in England. They are very big though and very clean. My room had a balcony that was enormous and would be great in the summer. The area should not put visitors off. The hotel is in a very deprived area of Soweto but you will find local people very friendly and very keen to talk. It is not safe, however,to venture out at night .

Food was excellent and, coming from England, fantastic value for money. A 3 course meal will cost you about 10 pounds and the price of drinks is again great value.

I would totally recommend this hotel. It,s the staff who make it and I would love to stay there again!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Manager at The Soweto Hotel on Freedom Square, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for your feedback,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that, you would be willing to recommend the hotel to friends and colleagues. We hope to welcome you back again soon in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
2
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
720 reviews 720 reviews
164 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed here for two nights as part of a work meeting, and we had an incredible visit. The hotel's managing director also met with us-- and shared her story on launching this hotel despite all the challenges. The building is not much to look at from outside--seems to be an odd long building of cement and funky blocks. But on the inside, the decor is classy with many nice, warm touches and historical photos. Check-in was fast, friendly and efficient. My spotlessly clean room was exactly as pictured on their tripadvisor site--- with an amazing large picture of a young Mandela smiling in a small group of people. The bed was comfy, lots of pillows. The room was more of a suite-- with a bedroom, sitting room+desk, and closet area plus large, clean and well-appointed bathroom. The shower water had a mind of its own and switched from very hot to very cold---which was actually a bit dangerous-- i hope they can fix this. My room also had a balcony and lots of windows to see Union Street-- which is a busy area with shops and street vendors. The room was quiet at night, and during the day i could hear (pleasant, good) sounds from the street. The meals were good, nice quality, diverse offering-- for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Everyone in the hotel was so friendly and helpful--- at checkin, checkout, at the bar, at the meals, with luggage, etc. Overall, a great experience-- and i'd recommend Soweto Hotel for business or tourists.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
489 helpful votes 489 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hideous building looks like a soviet-era bunker in a space cleared from a packed and chaotic slum. On one side is a messy but buzzing shopping area and the other a desolate and dilapidated plaza with a lot of interesting but poorly maintained heritage sights.

Inside the hotel is pretty generic with a few ethnic decor nods to the area and basic amenities. There are free computers in the lobby, a bar, meeting rooms and a fair restaurant and nothing else to do. The rooms are oddly designed with lots of nooks and crannies. The bed was good, air-conditioning quiet and shower poor. Cleanliness was spotty; sheets were fine, two of four towels not and appliances and restaurant cutlery best wiped yourself before use.

The area felt completely secure at all times with high police visibility. It was very quiet at night. I highly recommend a visit to the area on a locally-guided tour. If you want to spend a night, at most two, in Soweto and not brave a township BnB then this is a fine option but set your luxury expectations to mediocre.

Room Tip: South side rooms (odd numbers) face the market and township. The north side faces the featureless pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is well positioned in Soweto and close to all facilities. Though if you want the real action stay in a guest house in Soweto. It's dirty around the hotel but parking is secure and the hotel is clean. We had a problem with the bed when late at night we got back and getting into bed realized that the sheets had not been changed and were dirty. Not a great experience. We found the bedroom to have s strange design that wasted space, had a better design been used the room would actually have been quite big. Airconditioner just seemed unable to heat up the room and we had to switch it off as that at least stopped the room from getting any colder. People are friendly and helpful in the hotel. We only had breakfast and that was simple and good. For the price though you get better at Sandton hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Really, really wanted to like this hotel & will start with the positives. Breakfasts were pretty tasty. Some staff were very friendly & tried very hard to please. The lobby/rooms have some nice touches. There was a fashion show at the hotel to draw attention to Soweto clothing designers that was fun to watch & some of the designers were quite talented. Prior to arrival, the communication & booking went smoothly. However, upon arrival, the many communications problems started which we've never had in our extensive travels.

This is the start of South Africa's winter; it gets quite cold when the sun goes down. Our room had no heat. When we asked to switch rooms, the receptionist said the heat was broken in all rooms & gave us 2 extra blankets. We slept in our pants & winter jackets & it was miserable. We tried to check out the next day & move to a Melrose hotel, but the manager profusely apologized & to our surprise said the receptionist was mistaken - the heat wasn't out in all the rooms. She then had us transfer rooms to one with heat.

We had the hotel book a Soweto bicycle tour. We paid cash at the bike tour place, but upon check-out, I noticed a charge for the tour on our bill. I told the receptionist we paid cash & asked that it be removed (R970, or >$120 USD). It took > 1/2 hr to sort out & was settled when I picked through housekeeping trash to find our receipt to provide proof of payment. Given the no heat situation of the previous night, we may have found an earlier, easier compromise. We are partly at fault for not asking in advance. In Cape Town, our hotel arranged some tours & we paid cash to our guides.

The day before checkout, I told the receptionist that we wanted to visit the Apartheid Museum before flying back to the US. A previous cab driver said the museum would watch baggage & so I asked if this was true or if we should leave our baggage at the hotel, then catch cabs to/from the hotel/museum before heading to the airport. She said she would arrange transportation but I saw on our bill at checkout that to essentially watch our luggage during our museum visit would essentially cost >R900 (>$110 USD). I asked to cancel the service as it made more sense to cab it to/from the museum (can't imagine it would be more than R200 max for the round trip), but was told it was too late, arrangements had already been made. This may have been prevented with advance communication.

Other small points - each is minor in itself but added up:
1) B/c the hotel website said they have ATM/banking facilities, we thought we didn't have to take out much cash in advance. However, the receptionist said there was no ATM & ATMs aren't exactly easily or safely accessible in Soweto.
2) There is a hefty wi-fi charge - R40-50 ($5-$6USD) for an hour of access. To purchase 24 hrs of wi-fi access would have been, well, a lot. We have travelled a lot & wi-fi is normally complementary or at a minimal charge.
3) We stayed at a 4-star hotel in Cape Town earlier in our trip & it was a lot nicer - do the ratings standards differ throughout SA? Some walls had big cracks in them, the baths had some pretty large dents & there seemed to be limited hrs for hot water in both rooms we were in.
4) The food situation could be odd. The restaurant was out of coffee both mornings in the carafe. When I went to make toast, there was no outlet that the toaster could be plugged into. Also, the room service dinner menu we got was a small piece of notebook paper that the waitress had written on. Funny, actually!

I'd done research into staying in Soweto vs. other areas, so I knew what area we'd be staying in. We wanted to support tourism in Soweto. I've stayed in places Africa ranging from hostels to luxury hotels & am aware that 4-star hotels in SA are not the same as 4-star Western hotels.

Really like the concept of a higher-end hotel in Soweto, but it seems to me that the hotel is confused on whether it wants to cater to business travelers, tourists or both. If that's the case, I hope it figures it out soon & improves on overall customer service & communication. We can still see its potential.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

we spent the new year eve in the soweto hotel.
weird place in a very desolate area of the lively town of soweto.
warm welcome, very nice hotel, mandela's big picture in the room.
a very original way to visit south africa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Soweto Hotel on Freedom Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soweto Hotel on Freedom Square

Address: Cnr. Union & Main Road | Walter Sisulu Square, Kliptown, Soweto 1812, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Soweto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Soweto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your The Soweto Hotel on Freedom Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Soweto Hotel on Freedom Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.