We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfort and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Faircity Quatermain Hotel to your Saves list
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 West Road South, Morningside, Sandton 2057, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Mareeba, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“comfort and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel has linked buidlings of several floors in beautifully landscaped gardens. The staff are friendly and give excellent service. The rooms are large well appointed and comfortable with an emphasis on quality and serviceability rather than fierce modernity. The restaurant serves great food from a varied menu and the service in the restaurant is excellent as well. We stayed here at the end of a long trip that was mainly work but had some luxury leisure time and found that the comfort and service here compared very well with the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Ruth S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We always appreciate all forms of feedback from our guests and use it to continuously improve both our products and services.

We are delighted to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our restaurant, its food as well as service.

Furthermore, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful gardens and that you found our hotel a comfort and luxury at the end of a long and busy journey.

We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours in hospitality

Jaco S
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    43
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
22
5
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

It has been one year since I had visited the Quatermain Hotel. It is an idyllic place in the middle of Sandton beautifully landscaped. The staff are super friendly. The restaurant produces excellent meals from breakfast through to their gourmet lunch and dinner. The library-type lounges provide warmth to business meetings.

However, the mobile coverage is shocking. Some rooms and open areas have. Others have none. In a world of 4G LTE, this is truly unacceptable. Moreover, the hotel Wi-Fi is sporadic. I had to wait an hour for it to allow me to email a document from my room! The internet age seemingly has not pervaded this property, stultifying 21st Century life and business. Regarding the rooms, the heating is also hit or miss. Last night, it was a miss. Had to sleep in my long johns, but my head was not spared winter temperature. I could not complain with no Wi-Fi or mobile service!

This property gets the hard stuff right, but messes up the easy things. If the Quatermain were football highlights, we would see a mix of spectacular and own goals. Such a shame.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear EDS71,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review out hotel on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments on the staff, service and our food and beverage Furthermore we are glad to hear that you enjoy our location as well as our beautiful gardens.

Regarding our complimentary WiFi coverage in the hotel, we are in the process of upgrading the system as modern demand for bandwidth almost increases on a daily basis. This project should be finished very soon.

We are sorry to hear that you did not find the heating and air-conditioning in our rooms sufficient and would encourage any guest who experiences this problem to dial reception who will gladly assist in supplying either an extra heater or blankets.

Should you return to our beautiful hotel, we trust that you will find the WiFi situation resolved satisfactorily.

Sincerely

JacoS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I was there this past June with my colleague for three very busy days of business. The hotel charmed me from the moment I arrived to my dreaded departure! Yes it was that good. The facilities are superb including the conference room, the bar, the excellent food prepared by an outstanding Chef, and my room. Even that old Ibis waking me up in the early AM did not dissuade me. The staff are helpful to a fault and thoroughly enjoyable.Our first night was at the bar watching the French play along with many a French expat. I loved it. We had dinner at the bar with some fine Pinotage. It was a bit of heaven. Thank you and looking forward to my return.R

Room Tip: All are good I suspect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear rhrogers52,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all forms of feedback from our guests, albeit good or bad, as it assist us in guiding both our services and products.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, from the facilities, the food, bar service and conference facilities.

Your kind comments on the helpfulness of our staff will most certainly be shared with the whole team!

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Sincerely

JacoS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stayed here for a month on a recent business trip, and that is more than enough time to get to know the strengths and weaknesses of any hotel, and I was delighted to discover many strengths and few weaknesses. The hotel is laid out more like a country house around two garden areas with rooms on two floors. There is a stone-paved corridor that links all of the rooms, which can result in noise from ill- mannered guests, of which. I encountered a few during my stay, or over-enthusiastic cleaning staff. I opted for the larger room upgrade, and was glad that I did. The room was rather dark, because of the positioning of the windows, but I spent little time in the room during daylight hours. There was plenty of choice at both breakfast and evening meals, and I never tired of the menu during my four weeks there. The staff were very friendly and keen to please, and the gym facilities were very good. The hotel also operates a complimentary shuttle service to the nearest shopping mall, which is an excellent facility.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear JRKernow,

Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. You are indeed correct in saying that if you stay at a hotel for a month, you certainly do get to know all the strengths and weaknesses of any hotel.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the layout of our hotel and our comfortable guest rooms.

Thank you also for your kind comments on our breakfast and dinner service, quality and variety.

An finally we are delighted you found our staff friendly and keen to please, your kind comments will certainly be shared with the whole team.

We hope to welcome you back at our beautiful hotel again one day!

Sincerely

JacoS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a week and really enjoyed the hospitality. The breakfast is fantastic and staying at a hotel with old style layout was an altogether different experience. Lots of greenery and a very nice gym. Will definitely stay again....give it a try you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear sam_sameer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Faircity Quatermain Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your week-long stay at our hotel and our hospitality. As you know we pride ourselves in the beautiful design and lay-out of our hotel as well as its lovely gardens and calm atmosphere.

Furthermore we are glad to hear that you found our gym to your satisfaction.

Our restaurant, headed by celebrity chef Coco Reinarhz, is always one of the highlights of a stay at the Faircity Quatermain Hotel.

We certainly do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!

Yours in hospitality

Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed at this hotel whilst travelling to watch the South Africa v Australia cricket series.

We arrived mid to late afternoon, helped inside with bags, check-in fairly slow. I was a little surprised by the style/layout of the hotel, it is quite large but most/all of the rooms closer to reception open off open corridors and onto a large courtyard.This in itself is not a problem, however the passageways are paved/tiled and as such passing traffic from people arriving and leaving wheeling suitcases makes quite a lot of noise.If you are given room 103 and you are a light sleeper I suggest you ask for another room as this a next to a passageway through to rooms at the rear of the property and the meeting rooms and gym, and where a computer terminal for guest use is located, so there is constant traffic and people standing around talking which can be very annoying. Whilst the rooms/bar/restaurant are non smoking, smokers congregate around the entrance door to the bar and reception, management condone this by providing ash trays etc. the Restaurant is quite nice, breakfast is ok but not a lot of choice, dinner is quite good with a large menu, service is a but hit and miss but overall it is ok. Would I go back and stay again, probably not, it is in a residential area with no restaurants in walking distance and judging by the high walls topped by electric fences I would guess it is not particularly safe outside at night.

Room Tip: Avoid room 103, from what I saw all rooms are off paved passageways so passing traffic will always b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Johnthepom0001,

Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel on Tripadvisor. We always value all guest feedback, which enables us to improve on our product and services.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in Room 103 in our hotel. The layout of our hotel is one of the distinguishing features that sets us apart from other high-rise hotels in the area. The hotel is open and airy, with many passages and beautiful gardens. It is a pity that you were bothered by passing guests in your room - we are always more than happy to move any guest who wants to be moved to another area in our hotel.

We are indeed a non-smoking hotel and only allow smoking in the designated outdoor pool and garden area. Once again, apologies if this inconvenienced you in any way.

Sincerely

Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC, Beirut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel has a very friendly staff. The restaurant in the hotel was much much than I expected. I had both breakfast and dinner and really enjoyed both of the meals. The rooms are good. Its not a luxury hotel but definitely clean and pretty big. Also free wife is a nice touch. The gym in the hotel is also good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear baci2003,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review the Faircity Quatermain Hotel on Tripadvisor. Your kind comments and positive feedback are appreciated and will be shared with the rest of our team.

Experiencing our restaurant with Chef Coco Reinarhz, is one of the highlights of staying at our hotel. Another noticeable feature about our hotel is the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms and also our complimentary WiFi and well appointed gym.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Jaco S
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Faircity Quatermain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Address: 60 West Road South, Morningside, Sandton 2057, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Quatermain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 km from Sandton City, this hotel features a courtyard with a swimming pool and an award-winning restaurant. All rooms and suites come with air conditioning and a satellite LCD TV. Including free Wi-Fi, all accommodations at Faircity Qautermain Hotel in Johannesburg come with extra long beds and an electronic laptop safe. Some of the rooms and suites have a private balcony. A breakfast buffet is served daily on the courtyard terrace with its green parasols. The Sel et Poivre restaurant serves gourmet cuisine in a classic setting with a fireplace and paintings. While visitors exercise in the gym, the 24-hour staff can arrange airport shuttles to O.R. Tambo Airport, 27 km away. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Faircity Quatermain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faircity Quatermain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faircity Quatermain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.