We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business in Sandton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Faircity Quatermain Hotel to your Saves list
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 West Road South, Morningside, Sandton 2057, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Romsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Business in Sandton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stayed here for a month on a recent business trip, and that is more than enough time to get to know the strengths and weaknesses of any hotel, and I was delighted to discover many strengths and few weaknesses. The hotel is laid out more like a country house around two garden areas with rooms on two floors. There is a stone-paved corridor that links all of the rooms, which can result in noise from ill- mannered guests, of which. I encountered a few during my stay, or over-enthusiastic cleaning staff. I opted for the larger room upgrade, and was glad that I did. The room was rather dark, because of the positioning of the windows, but I spent little time in the room during daylight hours. There was plenty of choice at both breakfast and evening meals, and I never tired of the menu during my four weeks there. The staff were very friendly and keen to please, and the gym facilities were very good. The hotel also operates a complimentary shuttle service to the nearest shopping mall, which is an excellent facility.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear JRKernow,

Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. You are indeed correct in saying that if you stay at a hotel for a month, you certainly do get to know all the strengths and weaknesses of any hotel.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the layout of our hotel and our comfortable guest rooms.

Thank you also for your kind comments on our breakfast and dinner service, quality and variety.

An finally we are delighted you found our staff friendly and keen to please, your kind comments will certainly be shared with the whole team.

We hope to welcome you back at our beautiful hotel again one day!

Sincerely

JacoS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    43
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
22
5
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a week and really enjoyed the hospitality. The breakfast is fantastic and staying at a hotel with old style layout was an altogether different experience. Lots of greenery and a very nice gym. Will definitely stay again....give it a try you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear sam_sameer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Faircity Quatermain Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your week-long stay at our hotel and our hospitality. As you know we pride ourselves in the beautiful design and lay-out of our hotel as well as its lovely gardens and calm atmosphere.

Furthermore we are glad to hear that you found our gym to your satisfaction.

Our restaurant, headed by celebrity chef Coco Reinarhz, is always one of the highlights of a stay at the Faircity Quatermain Hotel.

We certainly do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!

Yours in hospitality

Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed at this hotel whilst travelling to watch the South Africa v Australia cricket series.

We arrived mid to late afternoon, helped inside with bags, check-in fairly slow. I was a little surprised by the style/layout of the hotel, it is quite large but most/all of the rooms closer to reception open off open corridors and onto a large courtyard.This in itself is not a problem, however the passageways are paved/tiled and as such passing traffic from people arriving and leaving wheeling suitcases makes quite a lot of noise.If you are given room 103 and you are a light sleeper I suggest you ask for another room as this a next to a passageway through to rooms at the rear of the property and the meeting rooms and gym, and where a computer terminal for guest use is located, so there is constant traffic and people standing around talking which can be very annoying. Whilst the rooms/bar/restaurant are non smoking, smokers congregate around the entrance door to the bar and reception, management condone this by providing ash trays etc. the Restaurant is quite nice, breakfast is ok but not a lot of choice, dinner is quite good with a large menu, service is a but hit and miss but overall it is ok. Would I go back and stay again, probably not, it is in a residential area with no restaurants in walking distance and judging by the high walls topped by electric fences I would guess it is not particularly safe outside at night.

Room Tip: Avoid room 103, from what I saw all rooms are off paved passageways so passing traffic will always b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Johnthepom0001,

Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel on Tripadvisor. We always value all guest feedback, which enables us to improve on our product and services.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in Room 103 in our hotel. The layout of our hotel is one of the distinguishing features that sets us apart from other high-rise hotels in the area. The hotel is open and airy, with many passages and beautiful gardens. It is a pity that you were bothered by passing guests in your room - we are always more than happy to move any guest who wants to be moved to another area in our hotel.

We are indeed a non-smoking hotel and only allow smoking in the designated outdoor pool and garden area. Once again, apologies if this inconvenienced you in any way.

Sincerely

Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC, Beirut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel has a very friendly staff. The restaurant in the hotel was much much than I expected. I had both breakfast and dinner and really enjoyed both of the meals. The rooms are good. Its not a luxury hotel but definitely clean and pretty big. Also free wife is a nice touch. The gym in the hotel is also good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear baci2003,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review the Faircity Quatermain Hotel on Tripadvisor. Your kind comments and positive feedback are appreciated and will be shared with the rest of our team.

Experiencing our restaurant with Chef Coco Reinarhz, is one of the highlights of staying at our hotel. Another noticeable feature about our hotel is the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms and also our complimentary WiFi and well appointed gym.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Jaco S
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Many people may like this hotel but alas I am not one of them.
Firstly the layout, Walking around the pool and up many stairs to get to the room which overlooked the courtyard and pool. In the morning I was awoken by a number of people taking photographs and inexplicably shouting at each other from 1 meter away!
The rooms are clean and have most things you will need. For reasons best known to the hotel the TV volume was limited to a very low volume (lower than the shouting family outside). The menu promised much but alas it was between poor and average. Breakfast saw many waiting staff but I don’t know what they were actually there for as the tables were not made up and it took way to long to get a fill up on a cup of coffee. My biggest issue was however with the front desk. On checking in they ran my credit card though through the old school machine that makes an imprint. Next they asked me to sign this unfilled in credit card slip. I refused of course. When checking out they ran the card through a normal machine. I asked for the imprint but was told that it was in the safe and the manager didn’t come into 10:00 ! Great work if you are the manager and don’t star work until 10:00AM.
Overall not what I expect from a hotel charging this amount.

Room Tip: Don't sign the credit card slip at check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear GastroNinja,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We value all feedback from our guests and continuously use it to improve our service to our guests.

We do apologise if you found the manual imprint of you credit card antiquated and inconvenient. We do this simply to ensure we have a credit card to charge for any extras on a guest account and do not actually charge it until check out, when we then run your card through a card machine. The alternative, like in most other hotels, is to take a pre-authorisation on your card through the machine, but we found that it inconvenience guests even more, as once we release the pre-authorisation, it can take up to a week for the cardholder's bank to release the funds back into the guests account. However, we will review this process again based upon your feedback.

We have taken note of your comments of the food and breakfast service and taken it up with the proprietor of the restaurant.

Regarding your comments on the stairs in our hotel, it is actually what makes our hotel unique and sets it apart from other modern-style high-rise hotel buildings. Ours is a homely country-style hotel no more that one floor high with only staircases and wide open passages with no modern escalators or elevators. This compliments the whole atmosphere of our unique hotel.

Sincerely

Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference. Total duration of stay was 2 days. As a conference venue it seemed to be very popular. There were up to 8 conferences on the go at the same time. Our conference room was a bit small for the 25 people but adequate. The catering was good as well.
I have no complaints about the hotel. Everything worked as expected and it was neat, clean and well maintained. I used the gym which was much more spacious than the average hotel gym.
We used the shuttle service extensively and this works well. It was timeous ... always available at the time that we had it booked.

Room Tip: I had room 106 which was tucked away in a corner. I had very little disturbances as there was no pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Sajit K,

Firstly, thank you kindly for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all feedback from our guests.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and conference with us and that you found everything clean and well maintained at our property. Our complimentary shuttle service is there for the convenience of our guests and we are glad you were able to make use of this service and found it effective and timeous.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.

Yours in hospitality

Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is a very good selection for business people and tourists who are spending time in Johannesburg. Its location is good to main shopping areas of Mandela Square. Also, there are smaller size shopping mall around it where you can very good restaurants. The landscape is very beautiful with good green areas inside and the architectural design of a hotel makes more like a big mansion rather than the model block styles hotels. The restaurant also provides good variety of food and the food is always very nice. The business rooms is very quiet and provides good environment for business conferences.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco S, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Mansi66,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to do a write-up of our beautiful hotel. We pride ourselves on our lush gardens and stylish architecture, creating the feeling of a home, not just another hotel.

Our location is unique in that it is close enough to all the main attractions in Sandton, but located in a quite neighbourhood, giving our guests the best of both worlds.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant headed up by award-winning chef Coco Reinarhz.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours in hospitality

Jaco S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Faircity Quatermain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Address: 60 West Road South, Morningside, Sandton 2057, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Quatermain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 km from Sandton City, this hotel features a courtyard with a swimming pool and an award-winning restaurant. All rooms and suites come with air conditioning and a satellite LCD TV. Including free Wi-Fi, all accommodations at Faircity Qautermain Hotel in Johannesburg come with extra long beds and an electronic laptop safe. Some of the rooms and suites have a private balcony. A breakfast buffet is served daily on the courtyard terrace with its green parasols. The Sel et Poivre restaurant serves gourmet cuisine in a classic setting with a fireplace and paintings. While visitors exercise in the gym, the 24-hour staff can arrange airport shuttles to O.R. Tambo Airport, 27 km away. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Faircity Quatermain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faircity Quatermain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faircity Quatermain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.