We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honesty of staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Faircity Quatermain Hotel to your Saves list
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 West Road South, Morningside, Sandton 2057, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Honesty of staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed in a suite for 2 nights at a great price (2nd-4th December 2011). The suite is what you would expect from a classy hotel very comfortable and huge in size. Off from the sitting room is a private patio which was great to sit in while you read and just chill. The breakfast was good and served in pleasant surroundings.When it was time to go home and after a 5 hour trip I realised I had left my watch in the room.I phoned the hotel and they found it in the safe I thought I had lost it but was glad to hear that it was found. Because of my experience with this hotel I would go back gladly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Good Day Richard.

Thank you for the wonderful reply. We feel we have a fantastic team of staff and I am glad that this has shone through for you. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and hope your next stay will be as enjoyable.

Kind regards and Warm wishes.

Faircity Quatermain Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    43
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
22
5
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I've visited the hotel on 5 occasions this year, staying for a week at a time, and I have absolutely no complaints. The service has been exceptional at all times, and the staff are friendly and always willing to go the extra mile.

In addition to staying at the hotel, we made use of the conference facilities for the week, as well as buffet lunches and dinners. Conference facilities is what is expected of a conference facility, and the lunch & dinner menus were varied daily, and got you going up for seconds.

All in all, possibly the best hotel I've been too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Good day.

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you are a return visitor. We hope to see you again in the future and that we will continue to provide excellent service to you. Wishing you the very best for the holidays and 2012

Warm regards and best wishes
Faircity Quatermain Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I think this hotel can't be beaten in Sandton for it's price and level of service. The location is great, being not too far from anything in Sandton. The rooms are clean, service is great and friendly and the food is good. The provision of free wi-fi was greatly appreciated. The general amenities such as the gym and pool were also very adequate. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends staying in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Good day.

I would like to thank you for your kind review. We appreciate feedback from our guests. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Wishing you all the best from the Quatermain Team

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I've been staying here on business for 5 years (not continuously, obviously). I stay for a week or so, about 3 times a year. For a city hotel in this price bracket, this is my favourite hotel anywhere.

Located close enough to Sandton to be close to the action and yet remarkably tranquil. My work takes me out and about all across Jo'burg and returning here at the end of the day is like coming home. Also good food, friendly service, spotlessly clean, free Wi-Fi, spacious rooms, plenty of "public" areas to sit and work/read etc. and a decent gym.

One word of caution though; this hotel polarises people. One or two of my colleagues who've stayed here have found it too quiet and quite claustrophobic. I suppose it's a matter of personal taste. If you're a Marriot type of person and want nothing but a typical business hotel experience, then it's probably not for you. If you like stepping out of your room, breathing fresh air and seeing grass and trees, then it probably is. Personally, I find it a refreshing change to cookie-cutter corporate hotels.

I've not reviewed the Quatermain before because I'm selfish and didn't want to spread the word. However my conscience has got the better of me after 5 years!

Room Tip: Sorry, keeping this to myself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Guest Relations Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Good day.

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am very glad to hear that you are one of our regulars.

We appreciate all our regulars and when you are with us next please feel free to ask for me at reception as I like to meet our regulars and introduce myself and the Management of the hotel.

Again thank you kindly

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stay at this hotel on bussiness every month and find the quality of the rooms outstanding and the service from the staff is excellent

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Guest Relations Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Good day.

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate all feed back we receive from our guests. It is very nice to know that you are a return guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards

Rhys Downard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I only stayed for one night on business but after getting in late and tired from the flight, this hotel was a pleasant suprise. Not too expensive, nice room, good service with fine food. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Guest Relations Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Good Day.

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your support and hope to see you again in the future.

Wishing you all the best

Kind regards

Rhys Downard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We got caught up the snow debacle in London, and so we arrived a day late for our 1 night stay in the hotel. While stranded in another country, I was able to speak to the reservations department in the hotel and they were happy to change our reservation to the following day without charge. We were taken aback by this offer and appreciated it.

But we didn't get to spend long at the Hotel because we arrived at midnight thanks to our flight arriving late at night and an early flight the following morning which meant that we missed breakfast.

The aircon in the room was a godsend and the shower was very good.

Maybe next time we'll spend more than 5 hours there!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Guest Relations Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Good day.

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are always very happy to help our guests with their requests particularly when we understand the circumstances. It is unfortunate you were unable to stay with us for longer but hope that in your travels you will keep us in mind.

As always we are here for you. Even if you do not stay with us, pop in for a coffee and say hello.

Wishing you all the best in your travel experiences and hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Rhys Downard

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Faircity Quatermain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Address: 60 West Road South, Morningside, Sandton 2057, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Quatermain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 km from Sandton City, this hotel features a courtyard with a swimming pool and an award-winning restaurant. All rooms and suites come with air conditioning and a satellite LCD TV. Including free Wi-Fi, all accommodations at Faircity Qautermain Hotel in Johannesburg come with extra long beds and an electronic laptop safe. Some of the rooms and suites have a private balcony. A breakfast buffet is served daily on the courtyard terrace with its green parasols. The Sel et Poivre restaurant serves gourmet cuisine in a classic setting with a fireplace and paintings. While visitors exercise in the gym, the 24-hour staff can arrange airport shuttles to O.R. Tambo Airport, 27 km away. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Faircity Quatermain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faircity Quatermain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faircity Quatermain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.