We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well priced, great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Save Saved
You added Faircity Quatermain Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 West Road South, Morningside, Sandton 2057, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 hotels in Sandton
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A well priced, great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I think this hotel can't be beaten in Sandton for it's price and level of service. The location is great, being not too far from anything in Sandton. The rooms are clean, service is great and friendly and the food is good. The provision of free wi-fi was greatly appreciated. The general amenities such as the gym and pool were also very adequate. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends staying in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Good day.

I would like to thank you for your kind review. We appreciate feedback from our guests. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Wishing you all the best from the Quatermain Team

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    31
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
20
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I've been staying here on business for 5 years (not continuously, obviously). I stay for a week or so, about 3 times a year. For a city hotel in this price bracket, this is my favourite hotel anywhere.

Located close enough to Sandton to be close to the action and yet remarkably tranquil. My work takes me out and about all across Jo'burg and returning here at the end of the day is like coming home. Also good food, friendly service, spotlessly clean, free Wi-Fi, spacious rooms, plenty of "public" areas to sit and work/read etc. and a decent gym.

One word of caution though; this hotel polarises people. One or two of my colleagues who've stayed here have found it too quiet and quite claustrophobic. I suppose it's a matter of personal taste. If you're a Marriot type of person and want nothing but a typical business hotel experience, then it's probably not for you. If you like stepping out of your room, breathing fresh air and seeing grass and trees, then it probably is. Personally, I find it a refreshing change to cookie-cutter corporate hotels.

I've not reviewed the Quatermain before because I'm selfish and didn't want to spread the word. However my conscience has got the better of me after 5 years!

Room Tip: Sorry, keeping this to myself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Guest Relations Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Good day.

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am very glad to hear that you are one of our regulars.

We appreciate all our regulars and when you are with us next please feel free to ask for me at reception as I like to meet our regulars and introduce myself and the Management of the hotel.

Again thank you kindly

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stay at this hotel on bussiness every month and find the quality of the rooms outstanding and the service from the staff is excellent

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Guest Relations Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Good day.

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate all feed back we receive from our guests. It is very nice to know that you are a return guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards

Rhys Downard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I only stayed for one night on business but after getting in late and tired from the flight, this hotel was a pleasant suprise. Not too expensive, nice room, good service with fine food. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Guest Relations Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Good Day.

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your support and hope to see you again in the future.

Wishing you all the best

Kind regards

Rhys Downard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We got caught up the snow debacle in London, and so we arrived a day late for our 1 night stay in the hotel. While stranded in another country, I was able to speak to the reservations department in the hotel and they were happy to change our reservation to the following day without charge. We were taken aback by this offer and appreciated it.

But we didn't get to spend long at the Hotel because we arrived at midnight thanks to our flight arriving late at night and an early flight the following morning which meant that we missed breakfast.

The aircon in the room was a godsend and the shower was very good.

Maybe next time we'll spend more than 5 hours there!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Guest Relations Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Good day.

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are always very happy to help our guests with their requests particularly when we understand the circumstances. It is unfortunate you were unable to stay with us for longer but hope that in your travels you will keep us in mind.

As always we are here for you. Even if you do not stay with us, pop in for a coffee and say hello.

Wishing you all the best in your travel experiences and hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Rhys Downard

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Only booked a month or so before the World Cup due to an itinerary change. The staff were easy to deal with and friendly. The hotel is boutique in style and feel but modern in operations. The location is good, being 'suburban', but secure and near to downtown Sandton (5mins drive). The included breakfast was good and the room was spacious even for 2 adult males. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Front Office Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Lipaustralia,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Faircity Quatermain on Tripadvisor!
Since August 2011 we have been under new ownership and we hope you will come back to visit us soon.

Kind regards
Jane Patterson
On behalf of Faircity Quatermain Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Please keep your money with you at all times here, or use the safe. Housekeeping came to my room while I was at breakfast and stole money from my bag. This hotel seemed honest and a safe place to stay, but they saw me taking a long breakfast and decided to strike. I did not expect room service to come so early. The manager promised to investigate but we never heard a word back from them.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Front Office Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear jksKansas,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all reviews, both positive and negative as all feedback helps us to improve our service. Please accept my humble apologies for your poor experience that you had when you stayed here in 2010.
In August 2011 the hotels changed ownership & Management and are now part of the Faircity group. I hope that when you are next in Johannesburg you will give us another chance to impress you.

Kind regards
Jane Patterson on behalf of Faircity Quatermain Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Faircity Quatermain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Quatermain Hotel

Address: 60 West Road South, Morningside, Sandton 2057, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Quatermain Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 km from Sandton City, this hotel features a courtyard with a swimming pool and an award-winning restaurant. All rooms and suites come with air conditioning and a satellite LCD TV. Including free Wi-Fi, all accommodations at Faircity Qautermain Hotel in Johannesburg come with extra long beds and an electronic laptop safe. Some of the rooms and suites have a private balcony. A breakfast buffet is served daily on the courtyard terrace with its green parasols. The Sel et Poivre restaurant serves gourmet cuisine in a classic setting with a fireplace and paintings. While visitors exercise in the gym, the 24-hour staff can arrange airport shuttles to O.R. Tambo Airport, 27 km away. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Faircity Quatermain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faircity Quatermain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faircity Quatermain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.