We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good hotel for 4*” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Faircity Falstaff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Faircity Falstaff Hotel to your Saves list
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Rivonia Road | Morningside, Sandton, Sandton 2128, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Brasov, Romania
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“a good hotel for 4*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I spent only two days and after Kruger park others two days since I took a longer circuit in South Africa. A very good breakfast. Friendly staff, but everyone is moving very slowly for a rush tourist.
It hasn't rooms for smokers.
An outdoor pool small but clean.
A beautifully landscaped interior garden.

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique C, Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear adi035,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and its grounds.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Faircity Falstaff Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
5
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

When I stayed in Morningside before it was always at the Quatermaine (the sister hotel just around the corner). But, there have been staff movements and guess what? I get my 2 poached eggs on 1 brown without asking - same cook. I get my decaf straight away - same waitress. A chocolate appears on my pillow every day - same housekeeping. Same smile every time I go past reception and same greeting at the entrance - same receptionist and same concierge. Would I go back to the Quatermaine again? What for - my South African family is here at the Falstaff. Quiet, clean, excellent food and drink, central to the universe - what more could you want when you have put in a hard day at the office?

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a suite, especially if you are spending GBP or $US
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Front Office Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear AndyKirk,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Faircity Falstaff on TripAdvisor!
We appreciate all feedback from our guests and even more so from our regular guests!

The restaurant at the Faircity Falstaff, Le Petit Sel, was taken over by the owner of the Quatermain Restaurant (Coco Reinarhz) just over a year ago which is why the faces are all familiar to our Quatermain clients! As with the hotel staff, the restaurant staff now work at both properties.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at the Falstaff and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Jane Patterson on behalf of Faircity Falstaff Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Pure class from the foyer, to the room to the food, the service, my word!! I have never felt so special at breakfast, I am grumpy morning person, but they got me out of my funk with the greeting, just being noticed is amazing sometimes. The breakfast goes on for hours, make the time, there is a lot to think about in that buffet, I certainly took my time!

You are not far away from Oxford Road but yet you are far enough to feel protected, hidden, away from the maddening crowds. There is an upmarket shopping centre up the road at the intersection, you can walk there if you like for a different meal if you feel closed up in the hotel. I really loved this place!

I ordered room service and they had big conference so the order took long and I decided to cancel, the next thing I knew there was a man on my door with a plate of food (no charge) to "comfort" me and apologise for the misunderstanding, this is why I am booked to stay with them for 14 days in my next trip to Jo'burg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Front Office Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear liyabee,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give the faircity Falstaff this wonderful review on Trip Advisor! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

On your next stay please do ask for Jaco Steyn our General Manager or myself as we would very much like to meet you!

Kind regards,
Jane Patterson on behalf of Faircity Falstaff Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed at the Falstaf around ten years ago and loved it so much that I stopped in Johannesburg en route to Nairobi especially so I could come back to the Falstaff. It is still the most homely and comfortable place I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in some of the best places in the world.

The staff were welcoming, the premises just lovely, my room divine, the extra little touches like the smellies in my room, everything made to keep this as one of my all time favourites. Dont come if you want glitz. This is a very "genuine" place, with real people and all the comforts of a very nice home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Front Office Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear poohtravel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give the Faircity Falstaff such a wonderful Trip Advisor review!

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoy our hotel and our "Home from Home" atmosphere and that you stopped past our wonderful city just to visit us again! We hope to see you again soon and when you are next here please do ask for myself or our General Manager as we would love to meet you!

Kind regards
Jane Patterson on behalf of Faircity Falstaff Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Staying here for a month whilst on a course. The rooms modern and well appointed with comfortable beds. The staff are pleasant and go out of their way to help. There is free wifi thorough the hotel and a hotel shuttle to the local stations. The restaurant is very good and the there is a splendid breakfast. There is also a pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Front Office Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Iain Y

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Faircity Falstaff on Trip Advisor!
We greatly value all feedback and are very pleased to hear that you are enjoying your stay with us!

Kind regards
Jane Patterson on behalf of Faircity Falstaff Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This is my first choice when saying in Jo'burg. I have stayed at the Falstaff couple of times and always everything was simply perfect. clean rooms, friendly satff, splendid breakfast and a great reastaurant.
I am a frequent traveller, spending on average 2 - 4 nights a week in hotels and always looking for a boutique type of hotel like the Falstaff and not one of the big international hotel chains...
Was recommend this one couple of years ago by a friend and will never go elsewhere - if only the Falstaff is available. I think I like it even more then their second one - the quartermain...

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Front Office Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Michalt74,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Falstaff on Trip Advisor!
We value all feedback we receive and are very pleased that you are one of our regular guests and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards
Jane Patterson on behalf of Faircity Falstaff Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Often stay here for a night per week and far prefer to its sister hotel the quatermain. Yes people are not mad about the hill to the parking but I find this hotel has rooms exactly the same as the quatermain, they are not so spread out and the food is just as good. Try the beef prime rib. Less expensive than most hotels and whilst adjoining Rivonia road it is hardly heard. Would recommend anytime

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Front Office Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear tnick48,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Falstaff on Trip Advisor!
We greatly appreciate all feedback we receive and are thrilled to hear that you are one of our regular guests! The menu at Le Petit Sel is great value for money and I am pleased that you enjoy it.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards
Jane Patterson on behalf of Faircity Falstaff Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Faircity Falstaff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Falstaff Hotel

Address: 223 Rivonia Road | Morningside, Sandton, Sandton 2128, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#4 Business Hotel in Sandton
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Falstaff Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush gardens, this hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with a flat-screen satellite TV. It features an outdoor pool and a restaurant with a terrace. Free Wi-Fi is available on site. A minibar and an iron are in Faircity’s spacious rooms. Each comes with a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Wooden furniture and white linens are part of the modern classic décor. Breakfast is served daily in the restaurant. Room service, including breakfast, is also available. Guests can relax with a drink by the fireplace in the lounge or on the terrace. Sandton City is just 2 km from Faircity Falstaff Hotel. The O.R. Tambo International Airport is 27 km away, and a shuttle can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Faircity Falstaff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falstaff Hotel Johannesburg
Faircity Falstaff Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faircity Falstaff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.