We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - but in the suburbs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Faircity Falstaff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Faircity Falstaff Hotel to your Saves list
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Rivonia Road | Morningside, Sandton, Sandton 2128, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Sydney
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - but in the suburbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in the hotel. The staff are very friendly and the inclusive breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. The rooms are of average size and we had free Wi-Fi which was a positive. There is a gym and a great pool area where you can also get a drink. The hotel has excellent security. The rooms are dark especially if you are on the ground floor.

The bathrooms are proficient. It is strange having a liquid soap dispenser in a 5 star boutique hotel. The bathroom is also small. The rooms have a deodoriser smell which is not nice - could be that they need to do this as the windows seem always to be closed. The hotel is more of a business hotel and is not near the shopping area (Sandton or Rosebank). If you stay here you will need a car.
The accommodation is good value - but not luxurious.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaircityQuatermain, Front Office Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Eric,

Thank you for your review and your positive comments on the hotel, we are very pleased that you enjoyed our facilities.

We are actually a Four Star Hotel and we use the liquid soap as many of our guests enjoy it. Should you prefer bar soap we do have it availabale at reception. When a room is not occupied we keep the windows closed as a security measure. We have a complimentary shuttle to transfer guests within a 5km radius and we also have the Morningside shopping centre down the road, it is about a 2 minute walk.

You are corrected in saying that we are positioned in the market as a business hotel. The Faircity group has many properties to suit different needs. All you need do is contact us and tell us what you want and we can make a recommendation.


Kind regards,
Jane Patterson on behalf of Faircity Falstaff Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
5
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I have stayed at the falstaff many times And every time it was excellent.
I stayed once again in feb 2012 and from the time I arrived at the reception, the quality of the service was excellent. I was early however I was able to move into my room within 20 minutes.
Whilst I am there, I have meetings in the lounge area and this works very well as the staff are always on hand to arrange refreshments. The bar is ably managed and well stocked.
The breakfast range is very good and as always, one is able to request any type of egg from the friendly staff.
In my visits over the past 17 years to sandton (Johannesburg) I stayed at a well known chain hotel, however two years ago the falstaff was recommended and I have now stayed there on five different occasions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaircityQuatermain, Front Office Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear frankhawk,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our property, we are thrilled to hear that you are one of our regular guests and that you enjoy staying with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Jane Patterson on behalf of Faircity Falstaff Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeerust
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed over one night before we took our flight out to the Seychelles. The Staff was great, friendly and helpfull. Before hand I organised roses and bubbly for the room. This was all done by the Falstaff without question. Room service was helpfull and very punctual. Free WI-Fi in the room was also a bonus.
awesome way to start the honeymoon or just to stay over!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Front Office Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear AndreM,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I trust that you had a wonderful Honeymoon!
I am very pleased that we helped you get your married life off to a good start and I hope that
for your anniversary one year you will come and stay with us again!

Kindest regards
Jane Patterson On behalf of Faircity Falstaff Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

my sister and i stayed here after traveling on the Shongololo Express. our room was very comfortable, and the food and staff were wonderful. the location was very convenient, and we evjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P, Front Office Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear CanadaFlashpackers,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Faircity Falstaff on Tripadvisor! I am very pleased that your room and food were to your liking, should you ever be "flashpacking"in Johannesburg again I hope you will come and visit us!

Warm regards
Jane Patterson on behalf of Faircity Falstaff Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We found this hotel stunning, decor, pool, restaurant were all excellent. Our room was beautiful, though rather small. Dining staff were outstanding and the meals beautiful, though for $300 Aud per night this was to be expected. We had booked a tour to Sowetto through the receptionist. Ended up being left in Sowetto for lunch and our driver failed to collect us. A bit unnerving in this area! Nothing much to see locally, a shopping mall within safe walking distance.

Room Tip: balcony a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Good day.

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all reviews from our guests. The Faircity group has many properties to suit different guests need. All you need do is contact us, tell us what you want and we can make a recommendation. We are very glad to here that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards and best wishes from the Faircity Falstaff team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

I feel like I must have stayed at a different hotel than what my fellow reviewers have reported! One of the downsides of booking with a tour is that you don’t know what kind of hotel you’ll get until you get it. After spending a week at a fabulous hotel with high-quality food and spectacular service in Cape Town, I was incredibly disappointed with the Falstaff. The staff were all friendly, and the rooms were nice and quiet with easy-to-reach outlets, which is always a plus, but that’s about all I can say about the Falstaff. If you’re a single business traveler, the Falstaff may be perfect for a one-night stopover, but for long-haul travelers like myself, it just didn’t suffice.

Like all other hotels on the continent that I have stayed at, there is no alarm clock, so make sure you have a travel alarm. There were also no tissues, which I found very unusual and disappointing. The towels were also pretty small and weak, and there was no laundry line in the tub or anywhere really to dry clothes. Like other hotels I’ve experienced on the continent, the shower barrier didn’t do much from keeping the water from leaking all over the bathroom floor, creating puddles.

The worst part, though, was the level of cleanliness. On the surface, the hotel seemed fairly clean, but if you look closely, you’ll see that it’s really not, and the floor was so filthy that the bottoms of my feet turned black after walking around with no shoes on.

The food was equally bad. We arrived late and had dinner in the hotel. The food was OK for dinner, but the breakfast was just awful. There was a small buffet of foods that looked like they had been sitting out for days. I was afraid to eat anything besides the bread from the buffet. There was also a cook making eggs to order, which was a nice touch, although the scrambled eggs were still pretty raw and runny.

I realize that some details are more important than others to different people, but it is paying attention to all of the small details that makes a hotel worth staying at or not, in my opinion. The Falstaff has the appearance of being a nice hotel, but when you examine the details closely, you see that it’s not very good. And worst of all, the cost of the extra night that wasn’t included in our tour could have gotten us a 5-star hotel somewhere else.

Sorry to say, I don’t recommend the Falstaff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Guest Relations Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Good day.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our properties and are very concerned. We have put your response forward to the Housekeeping department, Restaurant and the General Manager. We appreciate all feedback from our guests.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011 via mobile

Rooms are very clean, fresh and new. Large rooms with large bedwith crisp white bedding. Room service is quick and effortless! Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysQTM, Guest Relations Manager at Faircity Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Good day.

Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Wishing you the best

Kind Regards

Rhys Downard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Faircity Falstaff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Falstaff Hotel

Address: 223 Rivonia Road | Morningside, Sandton, Sandton 2128, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#4 Business Hotel in Sandton
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Falstaff Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush gardens, this hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with a flat-screen satellite TV. It features an outdoor pool and a restaurant with a terrace. Free Wi-Fi is available on site. A minibar and an iron are in Faircity’s spacious rooms. Each comes with a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Wooden furniture and white linens are part of the modern classic décor. Breakfast is served daily in the restaurant. Room service, including breakfast, is also available. Guests can relax with a drink by the fireplace in the lounge or on the terrace. Sandton City is just 2 km from Faircity Falstaff Hotel. The O.R. Tambo International Airport is 27 km away, and a shuttle can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Faircity Falstaff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falstaff Hotel Johannesburg
Faircity Falstaff Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faircity Falstaff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.