We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience... every time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Remo's Maximilliano

Remo's Maximilliano
Waterfall Corner, Corner of Maxwell and Woodmead Dr, Sandton 2191, South Africa
83 795 6979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 133 Restaurants in Sandton
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great experience... every time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Attentive staff, great food, amazingly different ambiance and puddings to die for, make this a good choice for an evening out. With friends, family, or just for coffee, it's been a great experience on -very occasion. I can even recommend the bakery. Well baked with stone ground flour, each type of bread I've tried has been good, if a little doughy.

Only downside? It's a little pricey, but worth it for guaranteed, good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    15
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Very new, trendy and noisey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had a table for ten for Sunday lunch - you had to literally scream to be heard and the waiters were rushed off their feet. That said, decor different, airy, light interesting - Menu usual Italian fare - food, OK, although presentation rustic to say the least - service under the circumstances, being the new kid on the block, they are coping well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fresh approach and quite special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

In my ultimate quest to find a new, reasonable restaurant on my side of town, (within crawling distance from Kyalami), I decided to give Remo's in the new Waterfall Corner Center. WOW. What an experience. Ecclectic and chic. While I couldn't quite put my finger on the decor theme (somewhere between a man cave and parisian restaurant in the Italian side of New York), it was fantastic. Interesting artefacts and memorabilia deck the walls. I can only describe it as an Imaginarium.
The restaurant, if the get the lighting right is perfect sized. Not soo big or small. The long bar is hooded by clear windows above where the operational bakery is in full mix.
The young chefs move around the floor, talking to clients and showing their quirky enthusiasm for the offering. It's a fresh take on other establishments where the head chef is kept in the back somewhere, away from the clients.. which often is a good thing.. I've met some chefs..
The menu is original. The food is surprising and we'll prepared with fine selects of streak and meat.
I ordered the "Mamba fillet" which was a triumph in itself.
The offering of microbrew and imported beers is nothing to be sneezed at. But keep an eye on the pricing.
Remo's is a gem and I look forward to making it my local..

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a new Restaurant in the recently completed Shopping Centre in Waterfall Estate. The Décor is 50's Classic, comfortable ambience and the courteous Service great! The Food was absolutely delicious and we can highly recommend this. We shall be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“little Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The decor makes you feel like you are in a small town in Italy.
The food, albeit a bit pricey is absolutely fantastic, their pizza is out of this world!
The staff are very friendly and the service is excellent.
I highly recommend this place, especially if you want something different from all the other restaurants in Midrand.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Remo's Maximilliano also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Remo's Maximilliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Remo's Maximilliano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.