We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Empire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Capital Empire to your Saves list
The Capital Empire
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   177 Empire Place, cnr Rivonia Road | Sandhurst, Sandton 2146, South Africa (Formerly Empire Executive Apartments and Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Bulawayo
1 review
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I were keen to spend a few days 'away', shopping and eating out, with our son who was home from university on holiday. It was our anniversary so I casually requested a 'nice' apartment with a view.

GM Garnet Basson and his team surprised us by decorating the apartment for us beautifully, romanticising the setting with appropriate decor, decadent chocolate treat, non-alcoholic champagne [we don't drink hence coincidentally most appropriate!] beautifully worded card.

This is going down in our memory as very special treatment, marking our 25th wedding anniversary so specially. Needless to say, my family shall forever be indebted to Mr. Basson and his motivated team. Thank You.

May Team Empire attain the success it deserves.

Best Wishes for the future of this beautiful establishment.

Manish & Rupal Mithal

Room Tip: Large Rooms, Beautifully Apppinted, Large Rooms with Views, King Extra Length Beds, Beautiful Bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnedette, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Empire, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear “Mr. & Mrs. Mithal”,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on such a special occasion. It was a true pleasure to spoil you a little and it is wonderful to know that we have added to your life time memory.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Burnedette Jordaan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
9
3
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Empire Executive Apartments and Hotel offers very good and modern accommodation. From the airport easy acces with the Gautrain and a hotel shuttle. The location is perfect! In the center of Johannesburg, next to Sandton.
Professional staff. Good restaurants and pool and for business ttravelers, conference rooms, fitness centre etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnedette, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Empire, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear “Alexandravanwin”,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our beautiful property. It was an honour hosting you and your family and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Burnedette Jordaan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I am told that this establishment is a five star rating. Clearly I did not get the memo because five star ratings are not what they used to be. I would rate this as four star at a stretch. The design is exquisite and the receptionist on arrival was excellent. I had never been here but he called me on my first name, impressive. He even moved my room to a better location, as this was my first visit. The food in the restaurant was better than other establishments in the group, actually very good. The furniture in the restaurant is beautiful but not practical and I can predict now already that it is going to look well used after a year or so.

In the room I had no remote control and no instruction book on arrival. I also tried to dial the front desk and the number simply rang so I called the hotel from my cellphone to ask for the missing remote.

My other comments on the room are designed for the benefit of the management team and shareholders. The design of the room is good and well intended; in fact it is very good. The execution is poor mainly due to the low quality of the furnishings and poor workmanship. For example the bedding is not good quality linen. The rug in the room is looking as though it was bought in China town and already looking sad after two months. The tiles have been cut with a blunt blade or under qualified tiller. The grouting in-between the tiles is of an inconsistent color. The sliding glass door on the bathroom is very noisy. The mirror frame on the wall is warped and I could go on and on, clearly somebody was not doing his or her job properly as a project manager. And again the floors are ice cold so bring your own slippers as the hotel does not supply these. I will stay here again but lets all understand that this place is not what it was intended to be and lets charge a fair room rate. Holistically I still rate 20 West as the best in the EAH group of apartments.

Room Tip: Bring your own slippers and secure a good rate. I would recommend the restaurant as a good place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnedette, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Empire, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Mr. “GrantH490”,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at Empire Executive Apartments and Hotel. I can assure you that your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to consistently improve our product and service standards.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Your feedback is certainly not reflective of the levels of service and product standards we strive to offer to every single guest of our hotel and your feedback is seen in a very serious light. We will be getting our project manager in to inspect the room you stayed in and take necessary corrective action.

Guest feedback forms a vital part of our business and the input we receive from our guests is imperative for us to ensure that your expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know whether you leave our establishment completely satisfied, but more importantly, leave disappointed and dissatisfied!

Thank you for assisting us in our ongoing drive for quality and enabling us to improve the hospitality offered to our guests.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated. I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again and welcoming you to the Empire Executive Apartments and Hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Burnedette Jordaan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magaliesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Welcome and check in from the staff was extreemly helpfull, rooms are lovely and clean with great appliances and ameneties. Breakfast was delicious and overall our stay was thoroughly enjoyable - thank you and we will be back!!

Room Tip: 412 , 413 & 414 are spacious, interleading yet private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnedette, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Empire, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear “Rebecca769”,

Thank you for the excellent review. It is truly wonderful to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We are definitely looking forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Burnedette Jordaan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here twice now, thinking the first experience was just down to teething problems due to recent opening, but second was worse than first.
Service is poor, you get the sense that the staff are not well trained, are not exceptional or experienced in luxury accommodation and still a lot of repairs and checks that interfere with guests privacy.
The last straw was when I had to take a shower ahead of an important meeting with a bucket and bottles of water - I had to ask and find out at the last minute that there was a burst water pipe, so the hotel had no running water, though blamed on a municipal problem and could be down to bad luck....just to many issues came up on both visits.....I would advise the hotel be closed, rechecked, rehire and relaunched.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnedette, General Manager at The Capital Empire, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
ear “Michael A”

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with the Empire Executive Apartments and Hotel.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced in regards to the water shortage.Unfortunately this matter was completely out of the hotel’s control and we took all possible steps to resolve this as quickly as possible.

Please also accept my sincerest apologies in regard to the poor service you have experienced during your stay. This is certainly not reflective of the levels of service standards we strive to offer every single guest of our hotel and I assure you that all necessary corrective measures will be taken to resolve this.

Guest feedback forms a vital part of our business and the input we receive from our guests is imperative for us to ensure that your expectations are being met and exceeded.
Without your comments, we would never know whether you leave our establishment completely satisfied, but more importantly, leave disappointed and dissatisfied!

Thank you for assisting us in our ongoing drive for quality and enabling us to improve the hospitality offered to our guests.

I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again and welcoming you to the Empire Executive Apartments and Hotel again soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Garnet Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Hotel opened about a month ago, well located in Sandton, behind the American Embassy and a short walk from the Gautrain. Also walking distance to the Sandton City and Sandton Square shopping malls, which means you have access to some of the best restaurants and shopping on offer. Hotel is great for business trips and leisure. I stayed in a normal double room, beautifully furnished and nice big shower. Room has a balcony and a safe in the room. Food served very good, dining room is on the ground floor with option of outside setting next to a swimming pool. Gym on the first floor. Comfortable bed, amenities in room. Will definitely stay here again and highly recommend (and not badly priced considering it is Sandton)

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Looking for a fresh and new experience this hotel is it, new this opened a day to my checking. Everything is perfect and lovely, there breakfast good. Staying for 5days there is worth it. The staff are very courteous and trained for the job. The location is very good and accessible to anywhere is just on the major rood.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnedette, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Empire, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear “Bolaji O”,

Thank you so much for writing the first review about our beautiful new property.
We truly appreciate the kind words and are very proud to know that we have lived up to your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Burnedette Jordaan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capital Empire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Empire

Address: 177 Empire Place, cnr Rivonia Road | Sandhurst, Sandton 2146, South Africa (Formerly Empire Executive Apartments and Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Capital Empire 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay cosmopolitan. Stay where you count. Choose to stay where you'll be embraced by an atmosphere of easy-going cosmopolitan class. The Capital Empire combines crisp, colourful, contemporary design with spaciousness and simplicity to give you a sense of energy at ease. Sit back in luxury and style. Get up and go. It's all up to you when you stay at the supremely stylish Empire - because you are literally a short stroll away from Sandton City. The Capital Empire puts the world at your feet - with everything you need, including a spa treatment room, outdoor swimming pool, spacious fitness centre and South Africa's gold standard shopping centre and commercial district on your doorstep, nothing could be easier. Stay in a choice of standard rooms, executive rooms, one/ two/ three bedroom apartments or two/three/four bedroom penthouses. While staying with us guests enjoy complimentary parking, complimentary scheduled transfers to Sandton and complimentary Wi-Fi access to put the world at your fingertips. The Capital Empire is the perfect place for professionals to conduct business and for corporates to host conferences. With an arrival lounge, changing room facilities and conference hub that can accommodate up to 250 delegates across three boardrooms and one meeting room, each venue is fully equipped with state-of-the-art technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Capital Empire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capital Empire Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Empire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.