We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet, clean and safe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Elegance in Bryanston

Cape Elegance in Bryanston
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Elegance in Bryanston to your Saves list
Cape Elegance in Bryanston
19 John St Bryanston Santon 8001 | Bryanston, Sandton 2004, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 64 Sandton B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“quiet, clean and safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Our family stayed several nights in this B&B. The place is clean and in a quiet and safe area. The owners were also very friendly and helpful with all kind of good advice and tips. Our 2 bedroom unit was spacious enough for the 5 of us.

Small pool and free wifi available and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
230 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Cape Elegance guesthouse was a delightful place to stay for a few nights. The grounds are beautiful and very relaxing with lots of trees, birds and grassy lawns and a small swimming pool. The Bryanston location is nice, one of the safest suburbs of Joburg, and you can walk/run around the streets without feeling threatened. It is only a short 5min walk up to the corner shops and restaurants where I ate most of my meals, and the Sandton City mall complex is only a 10min drive away.

The room was large and roomy with a sitting area, computer desk, and small kitchenette, well maintained and spotlessly clean. The room wasn’t very soundproof, but fortunately the area was very quiet and I had good, undisturbed sleeps. The TV was fairly old and received only a few channels and some of the buttons on the remote control weren’t working. The Wifi internet was free however the connection was so bad from my room that it was basically non-functional, a bit of a disappointment. I was visiting in winter while there were sub-zero nights and the heater in the room couldn’t cope with it, thus I spent much of the time just trying to keep warm. Fortunately there were lots of extra blankets for the bed! The breakfasts were great and freshly cooked – something to look forward to every morning. The hosts were extremely friendly, helpful, and hospitable which really made the stay pleasant.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay and I would stay here again given the chance. Highly recommended to other travelers and good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Cape Elegance is lovely and very well kept. The couple who run it are extremely welcoming and helpful, the rooms are spacious and clean and the breakfasts are very good. The only problem is the dog. It barks early in the morning when it's let out, so any chance of a little lie in is shattered. Especially harsh if you have a small child who still wakes you up at night. Would recommend this to friends with no children

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Immaculate grounds to walk around. You may sit on the back porch and watch the many different birds fly in to the various feeders situated throughout the property. The hosts were very gracious and helpful in answering questions about the area and what attractions to see. Large clean rooms and bathroom facilities.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Dear Fellow Traveller

The Cape Elegance was great and I will return. Here is my story.......

I was very surprised when I got there, had to drive around a bit but into a little lane and there it was, a perfect little place. Drove from Lanseria airport to the guest house and as I got there a warm welcome awaited me with some Earl Grey tea under the trees in the garden.

The rooms were spacious. The bathroom was clean large and comfy. The garden was spectacular. If you have kids its a great place to let them run around in and exhaust themselves throughout the day. I had a few family members over and my little niece had a ball in the garden.

The pool area was central, fenced off which was great, even better was that it was a heated pool. Thoroughly enjoyed my self and the breakfast was great.

I was very welcomed at the Cape Elegance and will return to such great service and hospitality.

The hosts really did make it so comfortable, they are a great couple and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Elegance in Bryanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Elegance in Bryanston

Address: 19 John St Bryanston Santon 8001 | Bryanston, Sandton 2004, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Elegance in Bryanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Elegance In Bryanston Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Elegance in Bryanston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.