We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improvement from last year !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Sun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Sun to your Saves list
Sandton Sun
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Improvement from last year !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Attended annual conference, and am happy to say there was a marked improvement overall when compared to my last stay. Breakfast buffet was superb. Room was fine although the shower wasn't working properly and I had to use the hand shower.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for staying with us and for noticing the improvements from your last visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    136
    58
    13
    9
See reviews for
42
61
24
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The Sandton sun was typical of a well established hotel in a very central location in Sandton. It is right next to Nelson Mandela square but then again , so are other hotels like the intercontinental which are connected with a flyover between the buildings. It is maybe a 5-10 minute walk across the indoor access walkway into the shopping mall next door. I was staying there for almost a week so it was important to have the amenities and services required for a comfortable stay.

Here we go the pros and cons:

Pros:
- Large sized, clean rooms with comfortable furnishings and some modern amenities e.g.
coffee machine, large electronic in room safe, etc
- Friendly staff , quick responses to requests made at any hour of the day.
- Wifi was fast but allocation needs upgrading, as mentioned in the cons later on.
- In room dining was great, food was well prepared
- Business suites on the 6th floor gave a good venue to have meetings, but only 1 hour per
day is allowed free of charge. Additional time is charged at ZAR 300 per hour which is
expensive. I did use the room for a meeting and it was well setup, so would recommend it.
- Bar with an outdoor patio had good entertainment (music, live music , DJ) in the evenings,
large fireplace setup due to it being winter it was helpful as nights get cold in Johannesburg
then.
- Location is excellent, close to shopping. The hotel provides free shuttle service within a few
hotels in sandton so guests don't have to walk around at night.

Cons:
- EXPENSIVE :-) The breakfast in room dining option is not well designed because you can only buy a set menu, instead of A La Carte options so it becomes overwhelming for a morning breakfast if you just want eggs and toast to have to order options from a set menu

- the Wifi is actually not free as it only gives 750 MB per day as an allocation free of charge, anything above that is subject to charges so the guest needs to buy the extra usage.

- The indoor design of the hotel is built like a hollow shell with 20 floors of rooms so the sounds from the lobby carries up at night. If its a busy night then the noise might be an issue as i could hear the guests talking and laughing at a higher floor on 2 nights i was there.

All in all, a good stay but definitely expensive so if i was staying for longer than 4 days, i would plan to spend some additional cash on the dining and amenities. The pros' outweigh the cons so i would rate this hotel as a place i would stay again if i visited Johannesburg.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to avoid noise from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is vitally important for us to hear your views as it is through this that we are able to make changes and improve in the direction our customers' desires.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaubassin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I'm so pleased with my stay at Sandton Sun. It's a very good hotel. Will recommand it strongly. The breakfast was really good. The people were very friendly and I received a warm welcom. The hotel is very well located.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us.

Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

Warmest regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The property had excellent accommodations for business/group travelers. As a female traveler i felt very safe in the accommodations. The open center atrium was a delightful and energetic space to enjoy dining and meeting with colleagues. The only negative aspect was the lack of lighting in the room.

Room Tip: no adjoining rooms so ask for rooms that are on the same floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us.

Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

Warmest regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very nice classy hotel. Comfortable, spacious rooms with friendly staff. Breakfast is really good and I especially enjoyed the variety with smoked salmon, fruits, pastries and even oysters! The hotel is close to the Gautrain station as well. Overall a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the elevator if you can, it can be a long walk if it is on the other end as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us.

Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

Warmest regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My family of 5 went during the June Holidays to Sandton Sun. The staff were really wonderful and the breakfast was excellent. Alhough the hotel is more a corporate hotel, we loved the atmosphere and the hotel is linked to the Sandton Mall and Nelson Mandela Square. Breakfast was excellent and my 3 kids ate for free. The rooms were absolutely comfortable. I will go back to Sandton Sun any day

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us.

Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

Warmest Regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Very good a overall. Thank you for allowing me to focus on my work.
I visited Johannesburg for business. And insist on Sandton sun. In addition to being close to Mandela square. A plaza with many restaurants that is relatively safe. The service is great compared to what I have experienced in Johannesburg. Staff are courteous as long as you are kind to them ;-)
South Africans in general will not let anyone get away with disrespectful attitudes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us.

Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service that we offer.

Warmest Regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sandton Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.