We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Sun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Sun to your Saves list
Sandton Sun
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great business accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The property had excellent accommodations for business/group travelers. As a female traveler i felt very safe in the accommodations. The open center atrium was a delightful and energetic space to enjoy dining and meeting with colleagues. The only negative aspect was the lack of lighting in the room.

Room Tip: no adjoining rooms so ask for rooms that are on the same floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us.

Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

Warmest regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    135
    58
    13
    9
See reviews for
42
61
24
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Polokwane, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very nice classy hotel. Comfortable, spacious rooms with friendly staff. Breakfast is really good and I especially enjoyed the variety with smoked salmon, fruits, pastries and even oysters! The hotel is close to the Gautrain station as well. Overall a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the elevator if you can, it can be a long walk if it is on the other end as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us.

Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

Warmest regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My family of 5 went during the June Holidays to Sandton Sun. The staff were really wonderful and the breakfast was excellent. Alhough the hotel is more a corporate hotel, we loved the atmosphere and the hotel is linked to the Sandton Mall and Nelson Mandela Square. Breakfast was excellent and my 3 kids ate for free. The rooms were absolutely comfortable. I will go back to Sandton Sun any day

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us.

Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

Warmest Regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Very good a overall. Thank you for allowing me to focus on my work.
I visited Johannesburg for business. And insist on Sandton sun. In addition to being close to Mandela square. A plaza with many restaurants that is relatively safe. The service is great compared to what I have experienced in Johannesburg. Staff are courteous as long as you are kind to them ;-)
South Africans in general will not let anyone get away with disrespectful attitudes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us.

Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service that we offer.

Warmest Regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager

Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

It is a easy and very good business hotel at Sandton, good services, near to the train, very friendly people and that`s the important point. To the train station I need 10min max. Good view from the room, not cheap!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Review

Thank you for your positive feedback and also for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to see you on many future occasions.

We appreciate your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had wonderful stay, It was my husband's birthday, The hotel surprised him with a bottle of champagne and a desert platter that read "Happy birthday". Later in the evening we got more surprises!!. the room was decorated with rose petals and more chocolates!!.
We were very spoiled and humbled by the attention we received.!!
We are very grateful to Sandton Sun and we look forward to staying with you soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

Thank you for your positive feedback and also for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to see you on many future occasions.

We appreciate your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stay here regularly for work. It's a nice area of the city with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. Hotel facilities are excellent and has a walkway leading right into the shopping mall.

Everything about the hotel is impressive from the hotel lobby to the luxurious spacious room. Great coffee machines in rooms too!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrPDavidson, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer

Thank you for your positive feedback and also for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to see you on many future occasions.

We appreciate your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Peter Davidson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.