We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Signs of Aging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Sun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Sun to your Saves list
Sandton Sun
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Signs of Aging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel is well situated for anyone visiting Sandton. Staff was friendly and helpful. You get the sense that the Hotel has lost some of its charm over the years. The rooms are well equipped yet no longer as appealing. The entrance hall is very impressive with the lifts facing into the entrance. Breakfast was not up to par. Oily croissants poor selection of cold meats and no service from breakfast staff. There are better 4 star hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

I noticed that you did not find the hotel to a level which we would feel is appropriate and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for this. Rest assured this will be addressed and rectified with the teams concerned.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not to distant future.

Warmest regards

Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    135
    58
    13
    9
See reviews for
42
61
24
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I spent 4 nights at this hotel, whilst doing some work at the Sandton Convention Centre. Quality of service was high, the food was delicious and my room was great. There was some construction noise from across the road, but it didnt really disturb me. The San Deck bar/restaurant is a great place to meet friends and catch up.

Location is great, next to Nelson Mandela Square, with plenty of other restaurants to choose from. If you do go to the square, check out Lekgotla - a great SA restaurant. I recommend the Bushmans platter!!

I would recommend this hotel for family or business traveler.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other Travellers. We truly value your thoughts and will take great pleasure out of sharing this with our team.

If there was anything further, however small which could have enhanced your stay or would improve on your next stay please feel free to drop me a short e mail.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warm Regards
Brett Davidge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

extremely badly maintained a hotel..........carpets were smelly..........the front desk staff extremely polite but the room service and house keeping very rude and seem dissatisfied with their jobs.........the phones don't have a housekeeping button and every time you call room service button they ask you to please remember 5151 to call housekeeping...........I MEAN WHO HAS THE TIME TO REMEMBER YOUR HOUSE KEEPING NOS......the housekeeping woman unravels 3 rooms leaves them dirty and has a target to finish all by 2pm, one day in between my meetings I came back to use the loo and the room was the biggest mess one can find...........I wonder how the south African cricket team is made to stay here.......please use hotel Michelangelo across the road.........or hotels down the road or the intercontinental adjacent.....highly disappointed with this hotel

Room Tip: please stay here only if you are left with no choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your views with other travellers and for staying with us at Sandton Sun.

Please accept my sincere apologies that your stay with us was not to your or our expectations. You have raised some important points which I will ensure are addressed. I am sorry our telephone set up does not include a housekeeping function, this number is printed in our directory of services but it is a fustration we are aware of and will ensure is resolved as soon as possible. I will also ensure our Executive Housekeeper is made aware of your comments so we can address this quickly with the team.

I thank you again for your feedback and rest assured we will use this in our ongoing pursuit to exceed our customers expectations.

Warmest regards

Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Use the deck regularly and am impressed by the service and friendliness of staff. Often the area is full but staff always make a plan and manage to find a table. The snacks are tasty and the view one of the best in Sandton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other Travellers. We truly value your thoughts and will take great pleasure out of sharing this with our team.

If there was anything further, however small which could have enhanced your stay or would improve on your next stay please feel free to drop me a short e mail.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warm Regards
Brett Davidge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel might be well located right in this huge mall, but it's getting old, wifi isn't free, and electric plugs are to be found, nothing close to the bed, and only 1 on the desk, this isn't right when you have smartphones, laptop, tablet etc.
didn't check the food.
The security cards gave me hard times, as they are needed in the elevators to reach your level, and work randomly, same thing for the rooms, I had to change the card 3 times in 2 days :-/
To my bad luck, my room was on the construction site side, wake up 7.30 am with that noise isn't a good way to start a day in my opinion.

Room Tip: Avoid the construction site side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for staying with us recently at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Please accept our sincere apologies that your time with us was not to your or our expectations. Many of the hotel areas have been refurbished and there is a refurbishment scheduled later this year which we hope will eliminate any concerns you may have. I am also sorry you were disturbed by noise during your time here. As the business hub of Sandton there is alot of activity in the area. Whilst we do have little control over this, we aim to allocate people as far as possible away from any disturbance.

Our Wifi offering is also complimentary to all in house guests and we only charge for non resisdents who use the facilities in Public areas. I am sorry you were not made aware of this during the course of your stay.

Thank you again for staying with us and I hope you will afford us the opportunity to rectify your impression of Sandton Sun.

Warmest regards

Brett Davidge

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

An all round perfect spot if Sandton City is your destination of choice. Friendly staff all over the place and a great valet service if you're driving.

Only sad point was the complimentary barfridge which had a coke and a diet coke with a juice. I expected a little bit more....

Room Tip: We stayed on the 20th floor. Would ask for a room that doesn't face a construction site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other Travellers. We truly value your thoughts and will take great pleasure out of sharing this with our team.

If there was anything further, however small which could have enhanced your stay or would improve on your next stay please feel free to drop me a short e mail.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warm Regards
Brett Davidge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

spent a weekend with the family
it seems that they have less staff during weekends as the room cleaning was done late also requested extra towels and toiletries which took long to come
breakfast was fine with a good spread and staff in the restaurant were good

Room Tip: choose lower floors as the lifts are busy and at times take long to come
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other Travellers. We truly value your thoughts and will take great pleasure out of sharing this with our team.

If there was anything further, however small which could have enhanced your stay or would improve on your next stay please feel free to drop me a short e mail.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warm Regards
Brett Davidge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.