We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Sun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sandton Sun to your Saves list
Sandton Sun
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
1 review
“Great hotel with great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Sandton Sun is a wonderful hotel with great staff and an amazing location it is connected to the world class mall, Sandton City. I stayed here with my wife over her birthday and asked the reservations manager for something special in the room for her. We were greeted halfway through the day with the most amazing carrot cake and bottle of champagne by the friendliest and nicest porter that I have ever met. I believe in giving a fair review and there are a couple of places where the hotel could improve upon. I have stayed at this hotel 3 times, once in a standard room and the other two occasions I upgraded to a corner room which is lovely. The standard rooms definitely require some upgrading as they feel like they are the same rooms and furniture from when the hotel was originally built. The same especially applies to the bathroom. The corner room is amazing and feels very modern yet homey. I have stayed at the intercontinental Sandton Towers 5 times and the rooms are far superior, however so are the prices of the rooms and I'm not sure they are worth the extra money. The breakfast at the Sandton Sun is amazing and much better than the breakfast at the intercontinental. The staff at the Sandton Sun make up for any let downs you may have with a standard room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other Travellers. We truly value your thoughts and will take great pleasure out of sharing this with our team.

If there was anything further, however small which could have enhanced your stay or would improve on your next stay please feel free to drop me a short e mail.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warm Regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    136
    58
    13
    10
See reviews for
43
61
24
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Sandton Sun and were so impressed with the friendliness,efficiency and courteous manner of every staff member that we dealt with which is so important in the hospitality industry and credit must go to management to be able to implement and sustain this in a large hotel.

We loved our stay and would recommend this hotel to all our friends

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other Travellers. We truly value your thoughts and will take great pleasure out of sharing this with our team.

If there was anything further, however small which could have enhanced your stay or would improve on your next stay please feel free to drop me a short e mail.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warm Regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Level Contributor
145 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed a week at the Sandton Sun, and my first impressions were that the bedroom I was allocated was tired. They may well be on an ongoing refurbishment process, but it hadn't reached floor 17. It was comfortable enough, but needed a bit of tlc, especially the bathroom - very dated. The public areas were ok - but there is a lot of building going on in Sandton at the moment so sitting on the terrace for breakfast was inevitably disrupted by building noise, so I tended to sit indoors. The breakfast selection was very good, and we ate lunch one day which was also very nice. We didn't eat dinner so I can't comment - the hotel is on the Sandton City Mall so a short indoor walk away there is a good selection of restaurants to choose from. The staff were excellent - invariably friendly and the service was good and delivered with a smile at all times. Be aware that the rooms all front onto a large atrium, and if there is noise from the bar and dining areas this will drift into the rooms. Free wifi was helpful, both in the rooms and public areas.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been refurbished already.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor. Your views are of utmost importance to us and thank you for your comments about the hotel.

I am sorry you felt that the room you had appeared tired and I will ensure that we check all the rooms on this particular floor to make sure they are of exceptional standard. Please also accept my apologies that you were disturbed by noise whilst with us, We work closely with the neighbours to minimise any affect they may have on our guests but I regret that this has impacted on you.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having also stayed in the Sandton Intercontinental across the road I am amazed to hear from many locals that the Sun is supposedly the more up market of the two. The Intercontinental is leagues ahead of the Sun. My two week business trip could not have ended sooner. Here are some of the low-lights:
1. Nail clippings (not mine) on the carpet.
2. A previous guest's underwear in the drawers.
3. Damaged shower which flooded the bathroom if not angled back at the wall.
4. Poor, poor quality food. Do not use room service.
5. Poor cooked breakfasts. Even my fried eggs are better. Simply not worth waiting 20 minutes (!) for.
6. Waited over an hour for a bottle of wine to be delivered to my room on a quiet Sunday evening.
7. Charged for full cooked breakfast by the same people who are repeatedly told that I won't be having one.

In general, the hotel is drab and tired, the staff can be overly attentive (tip hunting) without actually wanting to be, the noise from the open atrium is appalling (what a bad idea) on party nights and the rooms are not overly comfortable. Oh and the gym is really not worthy of the name. i mean come on, it has 1, yes 1 weights machine. I may have been less critical if this were not a 5* hotel, but it is and really shouldn't be. I am so glad that my first trip here (5 weeks) was spent at the Intercontinental and not the Sun, otherwise I may have had to turn down future work in Joburg. Avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floors (18-20) if you want anything close to peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for staying with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am delighted you enjoyed the facilities we have at the Hotel as well as our easy access into Sandton City, Mandela Square and the Gautrain. I am however disappointed that you found our room furniture to be dated and this is certainly something we will consider when we refurbish the rooms in the near future.

Thank you again for staying with us and I hope you will consider returning to Sandton Sun in the not to distant future.

Warmest regards

Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The location is excellent in the Sandton area of the city. The Hotel is connected to a large, modern shopping mall and a few minutes walk from the iconic Nelson Mandela Square with the famous statue and interesting cafes, restaurants and Theatre. A free shuttle links you to the Gautrain airport link, which is cheap, smart, fast and a break from Joburg traffic. The Hotel itself is enormous, efficiently run, excellent 'A la Carte' breakfast and nice spacious rooms. Excellent for business or leisure trips.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other Travellers. We truly value your thoughts and will take great pleasure out of sharing this with our team.

If there was anything further, however small which could have enhanced your stay or would improve on your next stay please feel free to drop me a short e mail.

Thank you again for staying with us and please also consider our other properties within the Tsogo Sun Group.

Warm Regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I can't fault the hotel on many things and it isn't their fault there are currently building works all around the area, but why why why are what were quite clearly prostitutes tolerated in the bar? At one point there were more hookers than staff or indeed guests!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdadvisor, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for staying with us at Sandton Sun and for sharing your views with other travellers.

Please accept my sincere apologies that you were disturbed by noise from a nearby construction site. Whilst we have little control over this we have engaged with the Site Manager to ensure the impact on our guests is minimised.

Thank you also for mentioning the presence of undesirable people in our Bar area. This is something we strongly oppose and I have asked our Security Manager to ensure any behaviour which is not fitting of our establishment is dealt with immediatley

Thank you again for staying with us and rest assured the points you have mentioned will be addressed at the highest level.

Warmest regards
Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Rooms were new in 1984, but I don't think they've been updated since. Huge jackhammer and other construction noise outside hotel until 2300l. Staff in/out of room constantly, despite DND sign and light. Dining floor remodeled and is quite nice, but instead of training a few staff members, management seems to believe sheer numbers will make up for lack of skill. The result: crowds of employees standing around chatting while you get no service. High prices, poor service and extreme noise. 7 days could not go fast enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdadvisor, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience with us did not live up to your or our expectations.

We refurbish our rooms on a regualr basis and I am sorry if this did not appear so in the room you stayed in. I will ensure this room is checked so that it meets our highest standards. Please also accept our apologies that you were disturbed by some construction noise taking place at a nearby block. This is something we have little control over, none the less we have discussed this with the Site Owner to minimse the effect this has on our guests.

We do appreciate your feedback and thank you for sharing this with us. I do hope you will find the opportunity to visit Sandton Sun again in the future or perhaps one of our other hotels in the Sandton region. Our new hotel "54 on Bath" may offer an exciting alternative which I would happily recommend to you.

Warmest regards

Brett Davidge
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sandton Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.