We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in disappointing, hotel not honouring their booking.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2052, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Check in disappointing, hotel not honouring their booking.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My Expedia booking for a suite was not found on arrival, the check in manager was not that friendly. The promised refund never happened either, even thought I had several to and fro interactions with the reservations manager. Other than that, the hotel and the food were fabulous. The staff are great, the gardens are wonderful, the Spa treatment was excellent.

Room Tip: Not sure, hotel seemed quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review following your stay with us at Fairlwans.

It is wonderful to hear that you found the Meals and Hotel to be fabulous. We strive for excellence, and appreciate your comments with regards to your reservation and arrival experience which will be addressed with the relevant staff.

I am pleased to confirm that the refund was done by our Reservations Department on the 27th of May. May we kindly request receipt confirmation, or alternatively contact: Marlene Muller at the Hotel who will gladly send the refund confirmation details to you.

Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Management and Staff look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    33
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
19
81
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This Hotel is a cut above any Hotel you will ever stay in. Blended in with the old and new it truly is a pleasure to spend time here. The service is above Hotel standards and food to cover everybody's needs.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom unit, but they all looked they gave the same out look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel, Sandton and taking time to respond on Tripadvisor

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward the excellence and improve our standards where required. We were thrilled to read your wonderful comments, and to learn that our Service Standards were met.

We always strive for more in order to remain a unique, exclusive up-market sanctuary for both Corporate and Leisure travelers.

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox River Grove, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on recommendation of a colleague. It is actually closer to our office than the hotel we originally booked. The accomodations and service is outstanding. The food is wonderful. In fact we left at the end of the week saying we would just like to " move in" to the Fairlawns. Everything at the hotel in top of the line. We were very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel, Sandton and taking time to respond on Tripadvisor

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward the excellence and improve our standards where required.

We were thrilled to hear that you found our Hotel to be so comfortable, and that you enjoyed all the meals. We always strive for more in order to remain a unique, exclusive up-market sanctuary for both Corporate and Leisure travelers.

Mr. Michael Kewley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Excellent hotel all around: great food, wonderful staff, fantastic massage, and convenient location to Sandton. I'll go back! I used for business meetings, but I would definitely recommend for leisure travel as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Kewley1, Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel, Sandton and taking time to respond on Tripadvisor

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward the excellence and improve our standards where required. We are also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food and SPA Treatment. We strive for more in order to remain a unique, exclusive up-market sanctuary for both Corporate and Leisure travelers.

Once again, thank you for taking time to communicate with us. Should you require additional information or would like to query anything further, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Mr Michael Kewley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel was wonderful! I felt like i was in France staying at chateau throughout my entire stay. The service was perfect and everyone remembered my name or affiliation from the time i arrived to check-out. I would love to stay again. The only small suggestion i would like to make is to provide a larger clock in the sleeping rooms, if not you become so relaxed you lose track of time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent one night here before flying out to Botswana. It was a wonderful place to relax before starting our safari. The gardens are a beautiful oasis in the middle of busy Jo'berg. The spa was wonderful and the massage was just what I needed after a long flight. The rooms are large and very comfortable. We felt like we were in a country manor house not a city hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

this is a wonderful property. its an old world boutique hotel . each room is differently and luxuriantly done and above all the service is outstanding and very personalized. if you are looking for a small hotel - just choose this one

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your amazing glowing. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We strive to make every guest's stay with us truly exceptional and nothing is too much for our staff and Management.

I will certainly share your comments with my team and we look forward to welcome you back to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa soon.

Regards

Michael Kewley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2052, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#4 Business Hotel in Sandton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and exclusive five-star sanctuary for today's business or leisure traveller. Conveniently situated in the Sandton suburb of Morningside Manor, major business hubs and shopping centers are a mere 4km away. The 40 luxurious suites are each individually decorated to the highest world standards with the Presidential Suite playing host to many local and international celebrities. Also on offer, is the popular Villa Residence (2 rooms, Lounge, Dining Room and private pool), perfect for families. A sought after conference centre, fully equipped gym, Balinese spa and superb a la carte restaurant complete the full range of guest services. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary transfers to the Sandton Shopping District. Airport transfers and transfers to other areas can be arranged at an additional cost. Golfers will not be disappointed as Fairlawns has an arrangement with the nearby Johannesburg Country Club, which offers two world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel And Spa
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Sandton
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.