We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a treat of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2052, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Villa Residence
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a treat of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

this is a wonderful property. its an old world boutique hotel . each room is differently and luxuriantly done and above all the service is outstanding and very personalized. if you are looking for a small hotel - just choose this one

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your amazing glowing. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We strive to make every guest's stay with us truly exceptional and nothing is too much for our staff and Management.

I will certainly share your comments with my team and we look forward to welcome you back to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa soon.

Regards

Michael Kewley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    24
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
17
66
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Every visit to the Fairlawns Boutique Hotel in Morningside, Johannesburg, is pure delight and above par. By far. The expanse but yet intimate and beautifully appointed surrounds are only matched by the excellent 5 star service. Whether visiting for Dinner, breakfast or lunch at the hotel, you are always guaranteed eclectic cuisine and ambience. If ever there was a need to define or measure 5-star, the Fairlawns would be the yardstick with which to do so.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Unfortunately, this was just a one night stopover on the way to Kruger territory. A shame, since I could have spent at least a week just exploring my room. This place is beautiful! And as I was traveling with a group we did a " house tour".... What variety: RED room, deco, African, gold wallpaper.... Each bathroom completely different. Someone really had fun putting this together.
We also had a marvelous lecture while we were there, and an equally marvelous dinner.
Nice touches: bottle of Port and fresh fruit and nuts. Plus a really good coffee maker!
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Try to look at photos of available rooms to pick one to match your fantasy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This beautiful property is located fairly close to the Johannesburg airport, and what a pleasant surprise@ Each room is decorated differently - I had the pleasure of staying in the Miami which was decorated in Art Deco. Extremely spacious room, wet bar gratis, fresh fruit, good WiFi - everything my heart desired! Our group had cocktails on the pool patio then a private room for a lecture. Dinner followed and was absolutely superb. When I could not eat the dairy dessert, they swiftly produced an enormous plate of exotic fruits. The staff was magically at one's elbow to accompany this single traveler to dinner and all service was low key and completely efficient. I only wish I had been able to stay longer and can't wait to return to this fantastic place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your visit to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa.

I am delighted to hear that you were well looked after by our efficient and friendly staff and that you thoroughly enjoyed our Miami Suite as it is one of my personal favourites.

I am especially happy to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel and specifically the restaurant and that our staff went the extra mile to guarantee you the best possible guest experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Michael Kewley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

You will never want to check out. Fairlawns is a luxurious hotel with attentive and well-selected staff, luxurious suites, and a restaurant worth travelling to in and of itself. I can't wait to return to stay as a private guest next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTolmay, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa with our potential future guests - the comment of "genteel luxury in Johannesburg" is indeed appreciated.

It is really all with our “pleasure” and will ensure that I share these wonderful comments with all staff members. We are always looking at exceeding every single guest's expectations and very proud that we were able to provide such a phenomenal experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards

Neilen Tolmay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at the Fairlawn Boutique Hotel in Sandton, just outside of Johannesburg on our last day of a tour. What a beautiful small boutique hotel converted from a mansion. Everything about the hotel oozes class from the owner designed suites to the poolside cabana dining and full service spa and gym. The hotel has a shuttle to the Sandton Mall, the largest in South Africa and it is only 30 minutes from the airport. On your next necessary stop in Johannesburg you must stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTolmay, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

One of our biggest advantages is our wonderful location, close enough to the Sandton CBD with our complimentary shuttle, but yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre with our manicured gardens and tranquil birdlife that offers the ultimate urban luxury retreat in Sandton.

Our wonderful staff including the concierge, who can just about arrange anything in Johannesburg, is another reason why guests fall in love with our property. I am very pleased that you were able to experience our warm and genuinely friendly service as well as our award winning spa. The recently newly refurbished gym offers guilt-free pleasures in our award winning restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards

Neilen Tolmay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I get to the Fairlawns often for business. This was my first test of their hospitality and service for a personal occasion - I was not disappointed. The attentiveness of all staff and the genuine personal touch is what makes the difference between just 'very good' and 'great'.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTolmay, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

Wonderful to read that you rate us as world class and as your favourite hotel in Sandton! We are especially proud of our wonderful staff and they are the people responsible for the warmth that you experienced.

We have a number of hidden gems in and around the hotel which is very unique for a Sandton hotel that indeed sets us apart and is ideally suited for the discerning business or leisure guest. We realise that guests really like to feel that they have their own private spaces and we have plenty to offer on the property in the beautifully manicured gardens. This is not to mention the pools, restaurants and bar and of course our award winning spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards

Neilen Tolmay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2052, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#3 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and exclusive five-star sanctuary for today's business or leisure traveller. Conveniently situated in the Sandton suburb of Morningside Manor, major business hubs and shopping centers are a mere 4km away. The 40 luxurious suites are each individually decorated to the highest world standards with the Presidential Suite playing host to many local and international celebrities. Also on offer, is the popular Villa Residence (2 rooms, Lounge, Dining Room and private pool), perfect for families. A sought after conference centre, fully equipped gym, Balinese spa and superb a la carte restaurant complete the full range of guest services. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary transfers to the Sandton Shopping District. Airport transfers and transfers to other areas can be arranged at an additional cost. Golfers will not be disappointed as Fairlawns has an arrangement with the nearby Johannesburg Country Club, which offers two world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel And Spa
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Sandton
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.