We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it has been a pleasure..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2052, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Years Eve Menu 2014
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“it has been a pleasure..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed at the Fairlawns in November 2012 and it has been an absolute pleasure.

“Melissa” was very helpful via email with all booking requests and changes that I had to make. The pick-up from the airport worked out fine. Once we got to the hotel around noon our rooms were already available which was great after flying for 12 hours.

The rooms / suites are very large in size, very clean and have a nice style.

The hotel is more like a safe haven within the city not just a hotel. The tropical garden, breakfast outdoors overlooking the pool, the very(!) large gym, the in- and outdoor SPA and the excellent cuisine – I probably had one of the best steaks ever in their restaurant – what more can you ask for?

During the day there is always a driver at hand that takes you to the nearest locations e.g. Nelson Mandela Square..

All staff is very helpful and friendly. One night we returned from a Safari and on the way back I heard on the radio that there is an interesting concert that same night.. The guy at the reception managed to organize us premium tickets within an hour..and of course a driver. Taking us there and picking us up.

Especially after a long business day I couldn't wait to get back to the “island” and escape all the hustle and bustle of the city.

I stayed at the hotel for 3 days of business and extend for 2 more days to relax. It was very good. I will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    24
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
65
12
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 months here in 2001 while on a work project, this place is like paradise ... I especially loved dinner at the hotel after a long day at work. Very safe and conveniently located near Sandton business district. Regards to Anna and John!
Alberto

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Everything within the hotel is worth it!
The service is awesome. I recommend the spa. They have pick up and drop off service to the airport.
Highly recommended. If you like to travel and feel like your home this is the place you want to stay at!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Fairlawns is always such an experience for me. It's like a being a kid again in a magical secret garden. Everytime I stay there I get to experience a diffrent luxurious suite. The beds are so huge and fabulous i feel like a princess every night i go to bed. The service is always spectacular and the breakfast scrumbious. I highly recommend this hotel. Also the location is great as it's only 5 minutes from Sandton, which makes seeing clients a breeze in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

As an inbound tour operator into Africa we regularly host high end international travel agents on FAM trips to Southern Africa. Early December 2012 we (6 guests) were privileged to enjoy a one night stay at Fairlawns in their Chateaux Suites. The general consensus of opinion was that the indivdiually decorated rooms were all very spacious and the amenities of a high standard.

Drinks service on the patio was a little slow but this was made up for by an excellently prepared and presented dinner in the restaurant. Good selection of well priced wines to accompany a delicous meal in an elegant room - who could ask for more!

Everyone enjoyed their spa treatments and some even said it was the best massage they had ever had anywhere in the world so high praise to Christine and her team.

Fairlawns is the perfect place to relax and unwind in a beautifully landscaped garden environment either on the way to or after a safari experience.

Thank you to Anna & John Thacker and to Shaun Boyd for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the Chateaux Suites overlooking the Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Excellent rooms and service, a comfortable quiet oasis in Johannesburg.
Excellent rooms and service, a comfortable quiet oasis in Johannesburg.
Excellent rooms and service, a comfortable quiet oasis in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Excellent hotel, rooms and bathrooms are huge and offer gorgeous views of the garden and pool area. Felt like an oasis in the middle of the city. Service was fantastic, awesome staff. Nice decor. Perfect for a business or leisure trip. So easy to take the Guatrain to Sandton and then it is a 5 min complimentary transfer to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2052, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#3 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and exclusive five-star sanctuary for today's business or leisure traveller. Conveniently situated in the Sandton suburb of Morningside Manor, major business hubs and shopping centers are a mere 4km away. The 40 luxurious suites are each individually decorated to the highest world standards with the Presidential Suite playing host to many local and international celebrities. Also on offer, is the popular Villa Residence (2 rooms, Lounge, Dining Room and private pool), perfect for families. A sought after conference centre, fully equipped gym, Balinese spa and superb a la carte restaurant complete the full range of guest services. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary transfers to the Sandton Shopping District. Airport transfers and transfers to other areas can be arranged at an additional cost. Golfers will not be disappointed as Fairlawns has an arrangement with the nearby Johannesburg Country Club, which offers two world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel And Spa
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Sandton
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.