We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it has been a pleasure..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2052, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 hotels in Sandton
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“it has been a pleasure..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed at the Fairlawns in November 2012 and it has been an absolute pleasure.

“Melissa” was very helpful via email with all booking requests and changes that I had to make. The pick-up from the airport worked out fine. Once we got to the hotel around noon our rooms were already available which was great after flying for 12 hours.

The rooms / suites are very large in size, very clean and have a nice style.

The hotel is more like a safe haven within the city not just a hotel. The tropical garden, breakfast outdoors overlooking the pool, the very(!) large gym, the in- and outdoor SPA and the excellent cuisine – I probably had one of the best steaks ever in their restaurant – what more can you ask for?

During the day there is always a driver at hand that takes you to the nearest locations e.g. Nelson Mandela Square..

All staff is very helpful and friendly. One night we returned from a Safari and on the way back I heard on the radio that there is an interesting concert that same night.. The guy at the reception managed to organize us premium tickets within an hour..and of course a driver. Taking us there and picking us up.

Especially after a long business day I couldn't wait to get back to the “island” and escape all the hustle and bustle of the city.

I stayed at the hotel for 3 days of business and extend for 2 more days to relax. It was very good. I will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    17
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
44
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 months here in 2001 while on a work project, this place is like paradise ... I especially loved dinner at the hotel after a long day at work. Very safe and conveniently located near Sandton business district. Regards to Anna and John!
Alberto

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Everything within the hotel is worth it!
The service is awesome. I recommend the spa. They have pick up and drop off service to the airport.
Highly recommended. If you like to travel and feel like your home this is the place you want to stay at!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Fairlawns is always such an experience for me. It's like a being a kid again in a magical secret garden. Everytime I stay there I get to experience a diffrent luxurious suite. The beds are so huge and fabulous i feel like a princess every night i go to bed. The service is always spectacular and the breakfast scrumbious. I highly recommend this hotel. Also the location is great as it's only 5 minutes from Sandton, which makes seeing clients a breeze in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

As an inbound tour operator into Africa we regularly host high end international travel agents on FAM trips to Southern Africa. Early December 2012 we (6 guests) were privileged to enjoy a one night stay at Fairlawns in their Chateaux Suites. The general consensus of opinion was that the indivdiually decorated rooms were all very spacious and the amenities of a high standard.

Drinks service on the patio was a little slow but this was made up for by an excellently prepared and presented dinner in the restaurant. Good selection of well priced wines to accompany a delicous meal in an elegant room - who could ask for more!

Everyone enjoyed their spa treatments and some even said it was the best massage they had ever had anywhere in the world so high praise to Christine and her team.

Fairlawns is the perfect place to relax and unwind in a beautifully landscaped garden environment either on the way to or after a safari experience.

Thank you to Anna & John Thacker and to Shaun Boyd for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the Chateaux Suites overlooking the Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Excellent rooms and service, a comfortable quiet oasis in Johannesburg.
Excellent rooms and service, a comfortable quiet oasis in Johannesburg.
Excellent rooms and service, a comfortable quiet oasis in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Excellent hotel, rooms and bathrooms are huge and offer gorgeous views of the garden and pool area. Felt like an oasis in the middle of the city. Service was fantastic, awesome staff. Nice decor. Perfect for a business or leisure trip. So easy to take the Guatrain to Sandton and then it is a 5 min complimentary transfer to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel And Spa
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Sandton
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Address: 1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2052, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and exclusive five-star sanctuary for today’s business or leisure traveller. Conveniently situated in the Sandton suburb of Morningside Manor, major business hubs and shopping centers are amere 4km away. The 40 opulent suites are each individually decorated to the highest world standards with the Presidential Suite playing host to many local and international celebrities. A sought after conference centre, fully equipped gym, Balinese spa and superb a la carte restaurant complete the full range of guest services. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary transfers to the Sandton Shopping District. Airport transfers and transfers to other areas can be arranged at an additional cost. Golfers will not be disappointed as Fairlawns has an arrangement with the nearby Johannesburg Country Club, which offers two world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.