We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow...loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2052, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow...loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel. It's like an oasis in the middle of a large city. The grounds are spectacular , the staff wonderful and the room was the lap of luxury. Would go back in a heart beat. The bathroom was luxurious to say the least.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    33
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
19
81
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Came back here after a year. All staff remembered my last visit. Service us amazing, so is the facility. I cannot believe people would prefer a hotel in Sandton central over this property.

Will return in a month. The tranquility is all you need

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Sorry for the late review, have still been travelling! Fairlawns is top top shelf in every way! Professional and luxurious. the bathrooms, the best we have experienced on our travels and the rooms are sooo sumptiously appointed! The restaurant is magnificent. One night we were booked for a late night spa after sightseeing, the member on staff didnt have that info in front of her, so the lights werent on. So she and a staff memeber lit like 30 lanterns for us, and gave us a couple of glasses of wine for the trouble, which was no trouble anyway. Also manager was terrific as our laptop got stolen at the airport, and he helped us find a polixe station to file the report ( a whole knew and funny story) and let us use his computer to change all our passwords. All wanted to go to all apartheid museum, bit it was closed, so,they booked us a tour to the h.p museum in soweto, and our driver grew up in soweto and gave us a great insight into the history during the students uprising. He also took is to thw sandton mall, and our crazy police starion experience! If we are in joburg again, we will def stay at fairlawns! Partly coz of the great local staff! Maybe one tip, is that the laundry cost should be a little cheaper, although mostly short term and well of tourists trnd to stay here, it is 5.star after all!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

we stayed there from September 13 to 16, 2012

As we returned from our three weeks Safari, we stayed at the" The Fairlawns " again , this time for three nights. Our suite # 29 was located in the brand new separate Palazzo, called " Grande Chateau " , which blends in perfectly with the existing architecture. Again, the Suite is very large and well equipped with all modern amenities, including a huge bathroom. You really can take it easy here, in this very relaxed atmosphere to recharge your batteries and rejuvenate from the daily grind.

Upstairs -I call it " Le Salon " - there is a fireplace , a coffee and tea station with biscuits, just help yourself.
The garden is magnificent too, flowers of the season are in bloom ( it's spring time in South Africa) . There are also Cherry Blossom Trees on the property. The swimming pool with the cabanas is a special place to relax, have Lunch or High Tea there.
Behind the pool is a separate Japanese Garden where the Spa is located, another pretty area where one finds peace and quiet.

The Fairlawns provides a shuttle service, free of charge to the Sandton City Shopping Center, where the huge " Nelson Mandela " statue is located in the Nelson Mandela Square. Here you find many good shops spread out over several floors. Chauffeur GRANT, a very pleasant man drove me there and picked me up again.

We had all our meals during our three night stay in the "Terrace Restaurant". The Chef is very creative and prepares some wonderful dishes for your pallet, they are very tasty. You dine under Chandeliers, the table setting is first class with silver cutlery and a view down to the garden and swimming pool. At night the restaurant takes on a romantic setting with great ambience. We can recommend the " Chicken Breast & Scottish Salmon " Our waiters " KEVIN and Prince" were wonderful, very caring and attentive. You are in good hands with these servers, who provide service with a smile. We enjoyed our three nights stay at the Fairlawns and can recommend it highly.

Room Tip: suite 29 and suite 13 are terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel and Spa

we stayed there on August 24, 2012 , - Suite 13 -

On our way to Sabi Sand to go on Safari, we stayed at this beautiful, tastefully decorated Boutique Hotel. After a long overseas flight from Miami it feels like you are in a sanctuary. The Hotel is located in Sandton, a suburb of Johannesburg. It has the feel of being in a private Villa / Estate , very secluded and far away from all the noise of a big metropolitan city. It's architecture reminds one of an Italian Palazzo . It is really awesome. We were welcomed by Front Office Manager " Bridgett " who escorted us to our huge Suite. The decor of the suite reminded us of the " BELLE EPOQUE " era, very impressive. The garden is magnificent too, flowers of the season started to bloom ( spring time in South Africa was just around the corner ). The swimming pool with the cabanas is a special place to relax, you can have Lunch and High Tea there too.
Behind the pool is a separate Japanese Garden where the Spa is located, another pretty area where one finds peace and quiet.

The Fairlawns provides a shuttle service, free of charge to the Sandton City Shopping Center, where the huge "Nelson Mandela " statue is located in the Nelson Mandela Square. Here you find many good shops spread out over several floors. Chauffeur GRANT, a very pleasant man drove me there and picked me up again.

You can have Lunch and Dinner in the very elegant Terrace Restaurant , the cutlery is made of heavy silver and it is polished. The Chandelier's give the restaurant the special cozy ambiance. Here, Breakfast / Brunch ( which is included in the suite price ) is also served. The food selection is simply outstanding and of the highest quality . You also can dine a là " Al Fresco " on the Terrace located in front of the Terrace Restaurant overlooking the garden and swimming pool. The food is very good and delicious, select from the very creative menu.

All staff we encountered during our stay are very professional, very attentive and they will take good care of you.
The following day we moved on to Sabi Sand to see the Big Five. We can highly recommend " The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa ", we had the most enjoyable visit, it is a special treat for anyone.

Room Tip: Suite 13 , is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My second review of the Fairlawns which now gains another dot from me on the TA ratings monitor, giving it a full 5 from me this time around. John and Anna Thacker (Owners) have worked miracles in converting what was a great place to stay, to a world class place to stay. The new Chateux rooms are luxurious, to say the least. The new Chef has added a new dimension to the food and on this visit as opposed to previous trips, the restaurant was always quite busy. People vote with the feet and that’s what TA is for. Will always stay here when in Johannesburg.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

very comfortable and lovely hotel, rooms are large and beautiful, each room is decorated differently. dinner menu is short but exquisite, very nice selection of wines. breakfast is good. service is friendly and obliging.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Alma Road | (Off Bowling Avenue), Sandton 2052, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#4 Business Hotel in Sandton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and exclusive five-star sanctuary for today's business or leisure traveller. Conveniently situated in the Sandton suburb of Morningside Manor, major business hubs and shopping centers are a mere 4km away. The 40 luxurious suites are each individually decorated to the highest world standards with the Presidential Suite playing host to many local and international celebrities. Also on offer, is the popular Villa Residence (2 rooms, Lounge, Dining Room and private pool), perfect for families. A sought after conference centre, fully equipped gym, Balinese spa and superb a la carte restaurant complete the full range of guest services. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary transfers to the Sandton Shopping District. Airport transfers and transfers to other areas can be arranged at an additional cost. Golfers will not be disappointed as Fairlawns has an arrangement with the nearby Johannesburg Country Club, which offers two world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel And Spa
The Fairlawns Boutique Hotel Sandton
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.