We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip alternative in Sandton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maslow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Maslow to your Saves list
The Maslow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Grayston Drive & Rivonia Road, Sandton 2031, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Mother's Day Offer
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The World
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Hip alternative in Sandton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The newest hotel in the Sun International chain. This is the old Southern Sun Grayston that has been refurbished into a more hip-modern version that will definitely attract the Sandton socialites. Rooms have clean sleek lines in-keeping with the hotel style and the main areas offer something for everyone from quite corners to bustling spots.
The Wayfarer Lounge is a nice touch for clients arriving early or checking out late when their room is not available, a place to work, have a coffee, read the paper etc.
Close to the hub of Sandton, probably the only draw back being it is just too far to walk in the evenings/night to restaurants etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your great review on trip advisor. Your comments are appreciated. Please note that we do have a shuttle bus that runs every 30 minutes from the hotel to Sandton City. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maslow in the near future.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    143
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
37
78
17
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We held our 2 day convention at the Maslow Hotel and I rate it as most probably the best hotel with regards to facilities, quality and service!! The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped. The bar and dining room is very relaxing and well managed, whilst the pool area is well situated and top class!

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Service excellent and facilities great. Expensive, but worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We are humbled by your great review on Trip Advisor. It is great to see that we managed to live up to your expectations. I have shared your review with the Maslow team and everyone is delighted to have played a part in your experience at the Maslow. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Spent the last two weeks of June 2013 in this excellent hotel
The rooms are modern and equipped with excellent multimedia facilities like a 42" LCD screen,
HDMI input and USB outlet for charging your phone and free WiFi internet.
The hotel offers a free shuttle service to the nearby Nelson Mandela Square and Sandton City.
The service was excellent and friendly from manager to reception to the drivers, although there is some room for improvement when it comes to the restaurant (bistro) staff which seemed to be a bit disorganized. Food in the bistro is excellent!

Room Tip: Like in most hotels, the rooms close to the elevators can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your day with us and that we meet your expectations. We thank you graciously for the positive feedback. You are always welcome back at the Maslow.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was my first time in Johannesburg and I am glad I contacted the hotel. The manager was quick to respond to my enquiry and accommodated me during my day layover. Excellent service from the staff from the reception to it help desk to restaurant and amazing SPA!
There were few hiccups however sorted quickly and professionally. The rooms are very nice and modern with everything you'd need. Great shower and bed!
I have had the best massage ever and once again the staff of the Spa from the manager I think Lihandra to the therapist Palesa were fantastic! If I visit Johannesburg again I will certainly stay at The Maslow!

Room Tip: If you want a good sleep during the day make sure they are not facing the junction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Manager at The Maslow, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear valued guest.

We are pleased to hear that we lived up to your expectactions. I have shared your comments with the Maslow team and they are excited about your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maslow soon.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We are travelling with friends and chose this hotel because it offered a free shuttle service to and from the Gautrain but found it offered so much more.The service was excellent from reception to the concierge desk to maintenance and the drivers..really friendly and very helpful staff.The rooms are great but our aircon wasn't working,maintenance was there in less than 5 minutes and they moved us to another room.Their free shuttle also goes every half hour to Nelson Mandela Square (& Sandton City) Room tip-don't take a room that backs onto the lift shaft as it can be noisy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Manager at The Maslow, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear valued guest, we are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for your valuable review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maslow in the near future.

Kind regards
Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Firstly I must say that the team at the concierge desk are superstars! Always on hand to assist with either luggage or information and ALWAYS with a genuine smile.
Reception- also not too bad except for the one time when a a client came to look for me and was told that I was not staying there when I had checked in the night before. They returned again in the morning - different shift and they were duly put through to my room.
The duty manager at reception- wednesday 29th May not friendly at all. Her staff member was serving a customer and there was another problem elsewhere and she literally ignored the fact that he was trying to serve a customer and engaged him in a converstaion that went on and on and clearly embarassed the staff member
Breakfast - lack of consistency signing docket somedays you sign a docket at your table sometimes you're stopped on your way out of breakfast room and given docket to sign... no consistency nor efficiency in service as it's slow. One day the hostess escorts you to your table seats and takes your order for tea or coffee and another day you're not taken to a table nor offered anything by the hotess that day-different one, a waiter enourages you to use the express buffet and on another day they barely say two words to you.
The coffee machines in the rooms- great but they need to be cleaned and serviced regularly. Maintenance Mr Phakati was superb one evening when my coffee maker wouldn't work. All was done with a smile and constant feedback on progress of solving the problem.
Management presence- I saw some loitering in the reception area, some simply don't greet and there's just something missing at the Malsow. It was not my first stay there and I still feel there's no warmth- in fact some of the team forget that they are there to serve or to be of service to customers. There's an air of arrogance which makes them unapproachable and seemingly misplaced in hotel.
Uniform- is great all around! no bright colours thank goodness! They look elegant like ladies and gentlemen. Almost as good as The Table Bay
Housekeeping & Maintenance staff: Congratulations!!! Don't know how they do it but they are the quietest team I have ever come across staying at a hotel. They normally make noise talking loudly in corridors etc but the team here is great and.... they greet you.

Room Tip: if you can ask for a luxury room as they are more spacious and they have both a bath and shower opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Customer Relations Executive at The Maslow, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear valued guest, we thank you for your feedback and would like to let you know that we do take this feedback seriously. I have gone through the feedback with my team here at the Maslow and I can assure you that we have addressed your concerns. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maslow.

Kind regards

Anita Munetsi
Customer Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a very large business group. Upon booking the reservation, they required prepayment of the total amount. They charged the amount to my credit card a full five days before I arrived.

I was told I could cancel or make changes prior to my arrival. I needed to cut short my stay, advised the hotel within the proper amount of time and restated the fact when I arrived. I was told that the refund would be issued upon departure. It's been almost 30 days and I am still waiting for my refund! This is totally unacceptable. Given the amount of bank fraud that goes on in South Africa, I would not recommend using this hotel!

Go to the Africology Spa and stay someplace else!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, Manager at The Maslow, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused with regards to the delay in processing your refund.

We have re-looked at our refund policy and made some adjustments to expedite the process quicker.

We have also identified and rectified certain booking processes and challenges experienced.

I do hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves and show you our true Maslow Hospitality on your next visit – please contact me personally if I can assist with a reservation.

Yours sincerely,

Yash Jithoo I Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maslow

Address: Corner Grayston Drive & Rivonia Road, Sandton 2031, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maslow 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maslow is the ultimate new business hotel in Sandton providing an environment where individuals can reach their full potential by having the facilities, technology and intelligence in place to facilitate business. Situated in the heart of Sandton’s business district, home to top investment banks, financial institutions, the Gautrain station and the Johannesburg Stock Exchange, The Maslow offers some of the best corporate facilities in Sandton, including complimentary high speed internet access throughout the hotel, 13 meeting rooms, conference centre with multi-divisible ballroom and auditorium, techno gym and an Africology Spa. The Maslow hotel offers a complimentary scheduled return transfer service every 15 minutes to the Gautrain Station and Sandton City. Guests may also make use of the Maslow’s private chauffeur service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Maslow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maslow Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maslow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.