We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, I love this hotel despite ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers to your Saves list
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Maude & Fifth Streets, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Tunis, Tunisia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Overall, I love this hotel despite ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several times since 2013. I enjoyed each moment I spent there, except one time when high security measures were put in place especially to protect some government members from SADC countries. However, thanks to the hotel management and staff for the courtesy notification about the ongoing event and for all efforts to reduce inconvenience during the said period; personally I would have preferred avoiding such ambiance. Overall, I love this hotel.

The hotel is well located. It offers free shuttle service to Gautrain’s Sandton station, which is even at walk distance. Its proximity through a covered walk bridge/corridor to Santdon City malls and to Mandela Square restaurants made my evenings, dinners and weekend shopping very agreeable.

The hotel offers also excellent amenities: rooms, restaurant, free wifi, business center, fitness center and bar. I did not use the swimming pool.

Rooms are large, clean and well equipped with all amenities ones may need during his stay for business or private purposes, including restful bed and excellent bathroom facilities.

At the restaurant, breakfast is great with a smiling team at your service. During busy time in the morning, even the manager is at your service and that is great. I did not try lunch and dinner options, so I can evaluate.

The business center is calm and functional. WiFi is free but the restriction to 3 devices is an issue for those like me who travel with 5 devices.

The bar is a pleasure in the evening (if you’re not resting), when some notes are being played by the piano.

The hotel receptionists are polite, responsive, cheerful, and professional. Special thanks to Ms. Pulane Mpotle who convinced me during my first stay to consider this hotel as my residence in Jo’burg, and to apply for the IHG Rewards Club. Since then, every time I go to Jo’burg, I stay at this hotel, where effectively Pulane and all other staff always welcome me and treat me as someone who comes back home. For sure, I’ll continue to stay in Intercontinental Sandton Towers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoy staying with us and thank you for the great feedback. I do trust that I will have the pleasure of personally welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    132
    36
    16
    4
See reviews for
24
67
29
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I've staid here before it is in a good location you are able to walk over to the mall easily which is great for food options. There were a number of minor problems though that added up to a less than average experience. There were problems with some of the electrical outlets not working. The wifi has a 3 device cap which is great for one person but inconvenient for two. The breakfast buffet was OK and once when we placed an order service was prompt the other time it never showed up. The rooms are large and fairly new and the bathroom is nice but the heating cooling system seemed to be on its last leg and took a long time to change the room and was fairly noisy. The staff was generally pleasant but often when calling (for example room service) no one would pick up. I would avoid room service there are only a few options and the food was OK. There were problems with the elevators in terms of accessing the right floors some worked some didn't.

Room Tip: I would avoid the NorthWest side of the building they are doing construction on the lot across the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
I am disappointed to hear that you had a less than average stay with us but thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel is quite large and the rooms are well appointed. However, the atmosphere here is somewhat tense. I went to the hotel bar in the main lobby to order food and a beverage in the evening by myself. My travel partner was not well. As I was going back up to my room, a man in a suit with two other nicely dressed men shouted, "White-ies are not cool!" I was horrified and quickly went upstairs. This is not the fault of the hotel but that shows the clientele who frequent the restaurant bar. I did not feel like eating alone again in this hotel. Every time I dried my hair the hair dryer would short and I'd wait 5 minutes for it to start again. We stayed here twice in 12 days because of layovers from a safari. The hair dryer failed in both rooms. Staff at the front desk and in the restaurant could be more welcoming and friendly. We were offered a bottle of water and clean towel at check in which was nice. The room service food was mediocre at best (I wasn't able to eat my grilled calamari salad) and we went to bed hungry. The bathtub had hair and dirt in it and I cleaned it myself before using it.

Room Tip: There is construction all around this hotel so in the day time sleeping is not possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for the feedback and please accept my sincere apologies for the unnecessary verbal abuse you witnessed. I also apologise for the lack of service and attention to detail that you experienced with several departments. However, I do trust that your safari was wonderful and that you saw the Big Five and lots of other animals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaborone
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Stay was great breakfast needs improvement.Rooms are very spacious and clean the service at the hotel is also 5 star.The location is also ideal as it is next to the mall . The pool area is also very nice if u have kids or would just like to relax the gym is also well equipped. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would make this my hotel if choice.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am pleased to advise that we now have a new delectable breakfast offering, which I trust you will enjoy on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I was there in 2005,so also in 2014 and will stay there any time I find myself in Jo'burg!
Reception at Intercontinental Hotel is superp,location very convenient because of proximity to the best malls in the city-just walking distance.Security in SA should guest's top priority and that is quarantined in that hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My wife and I had a pleasure staying at this hotel from June 5 – 7, 2014. It was a very rewarding experience. The Staff at the hotel was very friendly as well as helpful and they went out of their ways to make sure all our needs were met. I was also impressed with GM. He was the first General Manager of the hotel I met in my life time. Now I know where all this comes from. The helpfulness comes directly from the top. The staff also learned on howto make a guest comfortable in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
It was a pleasure to meet you and thank you for your great feedback. I do trust that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights staying here on business. Hotel is very comfortable and all the staff can't do enough for you. I was on the 24th floor and the room had an amazing view and had everything I needed. It was very large as well. Had a breakfast and light lunch in the hotel and it was good. Plenty of choice. Ideally situated for all the restaurants and shops that Sandton and Mandela Square has to offer.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Address: Corner Maude & Fifth Streets, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandton
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the safe hub of Sandton, Johannesburg with direct access to: shopping malls, Sandton Convention Centre, Food, Wine and excursions. Perfect for business of leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Hotel Sandton
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Hotel
Intercontinental Sandton
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.