We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great but sadly the service was not” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers to your Saves list
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Maude & Fifth Streets, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Location great but sadly the service was not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in October on a business trip with a large group, the hotel is very nice but the service and attitude of some of the staff needs to be worked on. They also need to get a reliable car service sorted as we booked a car to take us to the Rugby ground to watch SA play NZ ( amazing) and the car never showed up to pick us up, I called the hotel and they kept cutting my call off, so we were left having to get a taxis that we didn't know ? Not the thing to do really but we had no choice, the hotel called us when we were in the taxis and asked to speak to the driver and stayed on the line until we got back to the hotel.
The room card also stopped working several times this seemed to be an on going issue with all of our group.
Thankfully the Hotel Manager Chris is very good and hopefully will sort out these issues as its a nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Please accept my apologies for the less than 5* service that you received from the hotel and I thank you for bringing this to my attention, however, I am glad that Chris was of assistance to you during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    132
    36
    16
    4
See reviews for
24
67
29
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The staff at check in were curteous and service good.
Particularly impressive was the room service, we ordered dinner and one could see some thought went into it to make it as comfortable a dinning experience as possible. Many hotel staff around to assit with directions and advice. Very plesant experience all round.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback after your pleasant stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013 on a business trip.

Pros:
1) Great location
2) The skywalk on the 10th floor connects you to the Sandton Tower shopping center and also to the historic Nelson Mandela square.
3) Good choice of food is available at the Nelson Mandela Square.
4) It's close to the Gauteng Train station and the free shuttle service from the hotel has a regular drop off service to the station. It's a 20 minutes journey by train to the airport and it's highly recommended to use it to beat the infamous Johannesburg traffic.
5) Friendly staff @ the guest relations.
6) Nice asthetics.

Cons :

1) The buffet breakfast was repetitive.

2) The washroom sink seemed to have a water clogging problem.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I am delighted that you had a good stay and enjoyed the shopping mall with the vibe of Nelson Mandela Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A Warm and efficient welcome on check in ,well styled lobby area,secure key controlled lifts ,comfortable room ,well equipped although more power points needed
Clean room excellent black out curtains ,better sound proofing for windows and walls needed .

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

There are many good hotels to stay in the Sandton area and I have stayed in about three of them. The Intercontinental stands out here in terms of service and chicness. The breakfast, typical of the IHC group is as usual very good. I will recommend this hotel to any discerning lodger wishing to stay in Sandton City.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veyrier, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a luxury hotel perfectly located in the center of the main business area of Johannesburg. The hotel connects directly with a very large shopping mall where you can find everything you want. The mall comprises a lovely open square named Nelson Mandela Square where you can find some very good restaurants such as the Butcher Shop (try the wagyu - they used to say: take your cholesterol to the next level... Not light then but worth a try) and a very good Thai too. The hotel offers all the facilities like a properly equipped business center, an excellent gym, very nice spa, ... The restaurant is so so and I would recommend to cross the road through the sky walk to have breakfast at the Sandton Sun (no extra for that as both hotels are connected), it's way better there and you will also prefer the bar there in the evening. The hotel is fairly pricy, even in hard currency. As a final point, the hotel staff is nice and helpful on average but don't expect everything to work perfectly as... This is Africa!

Room Tip: Corner room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I thank you for your feedback on the hotel and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay in general and the surrounding restaurants and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here on business and if you need to be in or around Sandton it's the perfect location, secure, well connected to the conference centre and the mall. Good breakfast, reasonable gym and a pool, plus very good customer services.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Address: Corner Maude & Fifth Streets, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandton
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the safe hub of Sandton, Johannesburg with direct access to: shopping malls, Sandton Convention Centre, Food, Wine and excursions. Perfect for business of leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Hotel Sandton
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Hotel
Intercontinental Sandton
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.