We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff, wonderful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
Michelangelo Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 West Street, Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Tokyo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff, wonderful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I spent two nights here introducing my newest kiddo to his Johannesburg family. It is perfectly located for everyone to come to us to meet the bub. At first they put us in a room that was small and overlooking the taxi rank but we complained and then they moved us to a lovely room overlooking the square. the wonderful Bell boy, Patrick, went above and beyond to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

The hotel is really luxurious and the staff is fantastic, making our short JHB stay a really relaxing and easy one with our baby.

Room Tip: if you are not 100% happy with your room, ask for a better one. you won't get if you don't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Dallia B
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted your stay was a memorable one and that Patrick in particular made your stay extra special.
We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    117
    48
    13
    10
See reviews for
39
122
38
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed here in March of this year and it was the best experience I have had in a hotel. As someone who has visited over 30 countries this means something to me. The staff was so accommodating and helpful. The ensured that we were comfortable and went above and beyond what was expected. I swear this is the last hotel in the world that still puts chocolate on your pillow. Even though breakfast was a buffet the staff served you. I have never been treated so well. Buto n top of that the location is spectacular. You are right at a great mall with lots of shopping ofr all people and as a plus sized girl I know how hard it is to find my size. I also think the price on this place was more than fair. People you have got to stay here

Room Tip: All of them seemed great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Travelergirl998
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
It truly is wonderful to read your positive comments regarding your stay with us. As a guest who has stayed in over 30 hotels, your comments serve to further motivate our team to continue delivering service which meets and exceeds guests expectations and your review is a testament to this.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was lucky enough to stay here, as my partner was on business. Staff are all extremely friendly, well presented and helpful. Room was on the small side, but had everything we needed, with a nice balcony view of the city. Bathroom very nice. Common areas very clean, quiet and posh. Spa had a good selection of treatments, and is within the hotel. Hotel is located right inside Nelson Mandela's square, and in the Sandton city mall - both great places to visit. Plenty of places to eat around you, you certainly don't have to have a car to stay here! I hope to stay here again one day!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear sarah14387
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.
We are thrilled your stay was a memorable one and that you found our staff to be "extremely friendly, well presented and helpful"
We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back in the near future.
Best wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Michelangelo Hotel in Santon is by far the best city hotel I ever stayed in. If I could I would gave them 7 stars. Their service and attention to detail is unbeatable. I found all staff extreamly friendly, helpfull and very well trained. The food is of outstanding quality. It is ideal for business meetings and is very well situated and just a 5 min walk from Stanton Gautrain station. If you can afford to stay there you will not be dissapointed!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Hannes N
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind comments and will be sure to share these with the entire Michelangelo Hotel team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The location in Johannesburg could not be better , overlooking Nelson Mandela Square whilst having breakfast was ideal . Being on top of the best shopping mall in town was a nice plus as well and a dozen good restaurants were within a couple of minutes walk .
The rooms were spacious enough but the furnishings looked a little tired . I do not recall seeing an iron in the room , which I thought unusual for a hotel of this standard . Overall , though , it was an enjoyable experience and all the staff were helpful and friendly .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Frank R
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your comments regarding our staff and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Michelangelo. From the friendly staff to the best breakfast we've ever had, it was truly a memorable experience. The ambience throughout the hotel was lovely. The rooms are elegant but do need a bit of refurbishment. Other than that it was a great stay overall. Thanks for taking such great care of us...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Kubashni07
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted your experience was a memorable one and that you enjoyed our breakfast in particular.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanshya, Zambia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is undoubtedly one of the best in Johannesburg and a favourite of mine. With sincere respect to management please don't leave it too long before a plan is executed for room refurbishments. They are beginning to look a little tired and it would be a shame to let them deteriorate further. Otherwise, a lovely hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square are great for people spotting
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Wendy H
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.
We appreciate your feedback and have noted your comments. Thank you for your support over the years and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 135 West Street, Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, LHW, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.