We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice next to Nelson Mandela Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
Michelangelo Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 West Street, Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent choice next to Nelson Mandela Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Services were quite good and the room was excellent overall. The water pressure in the shower was unbelievably strong - a funny thing to rave about, but it was incredible. The only negative I have about the accommodations is that the rug in the room seems to have reached the end of appropriate service. Not necessarily a negative for everyone, but the king size bed was essentially two twins next to each other. So sleeping in the middle of the bed is not a real option. While its conveniently located next to the convention center and basically part of an upscale mall, those are also it's downsides. The property is a tad noisy, and while the staff is friendly and helpful, they tend not to recognize that you are staying there since so many people pass thru the reception area on their way elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Chuck C

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

There is nothing like a lovely refreshing hot shower after a long trip and we are glad you found our shower and your stay with us to be to your satisfaction.

We trust we will see you again in the near future.

Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    120
    51
    13
    10
See reviews for
43
134
38
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Michelangelo hotel is really a fantastic place. The beauty of its architecture, marbles, rooms are something you can't miss when visiting Johannesburg/South Africa.
It is in the middle of Sandton, connected to the "Mandela Square" and the Sandton Mall, what has been shown pretty convenient to me... lots of good restaurants and shopping.
The room has a good size ... and it is also well decorated.
The staff is really friendly and helpful.
I faced some issues with the internet and hot water, that were solved quickly.

Room Tip: Ask view to Mandela Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear ReginaldoQC

Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us posted on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular our architecture, which I must confess, is beautiful.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Wishes
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Michelangelo is a standard old school business quality hotel in the heart of Sandton, but I wouldn't necessarily go here for romance. The staff are very friendly and very professional. The spacious rooms have stairs and columns between the bed and the living space, and the bathroom has a very large, strong shower to help you wake up in the morning, in addition to a large bath. The buffet breakfast has a lot of choice, with the staff mostly attentive to your coffee needs. It is intrinsic to the large shopping complex in Nelson Mandela Square so you can walk around quite a bit more than you might elsewhere

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear gelatomania

We are delighted by your wonderful review on Trip Advisor and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us especially our breakfast, room layout and size as well as the professionalism of our staff.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Michelangelo is a beautifully decorated hotel. From the moment of your arrival through. Departure you are treated royally by the staff. The rooms are of a good size, excluding the shower which was a bit tight. If you have the time, you will find your self next to Nelson Mandela Square , which has some of the best shopping in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Alassio1

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your kind words and are thrilled you felt treated royally by our staff.

We look forward to seeing you again in our beautiful Hotel.

Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed at the Michelangelo for a few nights recently after a couple of years since our last visit. Very happy to report that nothing has changed, from the outstanding customer service to the beautifully appointed luxury rooms that make every stay a fabulous experience. There is something about this hotel that just makes you relax and enjoy everything on offer. The beds are just lovely as are the comfortable couches and armchairs in the deluxe rooms. Breakfast is wonderful, as is the drinks and service in the main bar. Can't fault this hotel and look forward to another visit soon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Fork Talk O

Thank you for your wonderful review posted on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that we continue to meet and exceed your expectations. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at the Michelangelo for 3 nights and was really happy with our stay. It's a great, solid hotel, good service, friendly staff and an unbeatable location. Would highly recommend when staying in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Jessica G

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Your comments are much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to our beautiful Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed for one night on a business trip to Johannesburg at the Michelangelo Hotel in Nelson Mandela Square in Sandton on 31st January 2013.

The hotel is located within the Sandton City shop and office complex overlooking Nelson Mandela Square. As it is a five star hotel, it had all the usual amenities and facilities expected from such hotels. It was grandiose indeed and I was impressed by the marble splendor. It felt as if I was in a different world.

My room was spacious and felt very homely. I liked the décor of the room which made it look very upmarket and expensive. It overlooked Mandela Square. There was a settee, coffee table and armchair by the window. The bed was king sized (although when I retired to bed after midnight, I found out too late that it was two single beds pushed together). The room had complimentary Wi-Fi internet – but unfortunately, I was unable to access it on the night I stayed there. (I would like to thank the night receptionist Chris for trying to sort out the matter – but in vain.) There was also a complimentary bottle of still water. The large flat screen TV had a sharp picture and was good for watching movies.

The bathroom was large and it was a joy to spend time in it. It had complimentary toiletries which were of high quality.

Breakfast was in the hotel’s beautiful restaurant. It was beautifully and exquisitely laid out. The breakfast was buffet style and there were various breakfast items on offer. There was a cold selection of various sliced meats, fish and fruits. There was also a section with hot breakfast items – but I did not try these. I had some crunchy cereals and fresh fruit and yoghurt.

When I checked out, I raised the point about the bed with the customer relations manager Biyana. She apologized for the inconvenience, and a few days later wrote to me offering me an upgrade to a suite the next time I stayed at the hotel. That was very kind gesture on her part.

The Michelangelo is a five star hotel and you would expect to pay five star prices. However, there are times when you can obtain last minute deals from discounted rates.

MAZ MANNAN 25th JUNE 2013.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Mandela square
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Mazmannan

Thank you very much for your detailed review posted on Trip Advisor.

We are absolutely delighted that your experience was an overall positive one and that you especially enjoyed our breakfast and your room decor.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 135 West Street, Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LHW, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.