We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Stunning Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
Michelangelo Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 West Street, Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Truly Stunning Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Not only does the Michelangelo boast an unrivaled location in the heart of Johannesburg but the service and sheer quality of the hotel defies belief. Here you are treated like a VIP from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave.

Rooms are of a good size with comfortable beds but it is the bathrooms that truly make the accommodation stand out. Double Basins, large showers and seperate baths along with exquisite furnishings mean getting ready for a night out is a pleasure all in its own.

For the shopaholic there's a large shopping centre on your doorstep along with a variety of cafes, bars and restaurants.

A genuinely fabulos hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Michael S

Positive feedback such as yours makes my team and I incredibly proud and we thank you for your review.

We hope to welcome you back to our "genuinely fabulous hotel"

Kind Regards

Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    120
    51
    13
    10
See reviews for
42
132
38
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

opulent, classy , charismatic rooms............the best is the suites in the towers right up on the 33rd floor.........its to die for.........your life is incomplete if you haven't stayed in one of these in your life once

Room Tip: whatever you choose here......you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear AjayChhabria

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our sister property as well and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is simply fantastic. Service is consistent, staff always smiling and ready to help. The position is perfect for meetings and especially for travellers as it is close to the Gautrain and attached to Sandton City shopping mall where you can just about find anything.

Their breakfast is a feast and the Intermezzo Lounge very convenient as it has shower and change room facilities.

Staff greet by name and are friendly but professional. In terms of service they are difficult to beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear 312578John_S

Thank you for your wonderful feedback which is much appreciated.

I have passed your comments onto our passionate team and look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes

Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

When my colleague and I arrived on February 6, hotel staff refused to checked us in with confirmed reservations. The excuse: airlines got priority and we are bumped to a low class hotel, the Maslow. To persuade us to switch, staff said it is a new 5 star hotel and luxurious! What a lie and how deceitful! First the airlines ate our reservations then we are moving you to a comparable 5 stars is what they insisted on. When we moved to the Maslow, we found that it is the old Crown Plaza with a new name and tiny rooms and bad internet. We switched to Hilton after staying one night due to huge disappointment. Sad to say Michelangelo had no class and no integrity! If you ever want to consider booking this hotel, first check with the airlines because hotel staff may tell you that the airlines ate your reservations when you are checking-in! Also, thanks to Tripadvisor for asking me to resubmit with guided inputs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Jaytze,

Thank you for your comments.

The Michelangelo Hotel takes all guest feedback seriously and each case is dealt with individually by management.

Kindly contact our Rooms Division Manager on pgrobbelaar@legacyhotels.co.za to discuss the matter in question.

Kind Regards,
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts,UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the genuine 5 star hotels in Johannesburg and has everything you would expect from such a classification.

Main irritation is you must use valet parking and there is very little space at the entrance to the hotel. You can park yourself, but you must take one of the valet park drivers with you. In some ways this is good as your car is about as secure as it is going to get, but frustrating when trying to make sure you have everything.

The checkin and public areas are delightful and very comfortable with good customer service

Room was a good size, well appointed and in a period style. Very comfortable and everything you probably need.

Breakfast was excellent.

Great hotel and service, but you do pay for this quality.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Victa

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that your experience with us was positive and that you particularly enjoyed the breakfast and the service at our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have tried a few hotels in Johannesburg as I travel to South Africa frequently on business trips and in my opinion this is by far the best hotel.

The size of the room and the cleanliness are excellent and the service I have received from all of the staff has been magnificent.

This is probably my 5th or 6th stay in this hotel and I have never been disappointed.

I can't actually think of any negatives to say and I would and have recommended it to a lot of people.

The staff and service I have received really is exceptional and always so friendly.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear BigJimmyA

I am indeed very proud of my team while reading your feedback and thank you for your positive comments. I am delighted to see that we have once again fulfilled your high expectations and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Wishes

Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel is just lovely, and the staff are very friendly and efficient. The Michelangelo is well located within walking distance to great shops and restaurants, and the spa and gym are very good. We stay here most of the time when we are in Johannesburg and we have not been disappointed yet, we are looking forward to next week when we are in Johannesburg for 2 weeks....Johnson put the champagne on ice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear whatservice

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Your comments are much appreciated and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again soon and trust you will enjoy that bottle of champagne upon your return!

Kind Regards

Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 135 West Street, Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.