We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was incredible!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
Michelangelo Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 West Street, Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
1 review
“The food was incredible!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for only one night and although the room was clean and spacious the service was poor, we waited for more than an hour for them to open our mini bar and had to go down to reception a few times as our key cards refuse to work. On a plus side, the food at their restaurant was outstanding! Best pork belly I ever had, even better than my mom's, compliments to the chef. The spa was relaxing and staff very friendly. Overall a very good experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Theresa D,

Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor.

We constantly strive to improve on our service and are grateful for your constructive comment regarding the mini bar problem encountered.

We are glad that you enjoyed the food in our Piccolo Mondo restaurant and that our Spa was also to your satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    120
    51
    13
    10
See reviews for
42
133
38
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Perfect description of a five star hotel, from the beautiful entrance, the professional staff, to the rooms, to the breakfast, and then add location with great restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is a bit far from the airport, but well worth the drive to have this experience before we left the following morning for Vic Falls.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear OrlandoTraveler11,

Thank you for your great feedback.

Kind Regards,
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

By any means do not stay at this hotel whether it is for business or pleasure. Its location is great, however there are plenty of hotels in the same area that you could stay in. This hotel is so old and gloomy! The rooms are terrible. I went during the summer so I need the AC on during the night, but it was so loud it wouldn't let me sleep so I had to turn it off. The room had the oldest carpet possible, which was full of dust which meant I sneezed all night and was ill the next day. The breakfast was very average. The service was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear AdventurousSon,

Thank you for your comments.

The Michelangelo Hotel recently went a refurbishment in 2009. Furthermore, we are currently upgrading our linen as well, according to best international standards.

I am therefore sad that you did not contact any of the Duty Managers or myself while you were here in October.

We assure you we constantly strive to offer all our valuable guests the best possible levels of service and I am sorry to hear you were disappointed.

Kind regards,
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

When on business we stay at another hotel so this trip, being for Christmas Shopping and R&R, we decided to try the Michelanagelo. Am so pleased we did! Had a great weekend, the room was clean, comfy - had that old world style but we spend so much time in business hotels it was a nice change to be in a more cosy feeling room. We checked in on Friday afternoon and received an upgrade to a deluxe room which was a nice surprise. No complaints about the room, a/c, bathrooms - all was working fine, our room faced the entry side so not the Sq - we didn't have any noise issues. The staff where exceptional - nothing was too much trouble. The Concierge and his team organised a perfect day sightseeing for us that included a tour of the city (Afri Action Tours & Safaris) and a stop at the Apartheid Museum - both were fantastic. Breakfast was great, plenty on the buffet to choose from and cook to order eggs if you'd prefer. Would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Mandela Square might be noisy with all the restaurants - try for the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear K8C,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that your stay was memorable and that our staff were exceptional.

We await your return with pleasure and wish you a peaceful holiday season.

Kind Regards,
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Michelangelo Hotel is very conveniently located at Nelson Mandela Square, and thereby offers an incredible array of shopping and food options. The rooms are also pretty decent and have a slightly more old-world feel to them than the sister property in the same place (Da Vinci Hotel and suites).

However, I did not like the following aspects about the hotel as much:
- The Reception barely had any airconditioning and was uncomfortably hot
- The breakfast options were fairly limited, especially for vegetarians
- It is pricier than the Da Vinci hotel, just across the square with no visible additional benefits
- I found orange seeds in my room which indicated it had not been cleaned well

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear VRangarajan,

Thank you for your feedback.

Our Renaissance style hotel does have an old feel to it and is one of Sandton's first hotels.

I am somewhat surprised by your comments about our airconditioner in the reception area. Although our reception area is rather large, our airconditioner is and has been in workship order.

Our breakfast offers a wide variety of vegetarian choices wheather ordered a'la carte or on our buffet.

Kind Regards,
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Hotel in the downtwon Sandton area. Usually I stay closer to the office, but the internet went down there, so could not work, and my company arranged this hotel. On Mandela Square, so centrally located. 3-45minutes by car to the office, so I will never do that again. Also the hotel syle is not for me. It resembles old-school US and UK hotels, but it just looks dark and uninviting.
Rooms are god, have everything you need, the staff is really nice and helpful and doesn't expect you to tip them all the time, just be friendly and they are alrready very helpful. An occassional tip is something you just do here. There is a small gym and a pool. Some equipment, sufficient for a business trip. Food and roomservice are ok, nothing amazing, just good. Wines are low level quality, unless you spend enourmous amounts for a bottle. Do not like to do that, so water and sodas are the option. Bar is not a great place, and the breakfast is fine. All in all, good if you need to be in the location, not a modern style, bit dated. Next time I will go back to my usual spot which is so much nicer. btw, make sure you get a room on the side that is not Mandela square. That will not give you a view, but will avoid the noise from the restaurants and bars below.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear LorJaz2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We regret that you did not enjoy our Renaissance style hotel and thank you for your comments.

We wish you a peaceful holiday season.

Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel. We have stayed here before and the breakfast is great, the rooms comfortable and location excellent. Lovely atmosphere at this hotel, we will be back. Just watch out for exorbitant parking fees when you get your car back, I think this is a rip off and with the rates they charge they should include parking fees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Traveller77722

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and especially our breakfast and look forward to welcoming you back to The Michelangelo Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 135 West Street, Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, LHW, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.