We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a weekend indulge & shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 West Street, Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 hotels in Sandton
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a weekend indulge & shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

When on business we stay at another hotel so this trip, being for Christmas Shopping and R&R, we decided to try the Michelanagelo. Am so pleased we did! Had a great weekend, the room was clean, comfy - had that old world style but we spend so much time in business hotels it was a nice change to be in a more cosy feeling room. We checked in on Friday afternoon and received an upgrade to a deluxe room which was a nice surprise. No complaints about the room, a/c, bathrooms - all was working fine, our room faced the entry side so not the Sq - we didn't have any noise issues. The staff where exceptional - nothing was too much trouble. The Concierge and his team organised a perfect day sightseeing for us that included a tour of the city (Afri Action Tours & Safaris) and a stop at the Apartheid Museum - both were fantastic. Breakfast was great, plenty on the buffet to choose from and cook to order eggs if you'd prefer. Would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Mandela Square might be noisy with all the restaurants - try for the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear K8C,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that your stay was memorable and that our staff were exceptional.

We await your return with pleasure and wish you a peaceful holiday season.

Kind Regards,
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    109
    42
    11
    9
See reviews for
34
108
37
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Michelangelo Hotel is very conveniently located at Nelson Mandela Square, and thereby offers an incredible array of shopping and food options. The rooms are also pretty decent and have a slightly more old-world feel to them than the sister property in the same place (Da Vinci Hotel and suites).

However, I did not like the following aspects about the hotel as much:
- The Reception barely had any airconditioning and was uncomfortably hot
- The breakfast options were fairly limited, especially for vegetarians
- It is pricier than the Da Vinci hotel, just across the square with no visible additional benefits
- I found orange seeds in my room which indicated it had not been cleaned well

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear VRangarajan,

Thank you for your feedback.

Our Renaissance style hotel does have an old feel to it and is one of Sandton's first hotels.

I am somewhat surprised by your comments about our airconditioner in the reception area. Although our reception area is rather large, our airconditioner is and has been in workship order.

Our breakfast offers a wide variety of vegetarian choices wheather ordered a'la carte or on our buffet.

Kind Regards,
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Hotel in the downtwon Sandton area. Usually I stay closer to the office, but the internet went down there, so could not work, and my company arranged this hotel. On Mandela Square, so centrally located. 3-45minutes by car to the office, so I will never do that again. Also the hotel syle is not for me. It resembles old-school US and UK hotels, but it just looks dark and uninviting.
Rooms are god, have everything you need, the staff is really nice and helpful and doesn't expect you to tip them all the time, just be friendly and they are alrready very helpful. An occassional tip is something you just do here. There is a small gym and a pool. Some equipment, sufficient for a business trip. Food and roomservice are ok, nothing amazing, just good. Wines are low level quality, unless you spend enourmous amounts for a bottle. Do not like to do that, so water and sodas are the option. Bar is not a great place, and the breakfast is fine. All in all, good if you need to be in the location, not a modern style, bit dated. Next time I will go back to my usual spot which is so much nicer. btw, make sure you get a room on the side that is not Mandela square. That will not give you a view, but will avoid the noise from the restaurants and bars below.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear LorJaz2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We regret that you did not enjoy our Renaissance style hotel and thank you for your comments.

We wish you a peaceful holiday season.

Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel. We have stayed here before and the breakfast is great, the rooms comfortable and location excellent. Lovely atmosphere at this hotel, we will be back. Just watch out for exorbitant parking fees when you get your car back, I think this is a rip off and with the rates they charge they should include parking fees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Traveller77722

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and especially our breakfast and look forward to welcoming you back to The Michelangelo Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I usually stay at the Intercontinental in Sandton but during a recent 6 day business trip, they outpriced themselves which seems to be the norm these days with the IHG lot. I managed to get a rate at the Michelangelo that was around 30% less than the Intercon. Usually the Michelangelo is far more expensive so I was pretty excited at the prospect of staying in what I was told is "where all of the rich guys stay". My expectations were set high.

To say that I was disappointed with my stay is an understatement. The room was dark and dingey. It was on the first floor and overlooked a stairwell in the corner of Nelson Mandela Square so was noisy. The bed comfort was really quite poor - hard and uncomfortable. Staff were friendly but not exactly the most efficient. The business centre was hopelessly lacking. Internet connection a complete disaster. Food average and expensive.

The only positive I can make is that it is perfectly located, convenient for business and leisure purposes. It most certainly was not worth the money I paid.

A tip for people thinking about staying here. If the rate at the Intercon is 10% higher than the Michelangelo, then stay there. I guarantee you will be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear mostynboy

Thank you for your feedback. At The Michelangelo Hotel, we constantly strive to offer all our valuable guests the best possible levels of service. I am somewhat surprised to read your comments regarding our rooms and rates.

May I suggest that on your next visit to Johannesburg you kindly contact me so I can show you our different room types and discuss preferential corporate rates that we offer as we have a large number of return guests who have been loyal to The MIchelangelo Hotel for over 15 years.

I look forward to meeting you.

Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic !! My husband and I stayed over for a night. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was great. We also had dinner at the piccolo mondo which was fabulous. Great hotel! worth all the stars and accolades.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Valerie M

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that your stay was a happy and memorable one with us and that your dinner in Piccolo Mondo was fabulous.

We look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again soon and take this opportunity to wish you a peaceful holiday season.

Best wishes

Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Friendly staff and fantastic location! Great value for your money and beautiful rooms. Easy access to the shopping mall and plenty of good restaurants available.
Great cigar lounge with an excellent choice of international brand names.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Christoph E

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are honoured by your comments and will continue to work hard to ensure all our valuable guests enjoy their time with us.

We look forward to having you as our guest again soon and wish you a peaceful and relaxed holiday season.

Best wishes

Roberto Rosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 135 West Street, Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LHW, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.