We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money for an economy Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westford Hotel, Sandton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Westford Hotel, Sandton to your Saves list
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Sandton
Pune, India
1 review
“Value for Money for an economy Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was on a Business trip to South Africa and stayed in this hotel as it was very close to the place of my business. Don't go this hotel if you are used to luxuries of a 5 star hotel as it may really ruin your experience. It is an economy hotel with essential hotel facilities situated in the vicinity of the Mandela Square which is one of the happening places in Joburg. It is also closed to the railway station which has direct connectivity to Pretoria and the O R Tambo airport. The television in the room sucks with just 5 TV channels and a primitive LG television. The rooms are clean; however don’t be surprised if you find chairs of your dining table all different. Some bedrooms of the hotel have table made of iron frame with a glass top which offers you the impression of some kind of make shift arrangement by the hotel staff. Breakfast served by the hotel is decent enough for an economy hotel.
The staff in the hotel sucks big-time. The lift in the hotel was not working. When asked about it, the receptionist replied that it is only in last two days that it developed a problem and it would be fixed in next couple of days. However, I read a post on trip advisor where the traveler mentioned that lift was out of service since a long time. I carried the bags myself to the third floor through the stairs with no help from hotel staff.
In all, it’s a decent place for an economy hotel. Do not expect any luxuries.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    19
    5
    10
See reviews for
14
15
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

To put it simply - avoid this hotel. It is not for people wishing to visit Johannesburg and stay at a decent budget hotel. Even though the hotel is located in Sandton, a good neighbourhood and safe by Joburg standards, the Waterford is literally on the wrong side of the tracks. You absolutely shouldn't walk to and from the hotel after dark, there are no restaurants or stores nearby, and taxis are few and far between. There are approximately 200 murders in Johannesburg every month, so when people say be careful, we take it seriously.

The hotel itself is nearly deserted, with a Twilight Zone feel. The doors to the rooms are rickety, and the only locks are the old style door knob type. There isn't Wifi any where in the hotel, and there isn't even internet service to the computer in the lobby. The in-room safe doesn't work. The TV only gets about three channels. The window in the bathroom is secured with a nail that has been hammered into the frame.

We don't need luxury by any means, but I do need to feel safe. It quickly became clear that we would be virtual prisoners in our room after dark, and I wasn't confident that our bags would still be in our room if we left during the day. The Westford did not come close to being as advertised on Expedia.

In the end, we walked away from our USD $200 pre-paid room without staying a single night. We booked a room at the much more expensive, but safe, Holiday Inn in Sandton.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

It was a good optionFor a 1-day stay between widely spaced out connecting flights. The room (actually a suite with bedroom plus living room) was large and quite confortable. My room had a small kitchen area with an electric water heater. WiFi acess is paid separately and quite expensive, but it works well and is fast. Breakfast (included in price) features a good omelette and little else. Location is excellent, within walking distance to Mandela square and all that is there, as well as to Sandton Gautrain. Exact site of hotel itself is unapealling, right by a major highway. But just walk a couple of hundred yards and you are at center of things. Carpet looks hopelessly dirty and needs replacement. Room and general areas in obvious need of renovation. But then, its rates will be more expensive, won't they? So, one shouldn't complain too much. Yes, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This place is definately not a star hotel property but at 70USD a night for a family suite i would say this is value for money and that too with breakfast included. The property is close to Sandton city and NM square although its walking distance but be careful and aware if you would like to walk i suggest taking a taxi is better option considering the security situation in Joberg. Although Sandton is safe but when you are in foreign land there is no harm in taking extra precautions. The only major drawback i faced in hotel was no lift so that can be a issue if you are with heavy luggage but the hotel staff can help you with this. All in all the property is a very decent place to stay with family and is cleaned everyday. There is no fun in paying huge money in Southern sun or Radisson which are just next to the hotel. I recommend the hotel to people traveling on moderate budget. Definately value for money and very good decent clean accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel a few years ago and, despite the bad reviews, thought it'd be OK.The air-con wasn't working, the bar was not stocked, the vending machines were empty, the decor is tired and shabby. Even the breakfast was poor. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel for one night as we were being picked up from here for safari, it's in a good location, but it needs some attention. It's very basic, the swimming pool is nice, it is advertised there is a restaurant/grill but there isn't they just order you a takeaway. Our safe was broke and no one could seem to fix it. We had an early start and I had emailed as well as reminding them when we arrived re a breakfast pack which I was told was fine, however on the morning they said the chef wasn't there so we couldn't have anything for our 8 hour drive to safari!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westford Hotel, Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westford Hotel, Sandton

Address: 84 Katherine Street, Sandton 2146, South Africa (Formerly Pembury Plaza)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westford Hotel, Sandton 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westford Hotel now offers business and leisure travelers the convenience of staying in the heart of Sandton, Africa's economic, shopping and leisure centre at very reduced rates. We offer an alternative to business travellers who are looking for world class convenience, cleanliness, superior comfort and leisure. The hotel is centrally located close to all the main business and leisure centres within entertainment precincts of sprawling restaurants, cinemas, theatres as well as high end clubs and nightspots. The rooms are spacious with kitchenettes, bathrooms and comfortable TV Lounges. The cleanliness is of the highest quality. Security is 24 hours with more than enough secure, free parking on-site. The Westford Hotel is located 5 minutes walk from: The Sandton Convention Centre, The Sandton City Shopping Centre, The Gautrain Station (Rapid rail transport from the airport), Embassy of The United States, The Nelson Mandela Square with the Statue of the global icon, The Johannesburg Stock Exchange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Westford Hotel, Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembury Plaza Sandton
Pembury Plaza Hotel Sandton
The Westford Hotel, Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westford Hotel, Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.