We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for a business stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 44 hotels in Sandton
Bristol
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“excellent for a business stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

The Balalaika is a lovely hotel and I would certainly recommend it for business and for pleasure. The rooms are standard for a city hotel, clean but quite small. The service can be slow but it's always with a smile. Whenever I stay bin sandton, which I do often on business, this is defintaly my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    228
    91
    21
    21
See reviews for
45
114
44
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

Just spent 7 nights at the Bal.
It has a few quirks that come with an older hotel but the rooms and facilities are very acceptable especially if you get the $70 rate.
The Bull Run Steakhouse and Lords Bar made easy work of 7 nights away from home.
wi-fi rates are too high.
Easy access to Village walk mall (more restaurants) and 5 min walk to Sandton Square.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

I went to check-in with my confirmed voucher at 4PM and they told me sorry I would need to wait until 5:30 or longer.

Of course I cussed the guy out and told them that was impossible.

So they magically found me a room and maybe they knew the air-conditioner in the room that goes on and off throughout the night sounds like a small 'lawn mower' (pricks)

The room decor is from the early 1970's and you need to have a rat-like brain to navigate the labyrinthine hallways.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

Stayed over at the Balalaika before and after a safari. On the first night had a whole suite which was fantastic, but even the room on the return was excellent. Good deep carpets and a great shower.

Friendly staff and a nice breakfast. We noted lots of airline people stay, which must be some form of recommendation. It's about 40 mins to the airport.

Good restaurant attached, the Bull Run, and a few others in the shopping centre next door.

Sandton City claims to have a zero-tolerance policy on crime. If you need presents or stuff, leave the hotel and turn left. Walk straight ahead for under ten minutes to find the Sandton City Shopping centre which is enormous. Great view of Joburg from the rooftop parking.

I'll stay there again.

  • Liked — The attention to detail
  • Disliked — In a business area
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

Did not stay at the Protea hotel but ate next door at the Bull Run restaurant. A great steakhouse. Everything was excellent, from service (our waiter Lucky was very sweet) to the cocktails, and of course the steaks. A great place we would not mind going back to as it is a short walking distance to Sandton City Mall, where we usually stay.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Bar - don't order anything but well drinks - they don't know how to make them. But you can smoke Cuban.

Room - nice - but don't count on being able to iron shirts or hanging slacks out long - the hangers are basic and there's no iron. The shower works to steam things though.

Breakfast - think UK - heavy on the meat and eggs and tomatoes.

Lobby - includes a coffee bar and internet. Lattes are layered - not like Starbucks.

Internet - Costs extra money - not free.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

We just needed a convenient hotel to stay for a night in Johannesburg before we catch our flight out. Having heard all about the problems about the city, we wanted to make sure that we are in a safe neighbourhood.

The location of this hotel is pretty good and we felt safe. However, the building is getting old. For some reason, we had a lot of flies (I killed 5 in total) in the room. The best part is the door lock. It has a huge gap such that you can easily open the door by inserting any card through it. I have uploaded the movie to youtube. search: Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton break-in

Otherwise, the Bulls Run steakhouse is great. Great steak at a low, low price. Highly recommended. The breakfast included is also quite good.

But I won't recommend the hotel unless you need to get into your own room without a key-card.

  • Liked — The door lock (hilarious)
  • Disliked — The door lock (unsafe)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton

Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton is a tranquil oasis of country estate in the heart of the business and entertainment hub of Sandton, just outside Johannesburg, South Africa and approximately 30 minutes from O.R. Tambo International Airport. The Protea Hotel Balalaika is the perfect stopover for those doing business in the surrounding area, or as a central hub for the discerning tourist. The hotel comprises of two sections – the Balalaika and the Crown Court – and all rooms are air-conditioned and tastefully furnished in a classic, comfortable style with their own en-suite bathroom, with many of the Crown Court suites offering the additional luxury of a private spa bath. Both buildings of Protea Hotel Balalaika are set in their own lush, landscaped garden, each boasting a sparkling swimming pool, where GUESTs can relax, unwind and momentarily experience the timelessness and calm of a bygone era. At the Protea Hotel Balalaika, efficient, discreet and attentive service is a priority and our well-trained STAFF is always on hand to ensure that all of your needs are amply met. Guests are able to safely and easily use the link from the hotel lobby to the festive Village Walk Shopping Centre, which houses 15 restaurants, 70 shops selling a variety of wares, a main grocery store (Pick ‘n Pay), hair and beauty salons and the well-known African Craft market, where one will find African artifacts, curios and artworks from all over the continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg
Sandton Hotel Balalaika

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.